Bartlett Tree Experts Employee Reviews

Found 20 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good learning experience for me while in school
Intern (Former Employee) –  Charlottesville, VAJanuary 18, 2017
Safety is first when it comes to Bartlett. Hard work but very worth it. Small staff numbers so you get to know everyone pretty well. Might do multiple jobs during one day, or you might do one job for several days. Depends on task at hand
Pros
Give out proper PPE and uniforms, along with free Gatorade punches.
Cons
N/A
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good company to work for.
Groundsman (Former Employee) –  Pleasant Hill, CAJanuary 10, 2017
They have good bosses, good team leaders and they work good with others. They're very understanding and care about you.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Supervising Foreman (Former Employee) –  Osterville, MAJanuary 6, 2017
i worked here almost 20 years ago. i enjoyed managing a crew and taking care of trees. i was doing some sales before i left. i wanted to get out of production and into sales
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very rewarding
ARBORIST REPRESENTATIVE (Current Employee) –  Southampton, NYDecember 6, 2016
Lots of moving parts but very rewarding. Be outside and work with nature. Tons of training and focus on safety. Area for growth and advancement. Great company to work for.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Location and Great People
Crew Member (Former Employee) –  Savannah, GASeptember 20, 2016
Fantastic company with truly inspiring personnel. The work is tough but with the right team and preparation most any job could be completed. The day starts at 7:00 am and could last until 6:00 pm. The nature of tree and shrub care can be very demanding physically especially in such a hot and humid environment. Extra measures were taken to ensure healthy working conditions for all employees. The management style was firm yet encouraging. You will learn basic skills typical of arborculture.
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work outside every day
Plant Healthcare Specialist (Current Employee) –  San Gabriel, CAApril 26, 2016
Every day is different, but always outside. Arrive, gather tools and prepare trucks for departure. Navigate to destination, usually the home of a client or a business campus. Complete items listed on a work order, whether it be pruning, planting, removing, or treating trees for pests or nutrient deficiencies. Clean up and return to shop.
Pros
Steady work with opportunity for overtime pay.
Cons
Poor management, work load often too heavy.
Was this review helpful?Yes5No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unpredictable schedule
Climber (Current Employee) –  Savannah, GAFebruary 9, 2016
Work schedules are unpredictable, but jobs are satisfying when completed. Great Bosses to work for (which seems crazy to say)!
Was this review helpful?Yes6No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great crews, poor leadership
Arborist Representative (Former Employee) –  Danbury, CTJanuary 28, 2016
Great place to work if you are one of the favorite sons in the old boys network. BTE likes ALL their arborist reps to walk lock step and NOT question anything. They want their A/R's to act like a marionette and say how high when they say jump.

Existing management was thrown into a role that they are not equipped to handle, and even cried during a meeting with his colleagues. If you do anything that existing mgmt doesn't like, or more importantly doesn't understand, you are labeled as 'shady' and if you complain too much you're a malcontent. Management constantly talks behind the arborist reps backs and stirs the speculation pot. I have never wworked for a company that leaves management in place after they tried to quit 2x within a 6 month period, made one employee so miserable (CT) that he asked for a transfer, made another employee (BR) so unhappy he left, and made his colleagues so miserable that they had to have an impromptu meeting with the division VP to try and resolve their issues, and continues to state that they hate sales.

