Find companies:
Barneys New York
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
34 reviews

Barneys New York Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
FUN WORK PLACE
Data Entry (Former Employee), New York, NYJuly 7, 2014
Scanned documentation and entered into the database.
Produced monthly reports using advanced Excel spreadsheet functions.
Reviewed and updated client correspondence files and scheduling database.
Accurately processed financial and related data.
Informing team leader about unusual situations affecting productivity, accuracy and efficiency of data flow.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast Paced and keeps you on your toes!
Jewelry Specialist (Current Employee), New York, NYJune 17, 2014
A nice place to work. Very demanding on your patience. Co-workers are friendly for the most part and helps out when you need it. Management can get a little hectic at times but that is expected in retail. The hardest part of the job is dealing with everyday demands of multiple clients at a time. The most enjoyable part is the satisfaction of helping – more... people that are really appreciative and making the connections that one wouldn't normally make on a regular basis. Also, getting to get a first look at all the new and upcoming merchandise that the fashion industry has to offer. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Creative and stimulating environment.
Visual Coordinator Designer Collections (Former Employee), Las Vegas, NVJune 2, 2014
I enjoyed waking up and going to work everyday to expand my own creativity and share innovation in a unique setting.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible place to work, or just location.
Sales (Former Employee), Las Vegas NVMay 1, 2014
Pros: lunch room
Cons: everything you just read
If you are top sales, the employees will hate on you. They will try to run you out of the store. The management was never on the sales floor, never when you need them you feel like you are bothering them. The ones who have worked there the longest regarding the managers but the sellers run the show not the manager. The low pay in the upscale store did – more... not match the workers pay criteria. I had to record an employees conversation to the management just to get a case involved, There was a lot of drama, it felt like a reality show. I dont recommend working at this store. There are a lot of other stores with higher commissions and hourly rates. Dont waste your time because at any given second you can get fired over something stupid lol – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
busy day
Ecommerce Assistant (Former Employee), New York, NYApril 15, 2014
make sure you interview your boss. great place to learn. extremely busy
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible Management, great lower level employees
Administration (Current Employee), New York, NYFebruary 28, 2014
Pros: lots of catered lunches
Cons: pay, hours, upper management, etc
Most of the managers, supervisors, directors, etc. treat their employees like slaves rarely giving any praise regardless of how hard someone is working or if they're going above and beyond their job description. Some of the entry level employees actually have second jobs on weekends to help make ends meet. There is no such thing as job security at Barneys – more... New York. Anyone could be removed for any reason at any time. In one years time an entire department could have all new employees solely because of the director of that department. While there is a decent employee discount, it can only be used on a Barneys credit card. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent training grounds to enter the visual display field.
Visual Display Coordinator (Former Employee), New York, NYFebruary 6, 2014
Pros: fun work environment, long lasting work and personal relationships.
Cons: low pay
Very creative environment constantly surrounded by inspiring people and talent, as well as the best designs / designers in any New York department store.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Passionate work culture and infinite excitement for product.
Senior Assistant Buyer (Former Employee), New York, NYFebruary 6, 2014
Great place to work to help launch new designer talent, perfect brand for those who are talented trend forecasters.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Luxury Retail
Selling Supervisor- Handbags,Jewelry and Cosmetics (Current Employee), New York, NYJanuary 22, 2014
• Oversees the operation of the store and perform duties to ensure its smooth operation as required.
• Performs product inventory in accordance with established policies and maintains related records.
• Operates and Handles cash and receipts for the sale of merchandise by performing duties such as counting the float, balancing cash, providing change, – more... sorting and securing cash.
• Opens and closes the store by performing duties such as placing and removing signage, opening and closing tills, unlocking and securing the store. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplace met alot of new friends
Barney's Stock Associate (Former Employee), Manhattan, NYJanuary 17, 2014
loved the job if i can work there permanetly that will be it.....its my type of enviroment...and the people are so nice..employees and customers
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A fun and creative environment to work, allowing creative license to experiment while keeping with the Barneys way.
Visual Display/Trimmer (Former Employee), Beverly Hills, CADecember 22, 2013
A typical day included a team meeting with visual director and then off to our individual assignments.The visual team was responsible for all store signage, trunk shows, events, interior vinettes and all window displays. I learned the most about fashion and visual display at Barneys. The art of high end fashion gave an interesting twist to interior – more... and exterior display directives. Barneys unique approach gave the fashion a platform to balance artsy with the minimal. My management was wonderful and my co- workers were fun and easy to work with. The hardest part of the job was squeezing into very tight windows spaces with lots of merchandise. The most enjoyable part was the creative license that Barneys encouraged their display team to take on any store display. We were allowed to try out our crazy ideas. First, run it by our visual director and then the flagship in New York. Worst case they would say no but loved to see what we came up with. The holiday windows were also exciting and the most fun to create. The reveal was a heightened event for shoppers. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The High End Experience.
Denim Specialist - Sales (Former Employee), New York, NYNovember 12, 2013
Great feedback from clients, very fast paced, excellent team of staff and co workers. Great time there.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Lead Person (Former Employee), Lyndhurst, NJNovember 5, 2013
Pros: sadly, no pros
Cons: just thank you, you the best, owesome work
In general, I learned a lot of things and practice other, because when I get there I was worked with them in one of the division too many years before.

