Find companies:
Banner Health
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
307 reviews

Banner Health Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good experience
OR circulator, Pre-op and Post OP Registered Nurse (Current Employee), Susanville, CASeptember 19, 2014
Very pro-education. Staff works well together to meet patient needs. Good work life balance
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Banner is a great Company
ED TECHNICIAN (Former Employee), Mesa, AZSeptember 17, 2014
Pros: coworkers
Cons: extremely high paced
Working at a big hospital like BDMC is like being a part of a family and if that's something that interesting you than you would love working for banner desert.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very challenging and gratifying. Never a dull moment and every day different
CNA/Caregiver (Former Employee), Mesa, AZSeptember 15, 2014
Pros: i loved the night staff and the shift went fast
Cons: the cafeteria food wasn't that great
I worked the night shift and learned so much on the Med-Surg floor. I loved the challenge and my co-workers were great. It was always a team effort. My charge nurse was awesome, she'd get in and help us if we got behind. The management was wonderful and if ever a question on anything, they were supportive and helpful. The hardest part of the job was – more... when we sat down to chart at 4:00 am and got sleepy. That's when a fresh pot of coffee was started. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hospital experience
PSA (Current Employee), Phoenix, AZSeptember 13, 2014
I applied for this job while i was in nursing school because it was very flexible with my crazy hours. It also started to give me experience in the hospital environment, which i absolutely love. The management was great and always willing to help figure the answers to any questions i may have. My position was fairly new to the hospital so in the beginning – more... the care staff didn't have a good idea on how to effectively use me. Now, 6 months later, my position is becoming a real benefit to the care team and i can see that through the praise of fellow care team members. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I loved working for banner health
Certified Nursing Assistant/Unit Secretary (Former Employee), Mesa, AZSeptember 12, 2014
Pros: great pay and benefits
Banner health was a great place to work! I would still be working there today had life and moving and kids not changed my path. The people were great, the management was great and I loved my job position. I learned many new things there.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very good and strong corporation to work for
med assistant / rad tech (Current Employee), Tempe, AZSeptember 4, 2014
Pros: advancement and benefits
Cons: market research for wages is slightly out of touch
overall good corporation to work for. looks out for patient concerns and ways to correct any problem or potential problem from happening.
the management works hard to keep employees informed of changes and potential growth which has been hugh in the past years.
advancement is definitely there with tuition reimbursment, and the abilty to move from one – more... department to another, or into management – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great schedules
Health Unit Coordinator (Current Employee), Mesa, AZSeptember 3, 2014
3 night work week
worked with new technology
co-workers are fun, reliable and enjoyable
schedules consistent and flexible
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to work
Security Officer (Former Employee), Phoenix, AZAugust 14, 2014
Pros: great place
Cons: work hours
Great people to work with. Very helpful. Not enough work hours for me to sustain employment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved coworkers, patients.
Staff RN (Former Employee), Banner Heart Hospital 5th floor IU then CVPCU.August 13, 2014
Pros: health insurance, 3 days per week, 12 hour shifts. pto based on years of service.
Cons: no breaks, often. felt like i didn't have a say in when my patients came to me.
Busy post-op heart unit, with mix of telemetry patients and primarily seniors. Loved working with patients, other nurses and Patient Care
Technicians. The floor often had high-acuity patients with a 4 to 5 patients per RN ratio. I became very adept at discharging patients home, preparing them for limitations post CABG and vascular surgeries. I became – more... very proficient at head to toe assessments, become organized before heading to a room to take care of each patient, preparing for each patient and trying to take care of them before charting was the most challenging part of my job. The variety of patients over the 5 years was also challenging. Learning each MD's style of care, having enough help with some patients, and their myriad of medications, keeping their IV's patent, getting care coordinated for each patient before discharge, and making sure every t was crossed and i was dotted was very challenging. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Minuscule room for advancement, hostile work environment.
Phlebotomy Tech I (Former Employee), Mesa, AZAugust 10, 2014
Pros: good schedule, former managers were very personable and the employees were easy to work with and quick to help.
Cons: new management, leadership's connection from outside of work, lab director's friend was the lead in hr so speaking up was pointless.
The job was great for the first few months until new leadership had come in per request of the lab Director. Leadership had become a group of the director's personal friends as opposed to individuals competent in the way a lab works. Processes that were not flawed were quickly changed and overall productivity diminished and the blame was placed on the – more... employees instead of management. Veteran employees spoke up and were let go. The remaining were on thin ice until management could find some sort of null reason to 'justify' their cause for termination. New employees were brought in after an extensive amount of time being short staffed, all of which were fresh from school and had no prior lab experience. Every action was criticised and this made the work day very unnerving on top of the flawed processes we were forced to learn and abide by. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable Pharmacy group to work with
Pharmacy Technician (Former Employee), Glendale, AZAugust 5, 2014
Pharmacists got along very well with technicians and worked hard as a team to provide medication delivery to all patients.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Various up to date skills used and learned, gave exceptional patient care, individualized, close to home, flexible hours
RN CASE MANAGER & HOME HEALTH RN (Former Employee), office in Gilbert, worked in East MesaJuly 31, 2014
Receive schedule in the am, some patients added throughout day, suppose to and mainly worked 3 area codes closest to home, able to practice and master a wide range of skills plus continue to learn new and up to date skills, case managed, management was continuously changing or leaving or absent, currently most management is interim, had great coworkers – more... that always helped each other, lacked management support and management correcting problems and complaints from employees and patients, hardest part of job was that employees were forced to work overtime due to lack of staffing, poor office communication between field employees and staffing teams, most employees forced or requested to finish work at home which interrupted work/family balance.
Most enjoyable was how coworkers and field staff always came together and helped each other out as a team, great benefits, able to give individualized and exceptional patient care and follow progress, always received patient thank you and appreciation cards – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A Productive and enjoyable place to work.
Program Director, Compliance (Former Employee), Phoenix, AZJuly 30, 2014
Pros: great people!
Cons: lack of opportunity
I very much enjoyed working at BannerHealth. The professional level of the employees was "second to none".
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
small town feel
Medical Secretary Lead (Former Employee), Fallon, NVJuly 30, 2014
the place where I worked was a small town. everyone knew everyone so it was enjoyable. the management was great. Would still be there if I didn't relocate to a different state.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast pace work environment
Medical Assistant (Former Employee), Mesa, AZJuly 29, 2014
Learned a lot from Pediatric urology including procedures. Learned to verify insurances.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun exciting
Unit Assistant in Surgery (Current Employee), Mesa, AZJuly 26, 2014
company is a great place to work. its fun and have made a few friend working here. I've learned how to clean up in the surgery dept after cases are done
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unique critical access medical experience in in the Heart of the Grand Circle
Registered Nurse (Current Employee), Page, AZJuly 22, 2014
Pros: excellent hiking
Cons: isolated.
A typical day at work involves prioritizing a variety of patients of mixed illness and age. Care must be coordinated with limited resources among a multidisciplinary team. The hardest part of the job is coordinating care for a primarily Navajo population, many patients do not speak english and the family are isolated. This has required me to utilize – more... resources and learn Navajo as well as learn the culture to provide culturally competent care to our population. The most enjoyable part of the job is the increased confidence in my skills, knowledge and practice that I gain from the unique challenges of an isolated facility. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work with it's own cafeteria
Patient Financial Specialist (Current Employee), Mesa AzJuly 10, 2014
Pros: free movie ticket to be won at each monthly meeting
Banner Health is a great place to work.Working medicare denials is the most important part of my day. Sometimes it's hard to figure out why medicare denied a claim it's like being a detective and putting all the pieces together but once you get it you have learned a great deal to help with the next project like the aging report. Management and supervisiors – more... are a great group of people. I love my co-workers they are all great. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work for.
Inventory Associate (Former Employee), Glendale, AZJuly 8, 2014
Pros: great early start time, off early
Cons: short breaks, supervisor was not easy to get along with.
Typical day at Banner Health was, start my day off by going in, walking through every department/floor I was in charge of that day, scan the items they each department was low on, check for expired products on the shelves and discard them. Then I would go back and get the products that each department was in need of, take them back to their floors and – more... refill them for that days usage. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Every Facility has Strengths and Weaknesses; We still are the best!
Case Manager / Crisis Therapist (Current Employee), Glendale, AZJuly 3, 2014
Pros: i enjoy the work
Cons: no healthcare benefits
A typical day at work is busy, fascinating, never a dull moment. Typically I walk in and get a smile from the staff which is why I chose to work here. People seemed happy and that was the environment I was searching for. What I have learned is that I enjoy and respect the psychiatrists and nurses and when I go home at night I can sleep well knowing – more... that the people we serve have been provided with the best! We care!

