Bartlett Tree Experts Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
management
Tree Trimmer (Former Employee) –  Marshall, VAOctober 26, 2017
Management needs some serious help. A lot of cut throat going on within the reps and manger. Other than that the job itself is not bad you can make good money if youre willing to get your cdl,spray license. But its very fast paced but truly relies on the rep and how he adds up labor hours drive time etc
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Seasonal Office Help
OFFICE ASSISTANT (Former Employee) –  Atlanta, GAOctober 24, 2017
I occasionally helped out around the office and I always loved being there. All of the people there were easy to talk to, the culture of the company seemed very easy-going while still producing quality work.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard work with great pay
Groundsman (Former Employee) –  Williamsburg, VAOctober 17, 2017
If you like to work hard and take pride in your work, this company is for you. It is challenging and exciting with changing situations everyday. You will have to get out of your comfort zone to be successful with this company.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed working for Bartlett
Arborist Climber (Current Employee) –  VirginiaSeptember 13, 2017
While the work isn't for everyone, it is a great career for anyone who enjoys working with their hands and outdoors. I was able to learn how to climb, operate a bucket truck, use a chainsaw, identify trees and shrubs, and picked up technical rigging skills. Bartlett also payed for me to get my CDL and Pesticide License.
Pros
Outdoors, training, career
Cons
Working in cold weather
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard work with a safe culture
Arborist (Former Employee) –  Charlotte, NCSeptember 4, 2017
Physically demanding manual labor with adequate compensation will make you prove your worth before advancement and bonuses are available. PTO available after one year, decent medical benefits, and savings plans to help you budget your paycheck.
Managers are ready to assist with anything you may need, and always have work to be done.
Pros
positive culture
Cons
long hours, pay was not high enough
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Company is stuck in the 70s
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Elsmere, DESeptember 2, 2017
Computer programs are outdated; management has no respect for females in the office. Job description when hired was very customer service oriented yet actual position was approximately 80% computer data processing.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Most professional tree care company
Ground Person (Current Employee) –  Waltham, MAAugust 24, 2017
Bartlett has unlimited resources for training and professional development. I didn't realize until I started working at Bartlett, that they really are a standout company compared to the other big players in the industry.

You get out what you put in. Management wants to help you succeed if you are willing to put in the work.
Pros
Work outdoors, physical labor, caring for trees
Cons
Inconsistent hours, work in cold and hot weather
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to promote Arborculture
LOCAL MANAGER / HEAD ARBORIST (Former Employee) –  1111 Roan Ave.July 12, 2017
I worked for Bartlett for 10 years. As a company of Arboriculture, it is my option, that they are by far the best company to work for. Bartlett cares about training their employees, putting them in the right role, and most of all, their safety.
Pros
Great Benifits, great training!
Cons
You are gonna have to really work for it!
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best in the tree care industry
Crew Leader (Current Employee) –  Beaufort, SCJune 7, 2017
Bartlett is the best in the industry in training and safety. A great place to start at bottom or make a career. Always a safe and productive day of work. Some of the best arborist in the business.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent work environment
Tree Climber (Former Employee) –  Runnemede, NJMay 20, 2017
I enjoyed working for Bartlett tree experts. I Learned a tremendous amount of information in the tree care industry and also the ability to climb and prune trees without killing them.
Pros
Consistent work
Cons
non
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
excellent work place
Plant Health Specialist (Current Employee) –  Williamsburg, VAMay 6, 2017
Very nice company to work for. Excellent work environment .Committed to safety in every aspect of work and personal life. Everyday and weekly review of safety procedures.
Pros
Work trainining and safety are a priority
Cons
Hard work
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great first job out of college
Ex groundy (Former Employee) –  NYApril 30, 2017
They pay college graduates top wage right out the gate with no experience! The rest of us who physically work our butts off to get where we are, get the shaft. As long as you look good on paper, you'll make top wage with this company. If you're a hard working veteran tree worker, be prepared for greenhorns that have never had a physical job, can't run ropes, have never used a rake, and make nearly as much as you!
Pros
Unlimited approved gear
Cons
Always training new guys who always move on
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bartlett Tree Experts was founded in 1907 by Francis A. Bartlett and is the world’s leading scientific tree and shrub care company.
Arborist (Former Employee) –  Fredericksburg, VAApril 28, 2017
From its nearly 100 offices worldwide, Bartlett helps both residential and commercial customers maintain beautiful, healthy trees. In addition, as a government contractor, we offer competitive bids and provide quality tree service with timely implementation.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall strong work ethic and productivity. A pleasure working with them!
Arborist Assistant (Former Employee) –  Odenton, MDMarch 15, 2017
As a new addition to the team they took special care to influence me in an encouraging manner. The days were long and hard but all members stayed calm and collect, even though at times everyone was aggravated due to the nature of the work.
Pros
Knowledge of the plants gear, machines and animals we worked around.
Cons
Even if it over 100 degrees, we still went out there and cut those trees down.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to work hard
Plant Health Care Specialist (Current Employee) –  Wolfeboro, NHMarch 2, 2017
Culture is largely dependent on what office you work at, but anywhere you'll be putting in many long, hard, but rewarding days. You're pretty much guaranteed to be working outside everyday!
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good learning experience for me while in school
Intern (Former Employee) –  Charlottesville, VAJanuary 18, 2017
Safety is first when it comes to Bartlett. Hard work but very worth it. Small staff numbers so you get to know everyone pretty well. Might do multiple jobs during one day, or you might do one job for several days. Depends on task at hand
Pros
Give out proper PPE and uniforms, along with free Gatorade punches.
Cons
N/a
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good company to work for.
Groundsman (Former Employee) –  Pleasant Hill, CAJanuary 10, 2017
They have good bosses, good team leaders and they work good with others. They're very understanding and care about you.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Supervising Foreman (Former Employee) –  Osterville, MAJanuary 6, 2017
i worked here almost 20 years ago. i enjoyed managing a crew and taking care of trees. i was doing some sales before i left. i wanted to get out of production and into sales
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very rewarding
ARBORIST REPRESENTATIVE (Current Employee) –  Southampton, NYDecember 6, 2016
Lots of moving parts but very rewarding. Be outside and work with nature. Tons of training and focus on safety. Area for growth and advancement. Great company to work for.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Location and Great People
Crew Member (Former Employee) –  Savannah, GASeptember 20, 2016
Fantastic company with truly inspiring personnel. The work is tough but with the right team and preparation most any job could be completed. The day starts at 7:00 am and could last until 6:00 pm. The nature of tree and shrub care can be very demanding physically especially in such a hot and humid environment. Extra measures were taken to ensure healthy working conditions for all employees. The management style was firm yet encouraging. You will learn basic skills typical of arborculture.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Bartlett Tree Experts. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 44 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.6
Compensation/Benefits
3.8
Job Security/Advancement
3.5
Management
3.6
Culture
3.8