Find companies:
Barrick Gold Corporation
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
86 reviews

Barrick Gold Corporation Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor Relocate
NA Drilling Services Mngr. Operations Manager (Former Employee), Elko, NevadaAugust 5, 2013
Pros: benefits, pay
Cons: unstable market
Relocated and let go in 4 months due to gold price reduction.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
inspired by new challenges or tasks
Mechanical Technician (Former Employee), lumwana siteJuly 16, 2013
Pros: free lunch and accomodation
Cons: free medical services
September 15 Th a week after joining barrick,i was part of the team that was assembling centrifugal pumps for cyclone feeders,
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place, Great Mentors.
Process Engineer (Former Employee), TorontoJuly 3, 2013
First mining job out of school. Great mentors. Caring, and took a personal interest in my development.

Good experience overall.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company
Haul Truck Driver (Current Employee), Winnemucca, NVJune 22, 2013
Barrick is a great place to work. Benefits are very good. Employees are well trained. Safety is taken very seriously.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dynamic workplace with great benefits
Ore Control Engineer (Current Employee), Elko, NVMay 25, 2013
Pros: benefits, good coworkers
Cons: very long commute
I work directly with a group of ore control engineers, short range planners, and operation supervisors. I've learned to work with several different management styles and personalities. My coworkers are competent and as a group are very efficient. Defining stockpile space and resolving conflicts with operation supervisors and other engineers is one of – more... the more challenging part of being an ore control engineer. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Barrick gold SUCKS
i (Former Employee), iMay 8, 2013
Pros: employee
Cons: employee
They can make good money but at the same time they are doing horrible things to mother nature, killing a lot of rivers and lakes worldwide, not to mention the pouring of a lot of cyanide and mercury all over the place..

People that work in this company have no remorse for the environment and how other people get sick..
BG SUCKS big time

In my country – more... 500 miners got sick with cyanide contamination last years..This means that eventually you will get sick as well because of the exposure.

If someone dont believe me., just check on the internet and you will find plenty of information..

That's why BG is one of the most hated companies in the world..

Say NO to Barrick Gold – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Serious work place
Consulting Senior Geologist (Current Employee), Cortez Gold Mines, NevadaApril 1, 2013
Barrick Gold Corp. is the largest gold mining company in the world. It is committed to upgrading the skills of its employees. As a consequence my job includes mentoring junior geologists. There is ample funding for some basic research such as thin section work and age dating. There is a strong emphasis on safety and environmnetal compliance.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Low productive
Contract Geologist (Former Employee), Marathon, ONMarch 4, 2013
the hardest part of the job:
1. lack of appropriate management due to inexperienced supervisor
2. admission to professional work (geologist) people without special education
3. admission to the geotechnical work people "from the street" - without the skills and understanding of the standards and work ethics
4 - admission to physically demanding work – more... of pregnant women – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Quarterly Bonuses
EQuipment Operator (Former Employee), Elko, NVSeptember 25, 2012
The hardest part of the job is fatigue. A typical day starts 3 hours before shift and ends about 3 hours after shift. Which equates to about 17 hour days. But, you only get paid for 12.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company to work with.
Site Services General Supervisor (Former Employee), Santo Domingo, PRJuly 9, 2012
Pros: follow all the safety rules.
Cons: non that i found.
Super Company to work for, it is one of the largest Gold Producer in the world. Pay on time and made sure the perople were train to do that.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The mine rescue has been very exciting and fun and has given me a lot of oppertunities.
Equipment operator (Current Employee), Barrick / CortezFebruary 26, 2012
Pros: lots of schooling and travel
Cons: being away from home
Barrick has a very extencive training program and they by top line equipment
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great People, work, experiances, great pay and benifits its a dream job
Mine ops operator (Current Employee), Bald mountain mine, NVFebruary 15, 2012
Pros: great people, work, experiances, great pay and benifits its a dream job
Cons: long time to get there from town
I love working for barrick gold at there bald mountain mine. other then its location far away from the nearest town, To me is the ideal work place for anyone seeking a carrer in mining. Mining is a fun fast paced way to build up your experiance in operation of heavy equipment and other skills that follow the mining prosess. It was Barrrick gold that – more... offered me a chance to do so, and very greatfull that they did. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work, Great benefits, very professional environment
IT Manager (Former Employee), Toronto, ONOctober 12, 2014
Pros: benefits, salary, travelling, work with people from other cultures, management is very engaged and open, safety culture.
Is a really good place to work., highly professional, fast pace and a lot of stress (on a good way).
Place to show all your talent and to improve every day.
Very professional environment and also good culture.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The company [Barrick] was good to work for I will work for them again
Process Technician (Former Employee), lawler west australiaSeptember 22, 2014
Pros: food was good
Cons: long hours but enjoyable
It was a very good company to work for. my co-workers all work hard to keep this site enjoyable I work at a mine site that barrack own and sold it to other company and ever body on site lost there jobs
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Admin Consultant
Administrative Consultant (Former Employee), Bucharest, Romania - UK OfficeAugust 31, 2014
Pros: very relaxed environment
Cons: relocated to usa
great place to work. amazing company/team. travelling. paid training.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Technical Adviser (Current Employee), ZambiaMay 23, 2014
Pros: accommodation, flights, food
Cons: long hours, contract not renewed or transferred after being loyal and hardworking dissapointed
Great Company, good benefits.
Hardest part is that contract expired and was not relocated or offered a new contract.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very dificult, but rwarding
Superintendent (Current Employee), TanzaniaApril 1, 2014
Pros: the rotational leave
Cons: long hours
Working hours are very long as you work 12 hour shifts, and the spares are not readily available so good planninmg needs to be done as most spares are imported into the country
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The company is good to work for as I can work with anyone.
Shaftman/Hoist operator (Former Employee), Marathon, ONMarch 24, 2014
Pros: great overtime, vacations time off, and benifits
Cons: management.
Doing all safety checks on all equipment that we use.Contact supervisor if any problems noticed and solve those problems before operating hoist.I loved to work with all those around me.The hardest part of my job was to train people that didn't have the will to be trained.If I thought they were untrainable then I would deem them as such.I loved the responsibility – more... that came with the job in all areas. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Agreat learning experience in a 3rd world country
Process Maintenance Workshop Supervisor (Current Employee), Dominican RepublicMarch 21, 2014
Teaching the national people on a daily basis. The hardest part is the language barrier.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good company
Administrative Assistant to Senior Vice President (Current Employee), Toronto, ONFebruary 21, 2014
Pros: lunch and learn, all about the company in all parts of the world, gym membership
Over my long tenure here I have enjoyed but most importantly learned so much from fabulous bosses and co-workers.

About Barrick Gold Corporation

In the world of mining, Barrick's name is golden. The company became the world's #1 gold producer (ahead of Newmont Mining and – Read more

Barrick Gold Corporation Photos