Barnhart Crane & Rigging Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Money was great, hours were great
Ironworker/Welder (Former Employee) –  Pascagoula, MSSeptember 29, 2017
Great company to work for, money was right and plenty of hours, foreman was good guy to work for, they kept me close to home, would definitely go back,
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Favortism and dishonesty
Rigging Foreman (Former Employee) –  Phoenix, AZMay 31, 2017
The branch manager has no idea what's going on there and all he does is butter up all the upper management and favors whoever kisses his butt. Branch manager and trucking division foreman are so fake!
Was this review helpful?Yes 8NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Senior Leaders focus on religion not loyalty
Manager (Current Employee) –  Knoxville, TNFebruary 21, 2017
Work is rewarding but Barnhart does not treat their customers fairly. Profit drives everything even to the point of gouging. Some great people work here but there is also quite a bit of in fighting and backstabbing. Learn what you can, get your ticket punched, beef up your resume and move on.
Pros
Work is very exciting, travel
Cons
Dishonest corporate leaders, promotions based on religious beliefs
Was this review helpful?Yes 15No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Company
Branch Manager (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILJuly 6, 2016
Long Hours, great people, Low pay. The hours were completely determined by the weather without regards to how long your day had already been.
Pros
Great People
Cons
Long hours, low pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good moeny to be made. lack of work however
Iron Worker / Wind technician (Current Employee) –  Corning IowaJune 8, 2016
Barnhart takes very good care of their employees. The per diem offered is second to none in my experience and I would definitely recommend them to a close friend or family member
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very mission driven organization
Project Sales Representative (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXApril 15, 2016
Assigned to prospect and develop a list of top accounts at the beginning of the year. The amount of focus was dependent upon the current amount of work coming into the local branch. If work slowed down you are required to change focus and find work anywhere you can. This caused a lag in the time it took to penetrate the top accounts. It always felt like you were starting over. I'm thankful for the amount of industry knowledge I was able to obtain.
Pros
Health care
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Company
Crane Operator (Former Employee) –  Theodore, ALSeptember 19, 2015
Overall good company with good benefits. Always paid on time every week. A growing company with an opportunity to advance.
Pros
benefits
Cons
low pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 23No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I'm a hard worker and team player.
Branch Administrator (Former Employee) –  Monroe, MichiganJuly 15, 2015
My experience has allowed me to set my business expectations to a higher level. I am a self starter and a team player. If I cannot find an answer to a problem, I will search and find until the task is complete. Hardest part of any job is dealing with the different personalities in the work place. Problem solving is required and everyone is different. When approaching problems in the work place we have to be proactive instead of burying the problem. I enjoy working and being productive.
Pros
I enjoy working in construction and remaining busy.
Cons
Unreliable people.
Was this review helpful?Yes 16No 12Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very interesting, diverse group to work for
Quality Assurance/Mechanical Completion Lead (Former Employee) –  TennesseeMay 4, 2015
I was only employed with this company for a few months. I noticed the management was very relaxed, yet very business oriented. Depending on the job you were assigned to for the specific job site, your coworkers were helpful and entertaining at times.
Was this review helpful?Yes 18No 7Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exhausting
Anonymous (Former Employee) –  EarthApril 7, 2015
Over worked and under paid. Middle management is pretty rough around the edges. Too much travel. Blatant religion in the work place.
Was this review helpful?Yes 29No 10Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Renewable energy
Outside Logistics Manager (Former Employee) –  Memphis, TNFebruary 13, 2015
The outside Logistics Manager was responsible for all deliveries and proper storage of construction material on site. Also tracking where the construction materials were used and documenting any mill certs. and batch numbers that may pertain to the project.
Was this review helpful?Yes 16No 6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Journeyman fitting and weld (Former Employee) –  Memphis, TNJanuary 5, 2015
growing company at this time. i was really proud to be there, then one day management separated the working man to a number.
Was this review helpful?Yes 21No 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
welder, operator, rigger
welder, operator, rigger (Former Employee) –  Memphis, TNNovember 18, 2014
laid off ..lack of work after 9 years at this growing company
Was this review helpful?Yes 38No 11Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Vision by the book
Sales (Former Employee) –  Richland, WAOctober 15, 2014
Vision by the book, but not grounded in reality when required,
Pros
pay
Cons
support
Was this review helpful?Yes 24No 11Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and organize work place
Quality Assurance/ Quality Control Inspector (Former Employee) –  Lawton, OKJuly 22, 2013
we had a good crew working together that had a lot of knowledge of there personal positions in that working environment made everything go smoothly.
Was this review helpful?Yes 40No 21Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Usefull Learning
Crane A&D Director (Former Employee) –  Nation wideJune 2, 2013
I was responsible for the assembly and disassembly of several types of cranes on wind farms across the country and the proper set up and use of rigging for rebuilds on 30 meter wind turbines. Over see craft disciplines and operation of cranes.
Pros
Travel and fast pased work.
Cons
No recogognition when saving the company hundreds of thousands of dollars.
Was this review helpful?Yes 39No 21Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not your average cup of tea...
Commissioner, Rigger (Former Employee) –  Knoxville, TNJune 2, 2013
If you enjoy being away from your family for about 4 to 6 months at a time and then seeing them for a week before you have to go back and work the rest of your year away from home, then sign up!! :)
Was this review helpful?Yes 54No 8Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very fast paced workplace with lots of moving parts
Office Manager (Current Employee) –  Long BeachMay 19, 2013
My work is very interesting and fast paced. Even though the corporation is quite small, our organization is very flat. This gives me the opportunity to master a wide variety of activities.
Pros
Great people to work with
Was this review helpful?Yes 15No 16Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Company
Yard and Maintenance Intern (Former Employee) –  Memphis, TNMay 4, 2013
This is a great company to work for. Its a close nit company that takes care of its employees
Was this review helpful?Yes 25No 15Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good job
Mechanical Completion (Former Employee) –  Memphis, TNFebruary 21, 2013
Hard work, long hours, good job. I am currently layed off due to lack of work. I loved it.
Was this review helpful?Yes 11No 8Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Barnhart Crane & Rigging. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.4
Based on 30 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.0
Compensation/Benefits
3.0
Job Security/Advancement
2.7
Management
3.2
Culture
3.4

Barnhart Crane & Rigging Reviews by Location