Barnes Group Employee Reviews in United States

Found 47 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed managing subordinates
Sales Manager (Current Employee) –  Cleveland, OHAugust 20, 2015
Excellent place to work, I'm just ready to stop traveling and be home every night. They have great benefits and a great working environment.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learned Alot
Order Puller (Former Employee) –  Dallas, TXJanuary 7, 2016
This company here taught me alot about leadership, and time management. My co-workers was very good to work with, we came to together as one.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Business Development Specialist (Former Employee) –  Albuquerque, NMNovember 16, 2015
Very good place to work, the employees/ management do everything they can to make you profitable.

Hardest part of the job is to motivate yourself to get up and work. You get out of the job what you put in to it.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Management to work for and excellent products to sell.
New Business Development Specialist (Former Employee) –  Rockford, MISeptember 4, 2013
I very much liked working for Barnes Distribution. I had great management to work for and they provided a good work / life balance. They also provided good compensation and benefits program. A typical day at work was cold calling, setting up sales appointments, holding sales meetings, and closing new business. The hardest part of the job was selling a product three or four times more than the other competing products. I enjoyed the people I called on and the people I worked with.
Pros
working from a home office, calling on customers and using my bachelors degree and my like of meeting new people every day.
Cons
trying to sell a product that was way mroe expensive than the competitors.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
WAS a great place to work!
Customer Service Specialist (Former Employee) –  IowaJune 3, 2012
When I started with Barnes it was a great place to work. Great boss freedom to make my own schedule. But management is reactive not pro active and are contantly making changes. Frequent price increases making it difficult to keep customers. Management is always taking away more benefits from the sales force. Changing salary to a lower base, taking away expenses, such as no more car allowance..it is just a flat reimbursement which doesn't cover half of your expenses with the job. Weekly Friday morning meetings, which were a joke...you were never allowed to say anything.
Pros
good products
Cons
everything
Was this review helpful?Yes3No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No regrets about changing jobs!
Sales Manager (Current Employee) –  Cleveland, OHOctober 2, 2012
I've been impressed with many aspects of Barnes Distribution. Barnes takes care of its employees by offering a complete benefits package that even includes tuition reimbursement. I find the Senior Management Team to be ready and willing to help or share ideas. On a monthly basis, the President of the company takes time to present to, and field questions from, the entire company. Barnes is very generous with perks such as food during meetings, free flu shots, parking reimbursement and schedule flexibilty if needed on occasion.
Pros
parking reimbursement, good salary, accessable management team
Was this review helpful?Yes1No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great opening position, with limited growth in a timely fashion
Territory Account Manager (Current Employee) –  Oklahoma City, OKJanuary 5, 2014
Wonderful company, but with the current merger with MSC everyone is left on outside wondering what is going on. The pay is SO SO but great for someone who does not need to make more that 50K a year. They do not pay for gas and require you to drive all over your territory M-F taking care of active accounts, and opening new ones. They try and supplement your millage with a small car allowance. This would be a great company to work for if they would get there pay inline with other territory account manager positions.
Pros
work from home make your own sched.
Cons
no gas card required to use personal vehicle and maintain wear and tear with minimal compensation.
Was this review helpful?Yes6No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Geart, great place to work for
Collections Specialist (Former Employee) –  Cleveland, OHSeptember 5, 2015
Was there as Temp employee, but they made you fell so welcome and happy to see you daily. Management was fun to work for and be around. Made great long lasting friendships! No complaints at all!!
Pros
Staff, Team members, location ALL GREAT
Cons
NONE AT ALL
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work.
Customer Sales Specialist (Former Employee) –  Cleveland, OHOctober 13, 2015
I enjoyed working for Barnes. I always learned something new everyday. I enjoyed meeting the customers and finding new customers.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working with ECommerce
E commerce Support Team/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Cleveland, OHJune 12, 2014
I enjoyed working with this company. I learned how to assist customers who completed online shopping. So, I would create usernames and passwords and often times had to reset the information.
Pros
great benefits.
Cons
the company was sold.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Environment
Talent Acquisition Specialist (Current Employee) –  Cleveland,OHMay 1, 2012
Good People. Job Security. Ability to move around departments
Pros
free food, great culture, great benifits
Cons
only located in cleveland
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Over all BD has been a good company to work for.
Human Resources (Current Employee) –  Cleveland, OHJuly 23, 2013
They promote from within and provide good benefits. Work-life balance is good.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to Lean and Grow!
Human Resources (Current Employee) –  Cleveland OhioDecember 3, 2012
I work at Barnes in Human Resources and I enjoy every day at work. I get to come to work with my friends and add value to the business everyday.
Pros
401k match, retirement, worklife balance
Cons
too many meetings
Was this review helpful?Yes3No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
unreachable expectations
Sales Representative (Current Employee) –  Cleveland, OHMay 14, 2012
Good for ground level sales....career in sales somewhere else.
Pros
freedom
Cons
low salary
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great opportunity
Outside Sales (Former Employee) –  Northern NevadaFebruary 3, 2014
Abundant resources for gaining product, technical, and industry knowledge.
Pros
awesome benefits
Cons
use of personal vehicle
Was this review helpful?Yes2No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
o k
Customer Sales Specialist (Current Employee) –  Houston, TXJanuary 20, 2014
it was o k no complaints good benefits great manager good pay,car allowance phone allowance
Pros
o k
Cons
o k
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
enjoyable and good enviroment with having lunch together provided from company
Shipping and Receiving Clerk (Former Employee) –  Edison, NJJune 13, 2014
safety work is the priority and the accuracy delivery to customer.
we learnt a lot how to handle the issues in shipping and also the products,
the management is good, they are organized to handle every issued happened every day.
we work as team that cooperated together, communicate between departments involved.
the hardest part of the job if there is no communication and work individually not as a team.
we are happy if every tasks that we do are going well.
Pros
free lunch (good), giving the opportunities to get better knowledge for the works
Cons
benefit either vacation, healhtcare or pension fund
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad experience
Business Development Specialist (Former Employee) –  Beaumont, TXFebruary 5, 2015
Could not trust anyone to do their part. Management never had your back. Hard to work within those conditions. The dynamics of the relationship between sales and ops were very flawed.
Pros
a few partners that worked hard with me.
Cons
really did not like much of anything about that job.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great work
Stocker (Former Employee) –  Hanover Park, ILMarch 26, 2015
hires through temp services but does not permanently hire the employees but it was a very fun job and the day went by fast
Some over time was offered but was not offered t the temps very often
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Solid company with opportunity for advancement
Manager, Financial Services (Former Employee) –  Cleveland OHNovember 4, 2014
Solid company with opportunity for advancement
Highly qualified people
Fast paced
Growing revenues
Pros
solid company with opportunity for advancement
Cons
na
Was this review helpful?Yes1No

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 54 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Culture