Find companies:
Banner Health
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
300 reviews

Banner Health Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to work
Security Officer (Former Employee), Phoenix, AZAugust 14, 2014
Pros: great place
Cons: work hours
Great people to work with. Very helpful. Not enough work hours for me to sustain employment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved coworkers, patients.
Staff RN (Former Employee), Banner Heart Hospital 5th floor IU then CVPCU.August 13, 2014
Pros: health insurance, 3 days per week, 12 hour shifts. pto based on years of service.
Cons: no breaks, often. felt like i didn't have a say in when my patients came to me.
Busy post-op heart unit, with mix of telemetry patients and primarily seniors. Loved working with patients, other nurses and Patient Care
Technicians. The floor often had high-acuity patients with a 4 to 5 patients per RN ratio. I became very adept at discharging patients home, preparing them for limitations post CABG and vascular surgeries. I became – more... very proficient at head to toe assessments, become organized before heading to a room to take care of each patient, preparing for each patient and trying to take care of them before charting was the most challenging part of my job. The variety of patients over the 5 years was also challenging. Learning each MD's style of care, having enough help with some patients, and their myriad of medications, keeping their IV's patent, getting care coordinated for each patient before discharge, and making sure every t was crossed and i was dotted was very challenging. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Minuscule room for advancement, hostile work environment.
Phlebotomy Tech I (Former Employee), Mesa, AZAugust 10, 2014
Pros: good schedule, former managers were very personable and the employees were easy to work with and quick to help.
Cons: new management, leadership's connection from outside of work, lab director's friend was the lead in hr so speaking up was pointless.
The job was great for the first few months until new leadership had come in per request of the lab Director. Leadership had become a group of the director's personal friends as opposed to individuals competent in the way a lab works. Processes that were not flawed were quickly changed and overall productivity diminished and the blame was placed on the – more... employees instead of management. Veteran employees spoke up and were let go. The remaining were on thin ice until management could find some sort of null reason to 'justify' their cause for termination. New employees were brought in after an extensive amount of time being short staffed, all of which were fresh from school and had no prior lab experience. Every action was criticised and this made the work day very unnerving on top of the flawed processes we were forced to learn and abide by. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable Pharmacy group to work with
Pharmacy Technician (Former Employee), Glendale, AZAugust 5, 2014
Pharmacists got along very well with technicians and worked hard as a team to provide medication delivery to all patients.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Various up to date skills used and learned, gave exceptional patient care, individualized, close to home, flexible hours
RN CASE MANAGER & HOME HEALTH RN (Former Employee), office in Gilbert, worked in East MesaJuly 31, 2014
Receive schedule in the am, some patients added throughout day, suppose to and mainly worked 3 area codes closest to home, able to practice and master a wide range of skills plus continue to learn new and up to date skills, case managed, management was continuously changing or leaving or absent, currently most management is interim, had great coworkers – more... that always helped each other, lacked management support and management correcting problems and complaints from employees and patients, hardest part of job was that employees were forced to work overtime due to lack of staffing, poor office communication between field employees and staffing teams, most employees forced or requested to finish work at home which interrupted work/family balance.
Most enjoyable was how coworkers and field staff always came together and helped each other out as a team, great benefits, able to give individualized and exceptional patient care and follow progress, always received patient thank you and appreciation cards – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A Productive and enjoyable place to work.
Program Director, Compliance (Former Employee), Phoenix, AZJuly 30, 2014
Pros: great people!
Cons: lack of opportunity
I very much enjoyed working at BannerHealth. The professional level of the employees was "second to none".
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
small town feel
Medical Secretary Lead (Former Employee), Fallon, NVJuly 30, 2014
the place where I worked was a small town. everyone knew everyone so it was enjoyable. the management was great. Would still be there if I didn't relocate to a different state.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast pace work environment
Medical Assistant (Former Employee), Mesa, AZJuly 29, 2014
Learned a lot from Pediatric urology including procedures. Learned to verify insurances.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun exciting
Unit Assistant in Surgery (Current Employee), Mesa, AZJuly 26, 2014
company is a great place to work. its fun and have made a few friend working here. I've learned how to clean up in the surgery dept after cases are done
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unique critical access medical experience in in the Heart of the Grand Circle
Registered Nurse (Current Employee), Page, AZJuly 22, 2014
Pros: excellent hiking
Cons: isolated.
A typical day at work involves prioritizing a variety of patients of mixed illness and age. Care must be coordinated with limited resources among a multidisciplinary team. The hardest part of the job is coordinating care for a primarily Navajo population, many patients do not speak english and the family are isolated. This has required me to utilize – more... resources and learn Navajo as well as learn the culture to provide culturally competent care to our population. The most enjoyable part of the job is the increased confidence in my skills, knowledge and practice that I gain from the unique challenges of an isolated facility. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work with it's own cafeteria
Patient Financial Specialist (Current Employee), Mesa AzJuly 10, 2014
Pros: free movie ticket to be won at each monthly meeting
Banner Health is a great place to work.Working medicare denials is the most important part of my day. Sometimes it's hard to figure out why medicare denied a claim it's like being a detective and putting all the pieces together but once you get it you have learned a great deal to help with the next project like the aging report. Management and supervisiors – more... are a great group of people. I love my co-workers they are all great. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work for.
Inventory Associate (Former Employee), Glendale, AZJuly 8, 2014
Pros: great early start time, off early
Cons: short breaks, supervisor was not easy to get along with.
Typical day at Banner Health was, start my day off by going in, walking through every department/floor I was in charge of that day, scan the items they each department was low on, check for expired products on the shelves and discard them. Then I would go back and get the products that each department was in need of, take them back to their floors and – more... refill them for that days usage. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Every Facility has Strengths and Weaknesses; We still are the best!
Case Manager / Crisis Therapist (Current Employee), Glendale, AZJuly 3, 2014
Pros: i enjoy the work
Cons: no healthcare benefits
A typical day at work is busy, fascinating, never a dull moment. Typically I walk in and get a smile from the staff which is why I chose to work here. People seemed happy and that was the environment I was searching for. What I have learned is that I enjoy and respect the psychiatrists and nurses and when I go home at night I can sleep well knowing – more... that the people we serve have been provided with the best! We care!

