Find companies:
Barnes & Noble
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
662 reviews

Barnes & Noble Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's the people.
Barista (Current Employee), New York, NYOctober 15, 2014
Everything feels pretty average, except the people. Seeing co-workers becomes the best part of the day .
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company for college students for flexible hours
Café Manager / Retail (Former Employee), Waterloo, IAOctober 12, 2014
The cafe (Starbucks coffee) is busy fast-paced, repetitive, & very task oriented.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Tri C
Text Books (Former Employee), Parma, OHOctober 9, 2014
Good place to work most days, aside from people who believe they don't need help. The hours are not there if it's not RUSH as well.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Job
Bookseller/Barista (Current Employee), Conway, SCOctober 8, 2014
Nice environment, Good staff. Haven't been working here that long to write a review but so far I like this job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Understaffed
Café Barista/ Book Seller (Former Employee), Chula Vista, CAOctober 7, 2014
Pros: the people, management and staff.
Cons: the hours, pay and corporate understanding of customers.
I enjoy working with people as well as serving people. I have a positive attitude and I enjoy being around people. Management liked me at Barnes and Noble, because I can't sit still. I'm always doing, (whether it's cleaning, restocking or washing dishes.)

Being in the theatre, I have a great understanding of human behavior. I never understand being – more... fake to customers, which these corporate companies would want you to be. My customers always enjoy me, because I was always pleasant and honest.

Working in the cafe could be quite stressful as we would have volumes of customers that goes to our cafe. We would also be understaffed, which could hurt the business. I'm always about quality and giving the best to our customers. I pride on making the drinks correctly. When you're understaffed and need to rush (which the company expects you, quality is not the standard. I don't think that's right.

Also being understaffed and having a certain amount of time to open or close the cafe is quite stressful as well. They expect so much in a minimal amount of time. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work; fun, but professional management.
Cashier (Former Employee), San Diego, CAOctober 7, 2014
Pros: great part time hours and co-workers
Cons: insisted i move to full time when new mgmt came in so i had to leave.
I loved my job here - the customers, the management, and my co-workers. I worked 9:45 a.m. to 2:45 on Tuesdays and Thursdays, except for the Christmas holidays when my hours increased. When new management came in and took over, they cut out my part time hours and wanted me to work full time, which I did not want to do.

I have never worked at a company – more... where ALL the employees were so loyal to the company, regardless of their age. It was wonderful. But I do know that [most] of the assistant managers, who had been with the company for three to eight years, did not get promoted as they thought they should, and eventually left. I think it was the store's loss. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Culture is depressing and very high school
ASSISTANT STORE MANAGER (Former Employee), Whitehall, PAOctober 2, 2014
I left several times throughout 2013 to care for my mother who was dying of cancer. I received horrible treatment from the store manager and the management team.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and busy place to work
Childrens Lead (Former Employee), McAllen, TXOctober 1, 2014
Pros: discount both in cafe and store
Cons: healthcare
During my time at Barnes and Noble, I spent my time as Childrens Lead. My day would consist of checking freight for that day and reviewing any pending projects I might have had. I was also responsible for delegating said projects to the other associates that worked in the department. I also helped set up and maintain Educational Toys and Games.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good environment
Employee (Current Employee), Las Vegas, NVSeptember 30, 2014
Pros: the employees from all the locations are like a big family and culturally diverse
Cons: the benefits changed for full time employees only and there's not much room for advancement
Employees are consistently on the move helping the customers and working hard to make the store as organized and presentable as possible. The manager's are really understanding of each individual's schedules. The hardest part is maintaining the store and helping customers at the same time considering that the number of employees on the sales floor are – more... usually minimum. Despite any obstacles, all the employees get along with each other like a family. I learned a great deal of patience and sincerity from helping the customers find what they need. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful Environment and Great Management
Lead of Digital Sales (Current Employee), Dallas, TXSeptember 28, 2014
There couldn't be a better place to learn customer service principles. This company has always gone above and beyond with their service, and the treatment of their employees. This job gave me the opportunity to grow into a leadership position, and I couldn't be more grateful for that. It has given me an insight into my knack for sales and marketing. – more... It can be quite hectic at some times, but it is well worth it, for it also teaches one patience, and how to handle situations of all kinds. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A solid place to begin a career or to work while going to school.
Bookseller/Barista (Current Employee), Garland, TXSeptember 27, 2014
A solid place to begin a career or to work while going to school.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun customer service oriented environment
Bookseller (Former Employee), Devon, PASeptember 26, 2014
As a bookseller I was responsible for excellent customer service and problem solving.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing Work Environment
Bookseller/Cashier (Former Employee), Merced, CASeptember 23, 2014
Pros: great environment, breaks
Cons: part time only
This job was my first job, and I couldn't ask for a better place to start off in the work force. Although it is part-time, it is a nice place to work and isn't too crazy, as a fast-food place would be. Co-workers are excellent and I couldn't ask for a better management team. Hardest part of the job would have to be just cleaning up after messy and ruse – more... customers, but the best part is being able to help customers out and tell them about books you have read or are going to read. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company to work for
Head Cashier Manger (Current Employee), Nashua, NHSeptember 22, 2014
I have been blessed to work for such an amazing company and with a solid, hard working team.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Beaumont, TXSeptember 20, 2014
Co-workers and managers really care about the company, the employees, and the people who shop there.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A solid company with great culture!
Bookseller (Former Employee), Antioch, CASeptember 19, 2014
Pros: gratis, training, positive culture
Cons: low wages
Barnes and Noble was a perfect part time job for me, and I learned a great deal about inventory control and the shipping and receiving department. The management was always cohesive and direct, friendly and upbeat. The communication meetings were my favorite, they boosted morale and kept everyone on the same page. I enjoyed my time there and served – more... in many different capacities, the managers always knowing they could count on my diversity to cover any department. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace with ample opportunity to do different tasks
Merchandise Manager (Current Employee), Westlake, OHSeptember 18, 2014
Barnes & Noble is a company that offers management a great deal of hands on opportunities. The job requires you to be able to multi-task and be able to direct employees while ensuring customer focus.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place to work
Café Lead (Former Employee), Peoria, AZSeptember 17, 2014
Pros: amazing coworkers and customers
Cons: salary
I worked here for four years and I loved it until the final year. The culture was amazing, and I loved interacting with my customers and coworkers. In the cafe, working in such close proximity to my coworkers created true friendships that I still value today. The biggest downside-pay. They often require employees to do jobs outside of their job title – more... and getting a raise is almost impossible. When I was finally promoted to cafe lead and became full time, I was mistreated by management and asked to do most aspects of their job without a raise. I began to feel as if I my hard work was never good enough and the environment became miserable. I was pushed too far. Despite everything, I look back on my days at Barnes & Noble and I will never forget some of the valuable lessons I learned there. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast pace and customer oriented
Head Cashier>Kid's Department Lead>Merchandise Mgr (Current Employee), Savannah, GASeptember 17, 2014
Pros: healthcare benefits and discounts
Cons: not enough people working to help the customers
I have to learned to be curious and understanding to customers needs. The management team are great and eager to teach new associates. One of the hardest parts of my job is when we don' t have what the customer needs or when a customer gets upset because they didn't like how they were treated but one of my associates. I take customer service very serious – more... and love when I able to make the customer/employees happy. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Place to be
Sr. QA Engineer (Former Employee), NYSeptember 16, 2014
Learn how to used and execute complex quires in SQL. Co-workers were awesome

1 2 3 4 5

About Barnes & Noble

Barnes & Noble, Inc. (NYSE:BKS) is a Fortune 500 company and the leading retailer of content, digital media and educational – Read more