Find companies:
BASF
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
307 reviews

BASF Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
pofessional
process technician (Current Employee), chattanoogaMarch 18, 2014
good job doesn't promote employee basic on skills like working 12 hour rotation
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a family company like they say...
Machine Operator (Former Employee), Huntsville, ALMarch 17, 2014
(Former employee)
A typical day there was like any other day...supervisors spying on you through the cameras and never giving credit when credit was due! I loved my job but the management there never does their job how it is actually suppose to be done...people getting terminated for things that happened a year ago, people acting like kids and tattling, – more... never getting the opportunity to advance anywhere, jobs were easy but this company gives temps false hope by telling them they will hire them but end up firing them and they allow people to curse and harass others and just overlook it!! You work within a few feet of others and you get in trouble for talking to your neighbors and it is very hard to get another job after you work there!!!
I would suggest that people look past this place...yes, the money was good but there is NO job security here and you will never top out here!! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee), Florham ParkMarch 14, 2014
• Assist Manager and team with creating power point presentations and report administration Other general activities include answering telephone, photocopying, scanning, faxing, mailing, and filing Maintain department subscriptions
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Be aware...Poor managment
Technican (Former Employee), Huntsville, ALMarch 12, 2014
Pros: the people you work with are great...
Cons: no advancement...
There is NO room for growth at BASF. I spend 6+ years there trying to advance but managment is geared to keep seasoned people in their current job and if you bulk the system, you become a target. Most of managment are not degreed so they are very intimidated when it comes to the educated. I have seen first hand, supervisors skeem and underhandedly fire – more... people because they knew more than them... Now they are suffering... Don't see the company surviving more than two years... – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace with good benefits
Instrument Technician (Current Employee), Freeport, TXMarch 9, 2014
Pros: co-workers and tools to work with.
Cons: pay
Toubleshoot and repair instrumentation.
Co-workers are great help and friends.
Management is helpful and easy to work with.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A necessary evil
Production Associate (Former Employee), Huntsville, ALMarch 6, 2014
Pros: 401k matching, built in overtime
Cons: mid level managers
Well a typical day at work was actually enjoyable. When the goals for the day are clear and practical, the local site wasn't bad to work for. My co-workers and IMMEDIATE supervisors were probably some the best people I've been around in my life. Some had below average work ethics, some had strong work ethics so it kind of balanced itself out. In the – more... past, management has always been top heavy, meaning there were way too many mid to upper level managers. Presently, it has been trimmed, but some of the managers feel as if they have to set a tone or make an example out of people. I don't like the policy concerning temporary workers. They work them hard for a year, then dismiss them. Everyone including full time employees feel expendable, so there is a "get down or lay down" philosophy that surrounds that place now. Also, the communication out there flat out sucks. People that work 6 feet from each other, whose job depend on each other, don't talk, making it harder for a lot of other people. Globally, BASF is one, if not the best company one can work for. Locally? Well its a necessary evil. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
VERY GOOD PLACE TO WORK ,
Lab Technician (Current Employee), Seneca, SCMarch 4, 2014
Pros: 8 hr shifts
Cons: slow progression of moving up
JOB IS OK, BUT HARD TO MOVE UP, UNLESS YOU HAVE A DEGREE, SO GOOD BUT HAS FLAWS
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
BASF have great benefits and a competitive compensation
Materials Coordinator (Current Employee), Pasadena, TXFebruary 25, 2014
Pros: competitive compensation
Cons: job eliminations
* I have attended classes for Leadership and how to work with people and become a Yellow Belt in Six Sigma
* There are great co-workers here.
* The most enjoyable part of my job is projects to work more efficiently
* The management does a good job in removing obstacles in order for you to complete your job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
Director, Controlling (Current Employee), Raleigh-Durham, NCFebruary 24, 2014
Long term business focus with strong focus on employee development and training. Great place to work and build a meaningful career.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very health and safety conscious
Production Operator (Current Employee), Seneca, SCFebruary 19, 2014
Good place to work for. I'm just afraid of the long term affects from all of the hazardous chemicals.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun to work for
Project Manager Southwest Region (Former Employee), Geismar, LAFebruary 4, 2014
Pros: nothing
Cons: nothing
