Barnes & Noble Employee Reviews

Found 2,284 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Bookseller/Cashier (Former Employee) –  Dallas, TXMarch 23, 2017
Great place to work if you are looking to work part time and want to get paid weekly. I worked there as a cashier and the job is pretty simple. My co workers were nice.
Pros
weekly pay
Cons
no benefits unless you are full time
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and energetic environment with like minded people
Bookseller (Former Employee) –  Reno, NVMarch 22, 2017
I worked at two very different locations and I was cross trained in all departments. I learned how to be a valuable part of the team, quick thinking, and respectful to customers when it is most difficult. This was a fantastic place to work because everyone was very like minded and friendly. I try and bring my enthusiasm for such a cohesive work environment to my future workplace. The hardest part was may wages, but being young with no job history it is understandable. The best part was the discounts and the people I met while working there/.
Pros
Friendships and great discount
Cons
Low wages
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent work atomosphere
Sales Associate/ Customer Service Specialist (Former Employee) –  Beaverton, OR 97006March 22, 2017
Loved working with the staff. Staff made me feel welcome. Customers were pleasant and patient. Maintained clean environment. Only thing that was irritating was that you had to try to sell the barnes and noble membership card to every customer.
Pros
great discounts
Cons
benefits didn't start until a year working there
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a great place to work as a student.
Book Seller (Former Employee) –  Lakewood, COMarch 22, 2017
My schedule was flexible and the people there were fun to work with. I learned a lot about Red Rocks while working at the book store! The manager was great and worked around any class.
Pros
Flexible
Cons
Slow time were boring, not many hours offered
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place, awesome coworkers
Cafe Server (Former Employee) –  Midland, MIMarch 21, 2017
Working here as a Cafe Server was my favorite job hands down. I loved being a barista, and everyone's attitude just fit perfectly. Communication is key in this position. The cafe manager goes way above and beyond than she ever needs to, but that's what makes her amazing. It's an easy, fast paced job. The only reason management has 4 stars is because of the actual store management. Not very respectful of the cafe, and more interested in the book floor.
Pros
Half off cafe food, enjoyable coworkers, positive environment, fun
Cons
store management, lack of respect
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Take care of employees, very professional atmosphere.
Assistant Manager (Current Employee) –  New JerseyMarch 21, 2017
Provides a very structured work week. Cross training is provided to most booksellers. Advancement is available to those that actively seek it. Take very care of employees.
Pros
Responsive HR team. Employee discounts
Cons
30 minute lunches.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work while a student
Lead Book Seller and Team Leader (Former Employee) –  McAllen, TXMarch 21, 2017
balancing customer service, employee training, product display and merchandise sales, while given the flexibility of work schedule. Great opportunity to learn from management team
Pros
flexible schedule
Cons
pay and benefits
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Retail Bookseller (Former Employee) –  Farmingdale, NYMarch 21, 2017
Working there gave me a chance to experience having a job and make my own money. In addition, I also acquired new skills in retail and an understanding of how retail is done. I also had a chance to provide a service to students seeking an education on campus.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing Place
Bookseller (Current Employee) –  Winston-Salem, NCMarch 20, 2017
Love working for a bookstore and company that takes family, education and ideals into consideration. Started out as seasonal and got to stay on as part time. Love the benefits, the people, and the staff. Love my B&N family :)
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Comprehensive training
Cashier/Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Columbia, SCMarch 20, 2017
I received a lot of hands on training for this job, as I worked in several departments; trade books, cashier, Starbuck's cafe, and in the Stadium store, as it was a campus location.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unprofessional
Bookseller/Cashier (Former Employee) –  Philadelphia, PAMarch 20, 2017
My experience was at my college's bookstore. It was during rush so it the managers did not and did not really care to know your name. There was no guidance was to do and those who were kept for a full time position were based off of nothing other than favoritism.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worked with nice customers in a nice environment
Head Cashier / Sales Specialist (Current Employee) –  Rocklin, CAMarch 20, 2017
Very sales focused. management relies heavily on sales and customer service staff, often with minimal coverage. Very hard but enjoyable work. Work can be overwhelming during the Christmas season.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive place to work
Cafe Lead (Former Employee) –  Shreveport, LAMarch 20, 2017
I had a wonderful time working for Barnes & Noble. The environment is positive, your job is secure and the company offers great benefits for its full time employees.
Pros
Half price food and discounts
Cons
Short breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive yet semi stressful workplace
Book seller (Former Employee) –  Salem, NHMarch 20, 2017
the people there were nice. during closing it was fun because the atmosphere was lighter. i liked it there, and whished i wasnt only seasonal help. maybe ill apply again
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent place to work
Merchandise Manager (Current Employee) –  Jacksonville, FLMarch 19, 2017
Pay was low, the benefits are good though. Constant churn of executives led to sometimes contradicting messages coming down to store level. Working there was not bad.
Pros
4% 401k match and good healthcare plan.
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Inclusive Employer
HEAD CASHIER (Former Employee) –  Hyannis, MAMarch 18, 2017
Top rated employer for LGBT folks.
Full-time employees receive FULL trans-inclusive healthcare coverage which is so rare with many employers. B&N has received a 100% rating in the Corporate Equality Index for many many years.
Pros
Great benefits, even some for part-time employees
Cons
Full-time positions only available to managers and leads
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Flushing, NYMarch 18, 2017
Prepare and deliver performance reviews to booksellers
Resolve customer complaints in accordance with all operational guidelines.
Good moral
Never treated the position as a job since I enjoy everything about it
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Gamestop DBA (Former Employee) –  Chandler, AZMarch 17, 2017
Game Stop is a part of Barnes & Noble. I had so much fun working there. It was always changing, new games, new systems, new accessories. It was a fun and exciting place to work even during Christmas.
Pros
fast paced
Cons
parents did not pay attention to the games kids were getting
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great culture and forward thinking company
Director of Operations (Former Employee) –  Reno, NVMarch 17, 2017
Enjoyed daily interaction with both shifts and developed a strong management team that worked collectively to meet or exceed all goals and targets. worked with all directors and VP to address policy and planning needs.
Pros
continuous improvement
Cons
on call 24 /7 no work ballance
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place but not many hours
Bookseller (Former Employee) –  Bakersfield, CAMarch 16, 2017
it was a great place to work but the hours were few and far between, the management had a couple problems but were resolved quickly after they came to fruition
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Barnes & Noble. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 2,288 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.9
Compensation/Benefits
3.3
Job Security/Advancement
3.3
Management
3.7
Culture
4.0
81%

CEO Approval

Based on 437 ratings
Add your rating