Find companies:
BankUnited
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
21 reviews

BankUnited Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor experience from the start!
Teller (Former Employee), Palm Beach CountyOctober 1, 2014
Pros: training compensation
Cons: management
From my first day in a branch, through the useless "High Level" training then continuing on to my actual Branch was completely unorganized and backwards.
Customers complain and are concerned with the mass turnover and they should be. With so many Management positions to fill they are not taking the time for quality and it shows.
Let's not get started – more... on their transaction processing system....HELLO 1990! They should upgrade their systems before building a beautiful new cafeteria offering cooking classes for the corporate office folks. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
IT Manager and Systems Engineer
IT Application Support Manager/Officer (Current Employee), Miami Lakes, FLSeptember 10, 2014
In this role I managed a team of 8 analyst and reported to the VP of Infrastructure . I was responsible for the overall support and ongoing maintenance of diversified portfolio of Unix and SAN infrastructure core banking applications on Unix and Windows based platforms. During my time at BankUnited I was also able to accomplish my MBA which has helped – more... me to provide a higher level of service to the organization to support the bottom line. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fast paced
Collateral Manager (Former Employee), Melville, NYJune 10, 2014
BankUnited, N.A was a pleasant organization to be a part of.
Unfortunately, my area was eliminated. Overall, I was very happy there.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Untrustworthy, underhanded, sneaky
Depressed (Former Employee), State of AnxietyMay 30, 2014
Cons: too many
The moment you walk into the building, you get a very strange sensation. Could this feeling be the result of untrustworthy managers? Or, how about the pressure to perform under unreasonable expectations? After spending a few minutes with "senior" level individuals, you come to the conclusion that they are unprofessional, uneducated people. It is no – more... surprise the reviews are so negative. Be extremely careful with these people. In fact, do not respond to phone calls or emails that claim to be "interested in speaking" with you. It does not end well. Do not work for them unless your financial situation is precarious. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great working enviroment
Vice President, Indirect and Specialized Lending (Former Employee), Miami Lakes, FLMay 1, 2014
A good work live balance co-workers alwys looking out for each other. An upbeat and productive work enviroment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unrealistic Sales Goals with Bad Compensation
Relationship Banker (Current Employee), FloridaApril 18, 2014
Pros: paid time off
Cons: bad compensation, unrealistic sales goals, high employee turnover, horrible upper management
I have been with BankUnited for a year now and I must say, this company never ceases to surprise me....in every bad way possible. From the time you apply until the time you complete training, BankUnited misleads you into thinking the Relationship Banker position is comparable to a Personal Banker at other institutions. It is far from it! A relationship – more... banker at BankUnited is solely responsible for BUSINESS banking production. Your sales goals are based on commercial loan production, non-interest bearing deposit growth and treasury management referrals. They have absolutely no formal credit training and they do not teach you anything about business lending; basically they throw you to the wolves and hope that you figure it out on your own. The upper management puts so much pressure on the retail staff that BankUnited cannot retain employees. I have seen more turnover at this company than any other I've ever worked for. The quarterly bonuses are above average for retail banking, but still much lower than a typical business banking position. Starting in 2014, they changed the whole incentive plan making it near impossible for RB's to hit their quarterly goals....and TRUST ME, the hourly pay is NOTHING for the stress that you are put under. Like I said, I have been here for a year, I have a really good reputation within the company, but I feel it is necessary to give my honest opinion. This is not a position or company I would willingly apply for had I known all of the details. Take my advice, pursue another bank! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
You always get the run around from management
Relationship banker (Former Employee), South FloridaMarch 21, 2014
Pros: free lunches at meetings
Cons: short lifespan as a banker if you don't produce every month
I was a former employee at bank united. I have to be very honest to those people who are interested in a banker position here. There are a lot of people getting fired and getting replaced quickly. I was wrongfully terminated because I did not meet loan production in time given . In addition,I was not given proper training for my position nor had a branch – more... manager for over 5months out of the 9 months I worked there. I was set up to fail from the beginning. Now,The company is only interested in selling out to the bank with the highest bid. There will be a merger very soon. Beware of this company. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
Accountant II (Former Employee), Miami Lakes, FLFebruary 19, 2014
Great company to work for, good benefits, great working environment, organized, very professional.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
