Find companies:
Barclays
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
727 reviews

Barclays Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I am able to cope and work according to the organisational policies
Internal Control Rigour Officer (Current Employee), Barclays Bank , GhanaOctober 23, 2013
Pros: lunch subsidy
Cons: healthcare
i happen to be at work one day and was suppose to familiarize myself with snap check lists use for ATM offsite checks in order to conduct a quality snap checks. it was my first time but i did an excellent job. My boss applauded me and recommended me to other staff.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A Life long valued learning environment to have had the first opportunity to enter the 'adult workforce'
Customer Service Officer (Former Employee), Kingstown,October 21, 2013
Pros: a complete environment to gain sound financial knowledge.
Cons: long hours.
The best in customer service and training. As a former employee of this very prestigious financial institution will always value the lessons learned that I continued to employ in all of my other employment. Our motto was 'Do It Right, First Time'. It continues to be my guide.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Workplace
Analyst (Current Employee), Jersey City, NJOctober 20, 2013
Pros: great benefits and pay
Cons: location strategy and turnover rate of employees
Management was helpful in training and ensuring that work was done correctly and on time. They were open to new ideas and change. Morale has recently been low due to a change in location strategy.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place & coworkers
Programmer (Current Employee), Jersey City, NJSeptember 25, 2013
Pros: great location to work
L3 SUPPORT, BATCH MONITORING,
JIRA PRIORITIZATION
ENHANCEMENTS
MIGRATION
UTILITIES
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Disappointment
Vice President Investment Banking (Current Employee), New York, NYSeptember 19, 2013
Too many management changes which has hurt the team even more. This lack of leadership has led to loss of moral.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced, goal oriented, team driven
Project Manager/Contractor (Current Employee), Newark, DESeptember 10, 2013
Pros: company loves to volunteer for great causes
Cons: most employees are contractors and it's very difficult to become full time.
A day at Barclays is very busy. Projects get shifted and priorities change. I learn how to adapt to the fast pace change and that projects can increase or decrease in priority at any time. My co-workers are very helpful. The hardest part of the job is not getting so involved in the details. There are Subject Matter Experts that provide the details. – more... The most enjoyable part is how there is no such things as a predictable day. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great people to work with
Teller/Merchant Teller (Former Employee), Orange, CAAugust 28, 2013
Pros: healthcare
Taking deposits and cashing check, processing merchant transactions, balancing atm and vault
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challeging Place To Work
Chief Operating Officer (COO) - Americas (Current Employee), New York, NYAugust 22, 2013
With consuming deadlines, many consultants, low pay, etc. employees are morally stretched and are less than happy.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A Good Firm to Grow your IT skills
Senior Developer (VP) (Current Employee), New York, NYAugust 7, 2013
Barclays IT is strong among the major IBs. It covers most of the cutting-edge and highly marketable skill set. This is a place where you can improve a lot if you are into technology.

The firm needs to form a better culture. E.g: diversity, enforcing professionalism. Sometimes I see people with good technical skills but poor inter-personal/team working – more... skills. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High experience gained
Credit card department/ sales officer (Former Employee), Emaar Business ParkAugust 6, 2013
-a typical day at work :
Selling Credit Cards to targeted customers.
Follow up with the customers to meet maximum satisfaction.

-what you learned :
how to communicate with high profile customers and how to be your own manager.

-management :
very helpful and convenient

-your co-workers :
useful and good working skills, I very enjoyed work with them.

-the – more... hardest part of the job :
when trying to get the missing documents from the applicant .

-the most enjoyable part of the job :
when the customer application get approved, and the target is achieved. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Firm has potential
Assistant Vice President (Current Employee), Jersey City, NJJuly 25, 2013
Pros: comp
Cons: career path
The firm has a lot of room to grow but needs stronger leaders and needs to develop a culture and a clear direction. If someone can come over and manage a strong team the sky is the limit
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive environment with challenging tasks to be completed.
Customer Advisor (Former Employee), Birmingham UKJuly 12, 2013
Pros: smart uniform, great colleagues
Cons: short breaks
A typical day would include a flood fill of customers that me and my colleagues would deal with. I have learned how to communicate well with my colleagues and customers who entered the bank, the management was excellent as i clearly understood what my duty was and what my manager expected from me. My co workers where very friendly and also understood – more... their roles and responsibilties which allowed the tasks within the business to successfully be completed. The hardest part of the job was working in the tight environment, however the most enjoyable part was meeting new people on a daily basis when dealing with customers. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Highly motivated company, shower you with bonuses
Relationship Manager (Former Employee), Wilmington, DEJuly 8, 2013
Pros: education for you job and career advancements
Cons: don't pay a discount for lunch
A very special company you can grow to love and help others. I had a good experience and love the atmosphere, great place to work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Team
Roadshow Coordinator, Assistant Vice President (Former Employee), New York, NYJuly 1, 2013
Typically I would coordinate all of th logistics and schedule the investor meetings for the roadshows I was working on that month. I worked on approximately 5 - 15 events on any given month. Each member of the team also had to be the lead coordinator on a conference. I enjoyed this very much because as the lead there were so many details to attend to. – more... I enjoyed the responsibility, attention to detail, setting deadlines and of course the opportunity to work with sales, research and the corporates.

At Barclays I truly learned how to multi-task and manage my schedule. Deadlines and timing are crucial to any investor event; missed deadlines are unacceptanle as it throws off the entire event.

Management allowed us to work independently but also had an open door policy for any questions you might have. The hardest part about being a Roadshow Coordinator was learning ways to make both internal and external clients happy.The feeling of completing a successful event is so gratifying. There are so many details to attend to and to succeed in a such a fast paced environment is a great feeling. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lively and entertaining work place, with a lot of people interraction
Usher/Ticket Taker (Current Employee), Brooklyn, NYJune 27, 2013
No day is typical, everyday you own a different job title, Under the guest services duties. My co-workers are great, fun people. Nothing about the job is hard, the most enjoyable part is dealing with the guest(especially happy guest after a Brooklyn Nets win)
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Uncertain outlook
Vice President, Product/Business Manager (Current Employee), new york, nyJune 24, 2013
Barclays seems to pay less than market.
The environment currently is a bit negative because future is unknown.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learning Institution, good people to work
Sr. Analyst (Current Employee), CheenaiJune 19, 2013
I have learnt about UK market (settlement)
team player
good management
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very hands-on, Great exposure to financial operations
Consultant, Securities/Operations-Buyins (Current Employee), Jersey City, NJJune 17, 2013
Overall, great experience. Significant exposure to several aspects of financial services industry. Worked closely with other groups in a cohesive manner. Gained knowledge about 204 regulation, stock loan and broker to broker fail management.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting Projects
Program Manager (Current Employee), New York, NYJune 12, 2013
Interesting Projects and the people are nice. The commute is close-to-home.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company !!!
Summer Associate (Former Employee), londonJune 2, 2013
Content Strategy, Strategic Sourcing, Certified Project, Social Media Strategist, Board Presentations, Smartphones, Channel Marketing, Emerging Market Entry, International Management, Workshop Presentation, Client Interfacing, Tablets, Smart TV