barbizon USA Employee Reviews

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun!
Barbizon Teachers Assistant (Former Employee), San Antonio, TXJanuary 2, 2015
Pros: weekends only
Cons: standing
This job is so amazing! You get teach young girls how to be young ladies and they grow so much self esteem and love for themselves after the 6months! It's super simple job, strictly weekends so not too – more... hard to work around. Decent pay and typically super sweet co-workers. The hard part is standing in heels for hours but typically it's no problem! If you love making young ones feel amazing than this is the best place to go! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Confidence is Key
Montgomery Bus Supervisor and instructor (Former Employee), birmingham, ALOctober 23, 2014
Pros: got to do something i loved to do
Cons: called for jobs as needed
Barbizon USA is a Modeling and Acting school that teach girls and boys of all ages how to be comfortable in their own skin and also how to take care of that skin. My school is located in Birmingham, AL. – more... I was a bus supervisor on a charter bus that took students from their city to the school two weekends out of the month. My job as a bus supervisor was to keep those students save the whole trip. Parents would bring the students to he bus, I would sign them in, and they would proceed to their seat. At the time of departure I would do a head and name count of each student then we would start on our drive to Birmingham. From Montgomery to Birmingham we would make one stop on Clanton, AL to pickup more students as well as allow the students to use the restroom at the pick up site. With a large group of students like that I walk them in and out of any unfamiliar place, there was no moment the students were out of my sight. Once everyone was back on the bus I would do another head and name count. Once we made it to the School the student's would be checked in one by one. At the school my job as an instructor was to teach the students the key concepts of being a great model and actor/actress. Confidence, poise, speech, healthy skin and body, and of course FUN! They would also learn about fashion and being creative. After the day was over we would then board the bus I do my procedures and I made sure all parents knew we were headed back to assure a safe pick up for the students. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Telemarketer who travels
"Admission Director" (Former Employee), TampaOctober 2, 2014
Pros: pay
Cons: poor management, working 7 days a week.
Beware of a company who is always hiring; it means people are always quitting. Average tenure is 6 months as an admissions director. You will work 24/7, literally. There is never a real day off because – more... you are forced to use your personal cell phone to make calls and text so your phone is always ringing. Your office is a tiny closet with no windows. Overall a very unprofessional, misleading work environment. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Job Overview
Events Coordinator (Former Employee), Tampa, FLSeptember 22, 2014
Pros: travel, benefits, and working with kids
Cons: worked every weekend & holidays
Manage and oversee nation-wide promotional events weekly. Develop new and maintain current relationships with event venues. Budget and effectively negotiate prices for events .Travel throughout U.S to – more... hire and train promotional supervisors for new territories and upcoming events. Book promotional staff for each event .Assist in organizing and coordinating several fashion shows. Book travel such as airfare, rental car and hotel accommodations for promotional team. Ship marketing materials and promotional supplies to staff. Design marketing materials such as flyers, signs and banners to display at events. Process payroll for all promotional staff each week. On-site manage team of promotional models at various events. Motivate and oversee promotional team. Ensure quantity and quality lead generation. Meet and exceed lead generation expectations while increasing sales within company. Portray positive, upbeat image for company while interacting with potential clients. Keep accurate payroll, travel logs, and expense reports. Responsible for weekly booking reports – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Job wasn't for me
Appointment Setter (Former Employee), Tampa,FlAugust 21, 2014
Responsible for booking young girls in different areas to come in for interviews with our National Talent Directors for modeling and acting.
Hardest part was getting the girls to actually come out to interviews.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a good job for a 20 something, but not anyone else
Marketing Manager (Current Employee), Southwest regionAugust 8, 2014
Pros: work on weekends, long hours, standing, cheap company
Cons: work on weekends, no benefits, minimal contact with corporate office
This review to people who work "out in the field"-- NOT in the Tampa office. If you are considering getting a job at Barbizon, know that it's NOT going to be what you think it is. The company is cheap – more... and the jobs they hire for are not for 90% of the population. If you are a particular kind of person (don't need the money, love working with girls, fashion, detail-oriented, positive) you may fit in.
Most everyone else... go get another job. This is an OK job for "side income" ONLY IF YOU LOVE IT.
I have the compensation benefits 4 stars ONLY because for young people they will consider it good pay. If you are over 30, negotiate something higher because what they will offer won't be enough to make you feel doing the job is worth it. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
former student
student (Former Employee), South CarolinaJuly 2, 2014
Pros: not one pro to mention
Cons: rip off
A complete RIP OFF. DREAM ROBBERY!!!!! SELLING FALSE DREAMS TO KIDS AND PARENTS. STAY FAR AWAY!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun, upbeat, upscale, life changing
Teacher, PR, Sales (Current Employee), Atlanta, GAOctober 14, 2013
Pros: fun work environment, being fabulous!
Cons: missing the students when the classes are over
As a teacher and PR person I found this job to be very rewarding. Barbizon not only teaches young kids about how to model and act but how to be part of their society and make it in the real world! They – more... learn lessons that they will take with them into their future careers and for a lifetime. You cannot put value on that. Even if they don't become a model or an actor they will carry themselves in a way that will make them stand out from any crowd!

I love interacting with the students, hearing about their week and keeping up with the young trends and fashions. The hardest part of the job is that not everyone parent is committed to giving their child this experience if they want it. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I don't recommend it
Former salesperson (Former Employee), Tampa, FLJanuary 1, 2013
Pros: travel opportunities
Cons: never a day off, bringing work home, no computerized system, selling hype to teenage girls and their parents.
I didn't have the conscience to stay working there. It was all about selling a dream to young girls and their parents.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Appt setters are telemarketers, completely cold calling
Appt setter (Former Employee), Tampa flDecember 29, 2012
Pros: decent pay
Cons: complete cold calling, directors steal leads, cheated out of bonuses
Barbizon gathers leads by tricking kids and parents into signing up to win trips or photoshoots. Then calls parents and children inviting them out to a "free audition". Telling the parents their looking – more... for girls who are placement ready. The interviews that they hold at the "auditions" are just to see if the parents can afford the $2,495 classes.

Working for Barbizon paid the bills, but makes you feel like a horrible person. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Models with confidence
Teacher Assistant (Current Employee), Boston, MAOctober 30, 2012
Pros: weekends and good hours
Cons: no cons
A typical day at work is teaching the girls what it is to be a model and actress. Make up runway walks and give them reviews on their performance. I get along with my co worker, and the most enjoyable part is seeing the girls so excited when they master what we teach them.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Definitely a job for someone who likes to travel.
National Sales Director (Former Employee), Tampa, FLMay 12, 2012
Pros: travel, bonuses, team oriented
Cons: long hours, pressure to make a sale, time away from family, on the phone 7 days a week, no real tme off, must work during vacations to meet goals
Evening hours 3pm to 9pm or 4pm to 10 pm depending on what part of the country you were working in. Goal to set at least 10 appointments or more a day. Favorite part was traveling to new searches and meeting new people. and closing the sale - getting the family excited about their daughter training to be a model/actor.