high energy, countless promotions
Teller Manager (Former Employee), Bradenton-Florida-USAFebruary 11, 2014
Pros: compassionate management, professional approach, customer oriented mentality
Cons: conversion, layoffs
branch opening, buy/sell cash to tellers, running statements and reports, auditing, upselling bank products, running promotions, forecasting, running transactions accurately, meeting customers' expectations, preparing special requests for cash orders, providing summaries and report for upper management, working with the back of the house, currency exchange, – more... training new staff, balancing tellers drawers/vault and branch, attending meetings with upper management.
Going through conversion became quite challenging, due to new systems.
Satisfying customer's requests and contributing to the successful operation of the bank meant constant developing and improvement on the individual level. Management's appreciation was a great motivating force. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, security
Mortgage Account Executive (Former Employee), Miami Lakes, FloridaJanuary 20, 2014
Pros: benefits
Excellent benefits, excellent management. excellent for ethics
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
company closed california branch
Registration Clerk (Former Employee), Concord, CANovember 12, 2013
for the time I worked there it was great. Wonderful staff and management. Sad company closed. great pay with benefits
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent compensation package, great training available
Relationship Banker II (Former Employee), Vero Beach, FLSeptember 21, 2013
Pros: great training provided
Cons: too focused on loan production
Good company, after merger focus shifted to how many loan produced rather than customer service. Offered better pay then most banking jobs.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Lead teller (Current Employee), new york nySeptember 19, 2013
I learned alot of things and staff is great at least my team is.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wow, what a ride
Loan Modification Retention Executive (Former Employee), Miami Lakes, FLAugust 6, 2013
this was the most lucrative time in my professional career. Thus it is hard for me to be objective. The bank was ultimately taken over by private consortium.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Head Teller
Head Teller (Former Employee), Miami, FLMarch 2, 2013
Pros: pay & overtime, great management, benefits, promotion potential
Cons: smaller bank (all is more manual)
My experience at BankUnited was excellent. The worst mistake I have ever done was to leave this company. I left thinking that I was being offered a better opportunity; however, that was not the case. BankUnited has family members, not employees. I worked at a branch that was a 2-in-1, as it was a branch that had been merged with another close by. My – more... manager was young, but very knowledgeable and professional, as was my assistant manager. Together we were like a family. We had our disagreements, but overall we worked very well together. The company is very stable and strong, senior management is humble and caring. There is always opportunity to grow, and senior management directly recognizes talent as well. The pay and benefits were excellent. They allowed overtime, as needed. I would definitely consider working for BankUnited again. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a pleasent place to work, due to
Bank Operations (Former Employee), Miami LakesDecember 18, 2012
Pros: decent salary
Cons: management
Management is more interested in micro managing and pointing out minor errors than in providing support and training. There is a lot of resentment between lagacy bank employees and new hires. Red tape is unbelievable, almost impossible to improve culture or get anything done. Not a pleasant working enviroment. Salaried workers are expected to work 10 – more... plus hour daily. Watch your back! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unacceptable employer
Senior Head Teller (Former Employee), Boynton Beach, FLDecember 17, 2012
Pros: great customers
Cons: no loyalty to employees
New management has shifted this bank from a service industry to a strictly for profit enterprise. They have decided to discard service in favor of profit. If the service the customer requires does not earn a profit for the bank, employees are being told to make short shrift of the customer and spend as little time as necessary in solving customer problems. – more... There is no employee promotion and hiring is done from outside. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work for.
Loan Servicing Specialist (Former Employee), Miami Lakes, FLOctober 18, 2012
Pros: great environment
Cons: a little overwhelming at time from all the workload on my desk.
Can work your way up pretty fast if your good and don't mind competition at your job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not organized-difficult to succeed
Regional Investment Adviser (Former Employee), Naples, FLJune 21, 2012
Lack of direction and general communication. Program not executed properly
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent pay but difficult working environment.
VP (Former Employee), Miami Lakes FLJune 21, 2011
Pros: great pay!, good benefits
Cons: noisy working environment, high personnel turnover, most employees in very small cubes, fast paced - frequent long hours, insufficient parking
See Pros and Cons below. If you solely interested in pay, this may be a good fit for you!

About BankUnited

BankUnited is uniting the north and south again. The company owns Florida's BankUnited, which provides standard banking offerings – Read more