Nothing
Telephone system installation and repair
Good
Hard workers
Nothing
Going on service calls
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and productive workplace
Export Project Manager (Former Employee), PARISFebruary 1, 2014
Monitoring all the progress of the Project including: Project Planning and Progress Monitoring Contracting Management of Assessment Phase Support Studies
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Job, Job security, overtime, and some advancements possible.
Chemical Production Operator (Current Employee), Freeport, TXJanuary 30, 2014
Pros: process i work with in my unit is somewhat reliable.
Cons: compensation and being short on experienced employees
Shift work operator, relive working crew and communicate about work done and work that needs to be done. Any problems and changes made to the system. Look over system and trouble shoot if needed, run samples and analysis on chemical products for QA. Write permits for any work needed in my unit. Management is good, they involve the operators in most – more... of the changes in the production system. Co-workers are team players and willing to help out when needed. Hardest part of the job is being short handed most of the time due to lack of experienced hands in my unit, work life balance with home life due to the amount of overtime needed to cover shifts. Most enjoyable part of the job is the people I work with, they are better than most places I have been employed at. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Production Oriented
Part Time/ Temporary Data Entry Specialist (Former Employee), Grand Prairie, TXJanuary 29, 2014
Pros: knowledgeable co-workers; close to my house
Cons: was not able to be hired on
Learned to be prepared for anything and everything to happen in one day.
No 2 days are the same
Family Atmosphere
Always someone 1 phone call/ 1 instant message away to answer any questions.
The actual hardest part of my job was not being able to be there everyday. Physically - the hardest part was lifting product.
The most enjoyable part was resolving – more... customers concerns. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Incredible company to work for
Continuous Improvement Engineer (Current Employee), Port Arthur, TXJanuary 26, 2014
Pros: wonderful work/life balance and compensation.
Cons: cycles through management relatively quickly.
BASF is an incredible company to work for. While each site is quite different, the company is wonderful with great programs and strategies set in place. Job security within the industry is quite high as well.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work for as long as the economy is good.
Technical Service Representative - (Former Employee), Southfield, MIJanuary 26, 2014
Pros: lots of free lunches and travel opportunities
Cons: bad economy
I enjoyed my years working for BASF. They moved me several times over my 8 years with them.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Site Manager
Manager Customer Services (Former Employee), Mount Olive, NJJanuary 22, 2014
Pros: enjoyed serving the employees of the company and my immediate management
Cons: being laid off, in my opinion, due to world events, my deployments and their business management philosophy.
I started with BASF in 1984 at 19 years old, in their mailroom. I immediately began night school for my degree. I worked my way up through all the positions associated with Facilities Management and eventually became site manager for our 210,000 Square foot facility. I received my degree and also began working as part of the team building the north – more... american corporate headquarters. We moved in in 1994. one million square feet, 3000 employees, 154 acres. I was responsible for the safety, environmental issues, security, public relations, crisis management. I was part of the team that ran this mega facility. We also had a corporate jet where I was responsible to train, maintain and comply with various regulations. I enjoyed this job tremendously. I was still involved in the army reserves and up until 9/11, it was basically transparent to BASF. After 9/11, I had three deployments. They opted to let me go during my third. world events have calmed since then and my military career is nearing its end. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent people and place to work
Technician (Contractor) (Former Employee), Research Triangle Park, NCJanuary 9, 2014
Pros: excellent work envrioment
Cons: a lot of contract work only.
Very safety minded and culture events for employees. Gained valuable skills and knowledge. Great people to work with.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, safe environment to work in
BASF EM-H R&D intern (Former Employee), Charlotte, NCJanuary 8, 2014
I enjoyed working at BASF due to the exposure to many aspects of a global company. I also enjoyed the safe environments that BASF provided.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
LABORATORY TECHNICIAN (Former Employee), Seneca, SCJanuary 7, 2014
My typical dat work is to do a lot of testing everyday. I've learned how to mix chemicals. My co-workers were all good to me and the management as well. The hardest part of the job was seems everything is always on the rush and you have to keep up with it and the most enjoyable part is working with people.

About BASF

BASF is the world’s leading chemical company – The Chemical Company. With about 112,000 employees, six Verbund sites – Read more