Management from my experience is not easy; I have been there. It means being forthcoming with both the positives and the negatives and not waiting to address them until evaluation time. It is having a clear schedule, making sure new employees are trained and comfortable. Not asking anyone to do what you as a supervisor wouldn't do youself. Awhile ago, I was lucky to have a supervisor who was a psychologist and had this amazing talent to point out my weaknesses, and wording it so well done that I was actually motivated to improve with a positive outlook.

Having supportive co-workers provides more of a sense of belonging and it boosts productivity. When there is difficulty with same level co-workers, it needs to be resolved. I think to some extent this is found in every facility to different degrees. If the discord among the team is ignored, then the word "team" is nothing more than an oxymoron.

In my profession the people I serve are going through one of the lowest points in their life, some to the point of not wanting to live anymore. Some are seen with physical wounds. It is very hard at times to see the harm people do to themselves. Some say it should be expected in my profession, but that is not who I am or who I want to be. The hardest part of the job is seeing how little value some put on their life, as well as those who want to hurt others, and/or the terror some have related to a form of psychosis.

The most enjoyable part of the job is seeing that people do gain hope, they can identify their own strengths and improvements, and really utilize resources provided. People can and do get better and some choose to learn from mistakes and make an important impact not only for themselves, but with leading others with wise choices. It takes a team to accomplish this and when it works, that is the most enjoyable part of the job.

