Find companies:
Barclays
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
585 reviews

Barclays Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
FRIENDLY STAFF
Data Processing Officer (Former Employee), Bath, UKFebruary 19, 2013
Pros: promotion opportunities
Cons: salary
MY FIRT STEP INTO THE BANKING FIELD LOT TO TAKE IN AND FUN WHILE DOING SO
RELIABLE AND WITH INTERNAL POSSIBILITIES
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Detailed and fast paced work environment
Loan processor (Former Employee), Nairobi, KenyaFebruary 16, 2013
Reviewing clients loan application and identifying details needed to provide accuracy in submission. Calling employers for background checks information, verifying on credit scores for loan application consideration, following up on clients documents needed to support loan application, calculating the gross income of the client to estimate the rate – more... of loan to be acquired. Ensuring proper details are updated in the client database, biographic information, work history, refernces checkup. Clear and efficient communication to the underwriter when loan application is ready.

Coworkers are great team players, great experience to work growth – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Work Life balance
Senior QA Analyst (Current Employee), Wilmington, DEFebruary 11, 2013
Pros: flexible work hours
Cons: not a very challenging environment
1. Excellent Work Life balance
2. Flexible work hours
3. Friendly atmosphere
4. Not a very challenging environment
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exciting/educating company to work for
sales representative/sales team leader. (Former Employee), Kitwe , ZambiaFebruary 11, 2013
Pros: trannsport/lunch was provided in rare cases.
Cons: my job was full time sales, so i was my own boss.
It is an exciting company to work for,where we had good colleague relations,good remunerations that added to the speed of our goals.I learnt how to work with others in order to meet my target. Management was well supporting,but the hardest part of the job is commuting from one place to the other when transport is not provided.However i enjoyed being – more... my own boss,and determining my own salary. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Definitely not the greatest place to work at.
Vice President (Current Employee), New York, NYFebruary 5, 2013
If you need a job to pay your bills, apply. As soon as you find another opportunity, leave.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Intellectually challenging, bright people, but the industry is challenged
Marketer - Director (Current Employee), New YorkFebruary 3, 2013
International workforce, very diverse
Weekly travel
Solid management
Respectful work-life balance
But the industry is very challenged
Most enjoyable part of the job is the opportunity to learn from very bright people, as well as meeting clients and getting your ideas challenged.
Hardest part of the job is the overall industry environment which makes – more... innovation difficult. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Barclays Bank is a well organized bank, mostly special with its friendly working environment and team work spirit.
Human Resources Advisor (Former Employee), Cairo, EgyptJanuary 16, 2013
I was responsible for the Recruitment function at the Retail Banking department.
At Barclays I learned how I can achieve my targets and manage to work under pressure, and to focus on reaching the major goals for my organization.
The Management at barclays provided a great level of support for their subordinates, and were target oriented.
The Recruitment – more... team "my team" succeeded to fulfill the mass recruiting demand of the bank with minimal recruiting costs, and at the same time were able to maintain highest caliber's level.

The most enjoyable part of the job was the challenge of achieving my targets, and ofcourse the great experience in Recruitment which I was lucky to have. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome place
Financial Analyst Intern (Former Employee), Accra, GhanaDecember 17, 2012
Everyone is hands on and ready to help you in any way they can. You're entrusted with real work very early on and you advance at a pace you're comfortable with.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
FUN AND PRODUCTIVE PLACE TO WORK WITH GREAT COFFEE FOR EMPLOYEES
Relationship Manager (Former Employee), Colorado Springs, CODecember 13, 2012
I LOVED THIS COMPANY. THEY OFFERED GREAT HOURS, GREAT PAY, AND THE MANAGEMENT WERE VERY CARING AND HELPFUL. GREAT INCENTIVES, AND GREAT BENEFITS.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good organization to learn
Project Manager (Former Employee), UKDecember 10, 2012
Pros: great benefits and a decent work life balance
Cons: too much beauracracy
Escalation was the typical day at work
Learnt a lot of technical and infrastructure things
Did a lot of project management for the project
Enjoyed working with my co workers
Hardest part was to deliver the project within schedule in the limitations that the organization had in its DNA
Played a lot of cricket for Barclays which was fun
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Midrange Analyst (Former Employee), SingaporeOctober 10, 2012
Pros: no overtime
Cons: low salary
I worked as a Midrange Analyst which was responsible to maintain Tandem Production with SMS application. When I was there, I learned TACL script, SMS application, etc. Also I had a very helpful and friendly co-workers. I didn't have any difficulty on my job and the most enjoyable was i had a good teamwork.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Large Bank With Global Reach
Senior Financial Analyst (Current Employee), New York, NYOctober 8, 2012
Pros: good benefits, nice midtown location, people are friendly
Cons: no career mobility, low compensation levels, no communication with your line manager
-Company generally pays lower than the rest of the street
-Internal mobility is VERY difficult at Barclays
-A lot of the managers don't help their team members in areas of development and are more concerned with the bonus they themselves willl get
-Scandals - recent LIBOR rates has put pressure on the bank
-Ok place to work at the present moment
-Management – more... needs to value human capital – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good pay
Financial Sanctions Analyst (Current Employee), Long Island, NYOctober 7, 2012
Cons: short breaks
Compliance with OFAC, EU, UN, and other global sanctions: Analysis of filtered payments and messages, including investigations, QMS case management, Anti-Money Laundering, Anti-Terrorist Financing, KYC. Use of various filtering applications, such as FMF Web Verify, DBScan, FOFA Decision, Scan-IT, VRisk, CCNG Director, RMPT, GFP, MTI.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Customer Service Assistant (Former Employee), London, EnglandOctober 2, 2012
Whilst i worked at Barclays Bank, I had the opportunity to learn and grow on a daily basis. No two days were ever the same.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive learning experience
Consultant (Former Employee), New York, NYSeptember 24, 2012
Pros: compensation
Cons: no job security
Fast paced well organized company. Valued relations with coworkers and learning new products.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A Great Place To Work For
Human Resources SAP Analyst (Current Employee), New York, NYSeptember 14, 2012
A team environment with every member's eye on the overall HR goal for the organization.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Barclays
Tax Analyst (Current Employee), 70 Hudson StreetSeptember 10, 2012
Pros: overtime
Cons: no bonus, raise, atmosphere, bad management, no reimbursement for travel
There have been many learning opportunities at Barclays. The company will be a prominent investing bank in the near future. Tax Operations department has no work life balance and management does not take care of its employees.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great learning experience
Accounting Intern Commercial Banker (Former Employee), Alexandria,EgyptSeptember 3, 2012
Pros: good place to learn
Cons: not enough time
I did my internship there and i learnt a alot about accounting and finance,the people there are great to work with and helpful.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not a people focus company
Solution Delivery - BTG (Current Employee), Wilmington, DEAugust 15, 2012
leadership values process and procedures over people growth development and opportunities
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional
Executive Assistant (Current Employee), FLAugust 13, 2012
Great companny, team work vision
Review reports, primpt and distribute to executive level
Provide customer service
Create, review and compose letters, presentation, charts