BASF Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
prosuction
Warehouse Material Handler, Machine Operator (Former Employee) –  Huntsville, ALNovember 2, 2017
great company to work for with a great staff and well maintained environment to work in, safety is a huge part at this employer and it is very important to all employess
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
To much work to do for each day needed to stay over to compete asignments
Senior Electrical maintance (Former Employee) –  Newport, DENovember 1, 2017
Poor management and supervisors will not stand behine you when you become over worked with
Daily dutys / fall back on safety concerns when it favors them . And then blame you for it ! No management help .
Pros
Everybody treated the same bad
Cons
There is no help from the upper management
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Support from co-workers
Security Officer (Former Employee) –  Freeport, TXOctober 30, 2017
Check in with last shift and check out equipment
Learned how to make sure personnel and equipment entering and leaving the plant was safely checked
Management was helpful
Co-workers worked together very well together
Working in bad weather
Working with everyone and know we protected the plant
Pros
Great co-workers
Cons
Working in bad weather
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Complex Organization Needs Simplification
Manager (Current Employee) –  Wyandotte, MIOctober 28, 2017
Company has too many systems and processes and simplification is needed. At times, it is difficult to get my job done. You don't always know who to go to or what role people have. This is very frustrating and time-consuming at times.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not a great place to work but benefits are nice
PLANT OPERATOR (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXOctober 26, 2017
This place is hard labor and doesn't pay enough for what they ask you to do. Management is very poorly operated and their isn't any place for promotions or raises.
Pros
benefits
Cons
dirty workplace, hot, cold, dusty, poor pay, poor managment, no raises and hard labor
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exciting, productive, and enjoyable company
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Florham Park, NJOctober 26, 2017
BASF is a large international chemical company that" does not make the product but makes the product better". Every time I see that advertisement on TV it makes me proud that I once was employed with them. It has offices all over the world.
BASF is a great company with fantastic benefits where the opportunities are endless. Hard work will get to everywhere. They provide all the tools to be successful.
Pros
Amazing company - great benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Large Corporation
Group Cost and Inventory Manager (Former Employee) –  Troy, MIOctober 26, 2017
One of the largest chemical companies in the world. However, they treated each employee as more than a number. Unfortunately, at the time they were moving finance and accounting personnel to New Jersey.
Pros
Structure
Cons
Don't have any
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Want to go back to BASH fulltime......
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Madison, ALOctober 25, 2017
My position was temporary. Surprised that most of the employees came via temp agency. That let me know they allow all to get a change to earn an income.
Treated like I was an adult and was allowed to express my manager skills. The staff was great and they welcomed each that attended. I would like to earn a full-time job with BASG
Pros
treated like an adult and all had great humor.
Cons
need more breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Way too much money spent on free lunches
Administrative Assistant II (Current Employee) –  Wyandotte, MIOctober 25, 2017
I would not recommend working there as a contract employee. You are not allowed any time off and have no benefits. Management in the maintenance department is a complete moron. I'm not sure how he got that position.
Pros
free lunches
Cons
great if your not a contract worker
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
People are great
Advanced Chemical Operator Level 3 (Current Employee) –  Seneca, SCOctober 24, 2017
Even though BASF is much improved over the years. It is slow to act on spoken culture changes. Employee involvement is encouraged but not always welcomed.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Stong Company
EHS Account Manager (Current Employee) –  TexasOctober 24, 2017
BASF is a very strong stable company. It continues to grow in the very competitive Chemical industry. For a young professional, BASF offers a vast array of opportunities.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working for BASF is a joke
Chemical Plant Operator II (Current Employee) –  Wyandotte, MIOctober 21, 2017
Working for BASF is a joke unless you happen to be an engineer or something of the sort. They underpay, especially considering when you're expected to deal with the most hazardous products on site. Upper management could care less about you, you're just a number to them.
Pros
Decent healthcare.
Cons
Poor management, underpaid.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work culture
Outside Sales Representative (Current Employee) –  South Field, MIOctober 20, 2017
Neat place to work with a lot of benefits and lots of varied challenges. The teams are forward thinking and give a lot of weight diverse ways of thinking.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work place. No advancement.
Production/Forklift Operator (Former Employee) –  Lincoln Park, MIOctober 19, 2017
BASF is a great company to work for if youre hired in full time. Not as a temp. Unfortunately I was told the location I was working at was not planning on hiring full time employees for two years. At this point I needed benefits and decided to look else where.
Pros
Paid lunch.
Cons
Dirty/unhealthy job, under paid.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Internship
Production Engineering Intern (Former Employee) –  Palmyra, MOOctober 11, 2017
I was exposed to and learned a lot. It was an excellent opportunity to learn about the field of engineering, I was given some challenging assignments and received a lot of support from my managers,
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Place
Payroll Specialist (Former Employee) –  Florham Park, NJOctober 11, 2017
Really fun place to work, you may want to work there one day. Hopefully I will get to work there again. It's a really relaxed place just a joy to work for.
Pros
fun
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome facility to work at with great staff & opportunity
Quality Inspector/Assembler (Former Employee) –  Wyandotte, MI 48192October 10, 2017
A great company to work for with amazing career advancement options. Very safe & proffessional environment. I learned about many skills & aspects of careers that were very worth learning that I will keep forever. It's a shame I had to resign due to scheduling issues.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Chemical Operator
Chemical Operator (Current Employee) –  Kankakee, ILOctober 8, 2017
I enjoy going to work every day. Working with others as a team.
Always learning new things. Inspecting, loading and unloading tanks.
Add chemicals as needed.
Pros
Working with knowledgeable people
Cons
Swing shift
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced and very physical
Assembly Technician (Former Employee) –  Wyandotte, MIOctober 8, 2017
The place is very fast paced and a physical place to work at. If youre working in the plant that makes the shock mounts, it can get pretty hot. The employees are very friendly.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work place experience
light duty utility operator (Former Employee) –  Huntsville, ALOctober 7, 2017
BASF paid good money to there employees, but only 30 minute lunches, draft to take multiple days you had off, and in some cases you were stuck in the same position.
Pros
good money, great associates
Cons
long hours, draft to take one ot two of your days off
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at BASF. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.2
Based on 1,471 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.0
Compensation/Benefits
4.1
Job Security/Advancement
3.6
Management
3.7
Culture
4.0