I can say with confidence, I have heard many people we serve say "this is the best place I have been." Some say they researched the best rated place, and chose to be in our care because "It is the best." – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplace
printer (Current Employee), Greensboro, NCJuly 2, 2014
Pros: helping to improve peoples lives
Cons: hours worked
Print logos on gel capsules and package them. learn to follow cGmps. management is proactive. The hardest part of my job is the hours that I work.. Seeing the finished product I help create
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Banner Thunderbird is a great work environment with caring individuals who share the goal of making a patient's stay as comfortable as possible.
Co-Director Kids Can Cope (Current Employee), Glendale, AZJune 30, 2014
Pros: great immaculately clean environment, good cafeteria, most all personnel are most friendly
Cons: parking can be a challenge
Our support groups are stellar. We have many groups that center on the support for a particular disease, so that fellow patients have an opportunity to share with each other on the cancer journey.

A typical evening at work for me at Kids Can Cope is the joy that comes from working with the children. We seem to impart to them just what they need, and – more... they give back with their participation and growth and development on their cancer journey with their parent. We have scheduled periodic meetings with our management at which time, any topics may be brought forward for discussion. My co-director and I are symbiotic, and work very well together with the children, and also the planning of our group topics and activities, such as all the wonderful art projects we do with the children. It would seem that a multi-age group might be difficult. We find it to be the opposite. The older children just seem to naturally lend a helping hand with a project, but, all in all, the little ones hold their own. Art does not have a specific age!

I just fairly recently started producing a handout for the parents to see what topics we covered with their children in the group. They really have appreciated having this, so that they can share with their children a bit of the experience. Parents visit in a separate area with each other. The group is private for the children. For major holidays, we have holiday parties at which time the parents are their children's guests.

The hardest part of the job comes when a parent dies. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job, great people
Network Engineer/Consultant (Current Employee), Greeley, COJune 28, 2014
Laser focused on patient treatment and satisfaction. A very employee-friendly company.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
From in IT
INFORMATION SECURITY CONSULTANT (Current Employee), Phoenix, AZJune 26, 2014
There are too many people here that have been here in the same positions too long. IT is a bit stale. Serious need new blood and ideas.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Banner Communication Representative
Communications Representative (Former Employee), Mesa, AZJune 16, 2014
I loved this job, I enjoyed the people I worked with the only problem was that I was not getting enough hours.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
none
Recon Specialist (Former Employee), Mesa ArizonaJune 12, 2014
Pros: a good environment
I worked with Banner Health for 3 months in 2013 / 2014. During that period I feel I wasn't trained correctly. I had a manager that never said two words to me during that period. My team lead seem to be very scared of the manager. I felt they didn't give me a chance to learn my job when they would switch me again. In the 3 months I was there I switch – more... to 5 different type of jobs with in the same area. I enjoyed doing the Recon billing work. I felt I was always in the office explaining how I was enjoying my work. Never did they tell me that I wasn't doing wrong. The last straw was when the Manager told me that I wasn't doing a good gob and that I was going to be looked at an then decide if they were going to keep me. I believed this was very unprofessional. I do have many friends that work for Banner Health that say very good words about the place. I do feel I was in the wrong area. I do believe the area should be looked at. I know the Team Lead has transferred. I am know at Brookline College learning the Medical Billing and Coding. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast Paced Work Enviroment
Phlebotomist (Former Employee), Phoenix, AZJune 10, 2014
Pros: self scheduling, 12 hour shifts and working 4 days a week, available overtime
Cons: short staff, being called in on my day off
I did an average of 60 draws per shift and 65 percent during the morning run between 1:30 and 5 AM. This is a 12 story hospital that includes trauma, ER, behavioral health, oncology, pro-op, infusion, ICU, rehab unit and hospice. I have learned how to draw patients of all demographics while paying attention to detail and thinking on my feet. My supervisor – more... was amazing and responded quickly to concerns and worked right along side my awesome co-workers and myself when needed. The hardest part of this job was working with a skeleton crew. The best part of this job was the team of people I worked with and meeting turn around times even when under staffed. – less

1 2 3 4 5

About Banner Health

If you thrive on change and you’re looking to be part of the future of health care, you belong at Banner Health. Our – Read more

Banner Health Photos