I perform my duties and demonstrate to them that I loved what I was doing at daily basis. Helping other was my goal every time that someone needs my help.

I certainly knows that I gives more that 100%, – more... sometimes recognize sometimes don't. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive place to work
Finance Intern (Former Employee), New York, NYSeptember 18, 2013
Pros: free lunch some times
As an intern I had the opportunity to work on store analytics and budgeting. The senior analysts were very helpful.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exciting High-End Fashion Industry
Studio Manager (Former Employee), Lyndhurst, NJJuly 26, 2013
I was responsible for the e-commerce photography studio including photographers, retouchers, stylists, copy writers, and inventory. I enjoyed the challenge of growing a small studio into a highly productive studio, tripling the product turn-out. I loved learning about all the new designers and seeing the fashion lines before they were available to the – more... general public. It was a fast paced environment, which kept me on my toes. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting and compelling workplace with no work/life balance
Buyer, Women's Designer & CO-OP Accessories (Current Employee), New York, NYJuly 18, 2013
It's an amazing company but has poor work/life balance. We work with incredibly interesting vendors and edit of our merchandise which is exciting. However the lean team requires intense hours and responsibility which leads to poor work/life balance unfortunately.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed going to work.
Cash Office Associate/Receptionist (Former Employee), Dallas, TXMarch 30, 2013
Pros: healthcare, dental, vision, vacation, personal/sick days
Cons: this location was further away from my home that i liked.
A typical day at work consisted of answering the phone, preparing daily deposits, making change and balancing the cash drawer. I prepared the work schedule for the cash associates, prepared check requisitions, faxed documents to home office.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Barneys New York
Director of Financial and Store Systems (Current Employee), Lyndhurst, NJMarch 6, 2013
Its a good place to work. It is going thru a lot of transition lately.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Barneys is spot on.
Sales Associate, Mens (Current Employee), New York, NYFebruary 24, 2013
Pros: discount good medical plan
Cons: very low hourly pay, fair comission
By far the the best store you can work at is Barneys NY on Madison Ave. If you want to have exposure to fashion and the arts this is the place to work. Work/ Life balance is very good here. The union makes it difficult to advance in the company but the union gives you job security.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Creativity is welcomed
Assistant Store Manager (Former Employee), San Marcos, TXDecember 23, 2012
Cons: retail hours
The more fashionable, individualistic, and creative you are, the better

About Barneys New York

As Sarah Jessica Parker once told Vanity Fair, "If you're a nice person and you work hard, you get to go shopping at Barneys. – Read more

Barneys New York Photos