Barstow Unified School District Employee Reviews

Showing all 16 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A decent place to start a career in teaching.
Teacher (Former Employee) –  Barstow, CAOctober 18, 2013
A typical day would entail me arriving 30-60 min before school started. I would use this time to make copies for the student lessons, go over my lesson plans for the day, and other things to prepare to teach. I would teach my students a variety of lessons throughout the day, like Language Arts, Math, Science, Social Studies, Science and PE. I would maintain classroom control and exercise discipline whenever necessary.At the end of the day sometimes I would have parent conferences, staff meetings, meet with other co-workers, clean up the classroom, grade papers, record work, file papers, make phone calls to parents, and prepare for the lessons the next day. One of the hard parts of teaching is keeping control of the students in classroom while teaching and having to discipline them when they acted up. The administration was usually supportive. My co-workers were very supportive and helpful. We operated as a team as best we could. The part of my job I enjoyed the least was the many hours outside of work spent preparing lessons and grading work. The most enjoyable part of my job was the actual teaching and interacting with my students.
Pros
supportive staff and parents
Cons
health benefits and the cost
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Postive environment
Librarian (Former Employee) –  BarstowAugust 25, 2015
The most enjoyable part of working in B.U.S.D. is working amongst children. It is inspiring to see children work so hard and noticing their improvements throughout the years.
Pros
Upbeat environment
Cons
Not enough hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Facinating place to work
Noon-Duty Supervisor/Para Educator (Current Employee) –  Barstow, CaliforniaJuly 15, 2015
I love working with children and working as a Para Educator for Barstow Unified School District is a perfect place to do that!

Each day is not only a learning experience but a blessing with supportive co workers and intreresting personalities.
Pros
Working with children and learning from them
Cons
Not enough hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Food Services- Fun, Fast Paced
food service worker (Former Employee) –  allMay 10, 2012
Great environment, Fun Place to work, management time was family oriented and friendly. Learned new skills and promotions are available if pursued.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A very freindly palce to work
paraeductor (Current Employee) –  Barstow CaMay 17, 2015
A very friendly place to work. People are nice and willing to help. My hours are perfect for balancing both my job and family.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Work Day
Substitute Teacher (Former Employee) –  Barstow, CAJuly 31, 2012
Make sure all technicians have parts and other orders received, open mail, communicate with employees regarding daily planning. Use propriatory system to enter parts received and not completed. Used system to accept capital equipment. Order supplies for customers by phone order or cash order. Inventory of all stock and equipment.
Pros
friendly people in home office to assist as needed
Cons
company bought
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Small Town Environment
Educational Administrator (Former Employee) –  Barstow, CAFebruary 12, 2015
This is a good place to be able to become a teacher. The students need help and the community will embrace you if you are good.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent School Culture
Education Specialist (Current Employee) –  Barstow, CAJuly 2, 2014
It has been a pleasure and a privilege working at BUSD. I heve been teaching core classes to our mild to moderate special education population in a SDC type setting. I have also been in charge of teaching one period of TPP/Workability at ouur school.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fulfilling
Para Educator SN (Current Employee) –  Barstow, CAApril 30, 2014
Working at Lenwood Elementary was very fulfilling. I worked with grades ranging from Kindergarten to fifth and the kids gave me something to smile about daily. So many different personalities and learning experiences that I wouldn't take back!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and exciting place to work for
Teacher (Former Employee) –  Lenwood ElementaryJuly 12, 2013
Never a dull moment. Depending on the principal depends on the rigors of the school site
Pros
flexible work schedules
Cons
long drive
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast and eager learner, works well with others.
Office Assistant (Former Employee) –  Barstow, CASeptember 29, 2014
I would love to be able to utilize my EMT skills in a setting that would benefit my emoployer.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Special Education Teacher/Administrator
Principal on Assignment (Current Employee) –  Barstow, CaliforniaJune 16, 2012
Have enjoyed working within the Barstow Unified School District for the last eleven years.
Pros
staff and students
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good secure job
Food Service Worker (Former Employee) –  high school and crestlineOctober 2, 2013
loved working with my son. the hours were good. union was awesome
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun learning experiance
Food Service Worker I/ sub (Current Employee) –  Barstow, CAMay 22, 2012
it is a fun job, good co-workers, new things to learn.
feed students and staff.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Teachers!
Para-Educator (Former Employee) –  Barstow, CAJune 5, 2013
The Teachers in this little community really care about their students!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Overall rating

4.6
Based on 16 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.5
Compensation/Benefits
4.2
Job Security/Advancement
4.4
Management
3.9
Culture
4.3

Barstow Unified School District Reviews by Location