Find companies:
Barrick Gold Corporation
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
79 reviews

Barrick Gold Corporation Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company
Haul Truck Driver (Current Employee), Winnemucca, NVJune 22, 2013
Barrick is a great place to work. Benefits are very good. Employees are well trained. Safety is taken very seriously.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dynamic workplace with great benefits
Ore Control Engineer (Current Employee), Elko, NVMay 25, 2013
Pros: benefits, good coworkers
Cons: very long commute
I work directly with a group of ore control engineers, short range planners, and operation supervisors. I've learned to work with several different management styles and personalities. My coworkers are competent and as a group are very efficient. Defining stockpile space and resolving conflicts with operation supervisors and other engineers is one of – more... the more challenging part of being an ore control engineer. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Serious work place
Consulting Senior Geologist (Current Employee), Cortez Gold Mines, NevadaApril 1, 2013
Barrick Gold Corp. is the largest gold mining company in the world. It is committed to upgrading the skills of its employees. As a consequence my job includes mentoring junior geologists. There is ample funding for some basic research such as thin section work and age dating. There is a strong emphasis on safety and environmnetal compliance.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Low productive
Contract Geologist (Former Employee), Marathon, ONMarch 4, 2013
the hardest part of the job:
1. lack of appropriate management due to inexperienced supervisor
2. admission to professional work (geologist) people without special education
3. admission to the geotechnical work people "from the street" - without the skills and understanding of the standards and work ethics
4 - admission to physically demanding work – more... of pregnant women – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Quarterly Bonuses
EQuipment Operator (Former Employee), Elko, NVSeptember 25, 2012
The hardest part of the job is fatigue. A typical day starts 3 hours before shift and ends about 3 hours after shift. Which equates to about 17 hour days. But, you only get paid for 12.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company to work with.
Site Services General Supervisor (Former Employee), Santo Domingo, PRJuly 9, 2012
Pros: follow all the safety rules.
Cons: non that i found.
Super Company to work for, it is one of the largest Gold Producer in the world. Pay on time and made sure the perople were train to do that.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The mine rescue has been very exciting and fun and has given me a lot of oppertunities.
Equipment operator (Current Employee), Barrick / CortezFebruary 26, 2012
Pros: lots of schooling and travel
Cons: being away from home
Barrick has a very extencive training program and they by top line equipment
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great People, work, experiances, great pay and benifits its a dream job
Mine ops operator (Current Employee), Bald mountain mine, NVFebruary 15, 2012
Pros: great people, work, experiances, great pay and benifits its a dream job
Cons: long time to get there from town
I love working for barrick gold at there bald mountain mine. other then its location far away from the nearest town, To me is the ideal work place for anyone seeking a carrer in mining. Mining is a fun fast paced way to build up your experiance in operation of heavy equipment and other skills that follow the mining prosess. It was Barrrick gold that – more... offered me a chance to do so, and very greatfull that they did. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Technical Adviser (Current Employee), ZambiaMay 23, 2014
Pros: accommodation, flights, food
Cons: long hours, contract not renewed or transferred after being loyal and hardworking dissapointed
Great Company, good benefits.
Hardest part is that contract expired and was not relocated or offered a new contract.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very dificult, but rwarding
Superintendent (Current Employee), TanzaniaApril 1, 2014
Pros: the rotational leave
Cons: long hours
Working hours are very long as you work 12 hour shifts, and the spares are not readily available so good planninmg needs to be done as most spares are imported into the country
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The company is good to work for as I can work with anyone.
Shaftman/Hoist operator (Former Employee), Marathon, ONMarch 24, 2014
Pros: great overtime, vacations time off, and benifits
Cons: management.
Doing all safety checks on all equipment that we use.Contact supervisor if any problems noticed and solve those problems before operating hoist.I loved to work with all those around me.The hardest part of my job was to train people that didn't have the will to be trained.If I thought they were untrainable then I would deem them as such.I loved the responsibility – more... that came with the job in all areas. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Agreat learning experience in a 3rd world country
Process Maintenance Workshop Supervisor (Current Employee), Dominican RepublicMarch 21, 2014
Teaching the national people on a daily basis. The hardest part is the language barrier.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good company
Administrative Assistant to Senior Vice President (Current Employee), Toronto, ONFebruary 21, 2014
Pros: lunch and learn, all about the company in all parts of the world, gym membership
Over my long tenure here I have enjoyed but most importantly learned so much from fabulous bosses and co-workers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
working underground on dewatering equipment
Fitter (Former Employee), Kalgoorlie, WAJanuary 26, 2014
Pros: work vehile
Cons: long hours
fault finding newly invented pumping unit .aqua lung pump unit
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I am an experienced law enforcement and corporate security manager, instructor and investigator.
Senior Investigator/Supervisor (Former Employee), Toronto, ONJanuary 6, 2014
I have been in law enforcement and related fields my entire career. I find the work challenging and rewarding. Being bi-lingual, I have traveled extensively throughout Mexico, Central and South America. I have managed and supervised law enforcement and corporate security personnel throughout the US and Latin America.