Management from my experience is not easy; I have been there. It means being forthcoming with both the positives and the negatives and not waiting to address them until evaluation time. It is having a clear schedule, making sure new employees are trained and comfortable. Not asking anyone to do what you as a supervisor wouldn't do youself. Awhile ago, I was lucky to have a supervisor who was a psychologist and had this amazing talent to point out my weaknesses, and wording it so well done that I was actually motivated to improve with a positive outlook.

Having supportive co-workers provides more of a sense of belonging and it boosts productivity. When there is difficulty with same level co-workers, it needs to be resolved. I think to some extent this is found in every facility to different degrees. If the discord among the team is ignored, then the word "team" is nothing more than an oxymoron.

In my profession the people I serve are going through one of the lowest points in their life, some to the point of not wanting to live anymore. Some are seen with physical wounds. It is very hard at times to see the harm people do to themselves. Some say it should be expected in my profession, but that is not who I am or who I want to be. The hardest part of the job is seeing how little value some put on their life, as well as those who want to hurt others, and/or the terror some have related to a form of psychosis.

The most enjoyable part of the job is seeing that people do gain hope, they can identify their own strengths and improvements, and really utilize resources provided. People can and do get better and some choose to learn from mistakes and make an important impact not only for themselves, but with leading others with wise choices. It takes a team to accomplish this and when it works, that is the most enjoyable part of the job.

I can say with confidence, I have heard many people we serve say "this is the best place I have been." Some say they researched the best rated place, and chose to be in our care because "It is the best." – less

1 2 3 4 5

About Banner Health

If you thrive on change and you’re looking to be part of the future of health care, you belong at Banner Health. Our – Read more

Banner Health Photos