They don't want to hear any new ideas and when you bring any up they get swept under the rug because mgmt feels threatened. Senior mgmt always holds over your head how much they're paying you as a way to motivate you. They micromanage you to death and always have you fill out tracking spreadsheets so they can track where you are every second of the day. If you like being lead around by the nose and have no backbone this may be the place for you!
Pros
Little office time
Cons
Poor management, weak leadership, micromanagement
Was this review helpful?Yes19No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work place but, very pretentious
Arborist Rep - ISA Certified (Former Employee) –  Stamford, CTOctober 7, 2015
Very pretentious work environment management unwilling to hear new ideas, fixed in their own methods and unwilling to change. Cost of service provided is at the upper most end of the market leaving little or no room for growth through competition.
Pros
good training
Cons
no scheduled brakes
Was this review helpful?Yes12No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good job for a young man who appreciates the value of a hard day's work!
Crew Foreman (Former Employee) –  Danbury, CTJuly 8, 2015
I enjoyed this career and this company immensely. The manage-ment was wonderful, for the most part, as they were mostly people who started at the bottom. The co-workers, most of them, were great guys who could make a long, hot, tough day fun.
Pros
working out of doors
Cons
VERY hot in summer and VERY cold in winter
Was this review helpful?Yes8No8Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A love hate job
Arborist (Current Employee) –  Cincinnati, OHFebruary 5, 2015
Love doing tree work but organization and communication is very poor at this office. They have very nice equipment and provide you with what you need to get the job done.
Was this review helpful?Yes7No6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional Tree Service
Foreman/ IPM Technician (Former Employee) –  Charleston, SCAugust 20, 2014
Bartlett Tree Experts is a large company located in many US states as well as internationally.

The company is very well organized and provides adequate employee training
Was this review helpful?Yes10No7Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work environment
Plant Health Care Specialist/General Tree Worker (Current Employee) –  Portland, ORAugust 1, 2014
Great people and place to work. Leader in the tree industry with a great deal of valuable information and cutting-edge research with a very large aboretum and staff.
Was this review helpful?Yes9No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible place to work
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Seekonk, riJune 27, 2014
Be aware of their politics...Favoritism and horrible place to work.
Was this review helpful?Yes20No11Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company from what I could tell
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Cohasset, MAFebruary 27, 2014
I was only there for a short time so I didn't really get the full feel from it.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No17Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Place to work, Management was not well, or organized.
Arborist, Climber, Bucket Operator (Former Employee) –  Hanover, MANovember 18, 2013
This company was once a good place to work, but its unfortunate that The Big Bosse's put people in charge that should not have been in there positions... Not much experience to lead a Company into the future.
Pros
Co-Workers
Cons
Unskilled Management, and Sales people.. Not enough hour's
Was this review helpful?Yes19No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very fun group of people to work with
Spray Technician (Former Employee) –  Northbrook, ILNovember 5, 2013
Inject trees with a pesticide chemical to help suppress or prevent dutch elm disease or Emerald Ash Borer. I learned how to dilute concentrated chemicals and how to take orders and complete them by the end of a day. Have to work efficiently, but diligently to stay on time with appointments. Management did a great job supplying the employees with the correct equipment. The hardest part of the work was the manual labor or making sure the holes I drilled didn't leak. The most enjoyable part of the job was being outside and being able to work with great people.
Pros
working outside, bonuses
Was this review helpful?Yes15No5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Diverse daily activities
ARBORIST REPRESENTATIVE (Former Employee) –  McDonald, PAJuly 25, 2013
I started the day at 6:30am and typically ended around 4:30, then I would work at night finishing proposals. I learned time management and organizational skills are very important. I managed 4 men on a daily basis while assisting with the other 14 employees. I was responsible for the company incentive plan and overseeing the plant health care division (40% of business). The hardest part of the job was ensuring that I met the projections set forth for me. The most enjoyable part of the job was interacting with the clients and everyday I was faced with something different.
Pros
company car with fuel card
Cons
no company credit card
Was this review helpful?Yes10No7Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Work place
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Finksburg, MDApril 24, 2013
I learned a lot at this job as far as bookkeeping and trees and shrubs. I staff there were excellent to work with.
Pros
learned alot of different subjects
Was this review helpful?Yes9No9Report

See more Bartlett Tree Experts reviews

You may want to try:

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Bartlett Tree Experts. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 23 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.6
Compensation/Benefits
3.9
Job Security/Advancement
3.4
Management
3.6
Culture
3.7