I am an experienced law enforcement – more... and corporate security manager, investigator, and instructor. I am meticulous in my work ethic and responsible in time management. I have extensive training in law enforcement and a graduate of the Drug Enforcement Administration Basic Agent and Supervisor Academies. I am a graduate of the United States Army Military Police Polygraph School and the Reid School for Interview and Interrogation Techniques and the FBI Advanced Polygraph Studies at the University of Virginia.

I am a team player and as a manager take my responsibilities seriously. I am success driven in accomplishing my duties and inspire personnel under my command to always improve their duties and responsibilities and achieve success in their careers. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Managing all Capital Projects at Mine Site
Sr. Project Engineer (Former Employee), TanzaniaNovember 9, 2013
Pros: excellent working culture
Cons: located at remote place
1) Typical Day was when we completed the Plant Expansion Project within schedule and budget;
2) Learned more on the Project Risk Assessments; HAZOP studies;
3) Managing all the Capital Projects on the Mine Site;
4) Good Team;
5) Hardest Part was to manage the construction of houses in the community;
6) The Most Enjoyable part was to implement the Safety – more... culture and also was awarded as Safety Champion for the Year. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Is an active and enjoyable workplace!
Senior Electrical Supervisor (Technical Adviser) (Current Employee), Solwezi, ZambiaAugust 18, 2013
Pros: am made to feel like a key member of the maintenance team!
Cons: management changes; they leave vacuums!
Attend daily PSI safety meeting;
Ensure attendance by staff;
Get briefed by Section Superintendent;
Gather data from last 24 hours and present section activity report to Supt;
Attend daily production meeting and discuss 24 hour plan;
Inspection of active mining areas and any work by contractors on site;
Over-inspection of work area tasks as per maintenance – more... schedule;
Liaison with associated sections in provision of optimum availability of equipment for the operation i.e Supply Chain, Dewatering maintenance crew, Projects section etc.
Am available for after hours standby/call outs. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good dispatching optimises production
Dispatch Engineer (Current Employee), Porgera Gold MineJune 8, 2013
Pros: top graduate development program
Cons: roster 21/14 is too long
On a daily basis, job requires:
- daily production reporting, goes out before 8am
- pit graphics updates
- new blast patterns created/locations of shovels, drills, diggers, update in pit graphics Modular VNC
- cross check ore mining records in dispatch records with Geology spotter sheet to ensure that oreblocks, tonnages moved per locations are the – more... same.
- Drill and blast statistics (locations, drill pattern, meters drilled) entered into dispatch
- relief dispatcher in the hot sit
- enjoy the teamwork in the engineering team as well as operations
- in close communication with maintenance department, reporting defects and GPS problems with mining fleet
- provide support to operations through the LP dispatch screen summary to optimise production, factors considered include: haul cycle, dump queue, shovel hang, fuel consumption, etc. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I usually rank safety as paramount important
Process Technician (Current Employee), Papua New GuineaMay 20, 2013
Pros: free lunch
Cons: long hours
The Important thing I learnt at Work is;
1. Safety
2. Team Player
3. No Procastination
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sr. Project Controls Manager
Sr. Project Controls Manager (Current Employee), ArgentinaMay 15, 2013
Owner Project Controls Manager for the construction of $8.5B gold mine project. Responsible for planning, estimating, scheduling, cost, risk mitigation, and reporting for project. Daily interface with owner management teams, subcontractors, and large multi billion EPCM prime contractor. Supervisor for 30 owner staff and 50 indirect project controls – more... personnel. Achievements include the successful delivery of project work breakdown structure, definitive estimate with 26M direct craft labor hours, master schedule, baselines to report earned value, installed quantities, labor productivity and changes early to management. Successful in prioritizing, multi-tasking, and managing the large volume and pressures associated with a mega project. – less

About Barrick Gold Corporation

In the world of mining, Barrick's name is golden. The company became the world's #1 gold producer (ahead of Newmont Mining and – Read more

Barrick Gold Corporation Photos