Find companies:
BASF
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
328 reviews

BASF Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
World class place to work, until they sold the company.
Extrusion Operator (Former Employee), Anderson, SCNovember 23, 2013
Pros: good people
Cons: when they sold out we were all sad.
good job and good money, Team work was required and most of the time everyone worked well together. We all hoped to retire there.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Is a good company with great benefits
Maintenance Mechanic (Current Employee), Brighton, CONovember 22, 2013
Pros: benefits
Cons: no overtime and exposure to chemicals
I enjoy working at BASF but I have had problems working around the chemicals with skin issues. I enjoy working on the graveyard shift but it would be better to be allowed some overtime.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High caliber talent throughout the company
Product Regulation (Current Employee), Southfield, MINovember 16, 2013
Pros: flexible schedules
Cons: too many uncertainties on contract workers
BASF is a an excellent place to develop a great network of contacts inside a highly technical environment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Workplace with focus on work and life balance
Demand Planning Manager -Catalysts Global (Current Employee), Iselin, NJNovember 11, 2013
Pros: wokr from home days
Cons: long hours, challenging business financially
Daily reports, reviewing of direct reports finidings, trainings, meetings, systems access, making high level ecalations of daily issues. Coworkers easy to talk to and willing to share information as we are allon the same team. Management allows me to work with autonomy. Most difficult part of the job is getting acclimated to chemistry applications coming – more... from retial. Most enjoyable part of the job is there never a day that I don't learn or teach something. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people
Admin (Current Employee), Evans City, PANovember 7, 2013
Pros: benefits
Cons: downsizing
Used to be a great place to work but has gone down hill since they have downsized
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
VERY PRODUCTIVE
Senior Stores Clerk (Former Employee), McIntyre, GANovember 5, 2013
I was over shipping and enjoyed my job. I liked working with my coworkers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive & Fun
Scanning Digitzation Analyst (Former Employee), Florham Park, NJNovember 4, 2013
Enjoyed the fast pace environment, and the colleague. The most enjoyable part of the job was working O/T at work and contributing to the needs of the company
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Support / SAP FICO Consultant
Part of FICO Implementation Team (Former Employee), New Jersey, NJ.November 1, 2013
• Created the Company and Company Codes
• Configured the Chart of Accounts, Account Groups in General Ledger and Reason Codes
• Created Business Areas and Divisional Financial Statements.
• Defined and Assigned Document Number Ranges
• Defined Account Groups and Tolerance Groups for Vendors and Customers and Document types i.e., A: Assets, D: Customers, – more... K: Vendors, M: Material, S: GL Accounts
• Interacted with Client to Create and Group Customer and Vendor Master Data, Define Credit Control Areas and Dunning Areas
• Customized Line Layouts for GL, AP, and AR data entry and Report Displays
• Designed and Configured Vendor Master Data: Vendor Group, Vendor Field Status, Creating Vendor and Customer Master Data and Risk Categories
• Configured Outgoing Payments, Open Item Clearing in Accounts Payable
• Cost Center Accounting Master Data, Planning and Cost allocations in Cost Center Accounting.
• Configured for One-time Vendors/Customers with a Separate Screen Layouts and Customers/Vendors who were Vendors/Customers respectively and Trading Partners
• Customized Payment Requests and Interest Calculation on Account Balances and Line items – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Workforce in knowlegeable and it is a great place to work.
Contact Supervisor (Current Employee), Huntsville, ALOctober 27, 2013
Pros: healthcare and other benefits.
Cons: twelve hour rotating shifts.
BASF is a great place to work. The Upper Management all the way down to the production floor is very knowledgeable about what needs to be done on a dat to day basis in order for the company to maintain its production schedules. The hardest part of the job is not being able to see and spend time with my two small children. I also want to be able to go – more... back to school and can not do that on the schedule that I am working. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
excellent safety program
Small Works Plant and N&H Supervisor (Current Employee), Kankakee,ilOctober 25, 2013
Pros: not micro-managed
Cons: more management direction
Excellent place to work ,
Training is very high on the agenda
opportunities for advancement
Very good co-workers
Very stressful dealing with everyday situations
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Interesting place to work
Production Worker (Current Employee), Ames, IAOctober 19, 2013
Pros: the annaveraries and birthday lunches for the production workers once a month.
Cons: people who think that they are better than anybody else, and run and tell the forman everything that other people are doing wrong, but leave out all the things that they themselves do wrong.
The work day starts at 6 AM and runs until 4:30 PM. How to mix different raw materials in order to achieve the proper final product, which either meets or exceeds the customers expectations. Also how to work with divers personalities. How to check for proper color of the final product. Mid-management for the most part plays favorets and it is very noticeable – more... to all of the employees; those of the " inner circle " know that they can pretty much do whatever they want, and they flaunt it openly to the rest of us. My co-workers for the most part are friendly and helpful, however, their are those of them that think the plant is a social club just for them. The hardest part of the job is the repetitive motion all day long, and the standing in one spot for 10 hours a day. The most enjoyable part of the job is knowing that you have done a good days work, and feeling good about the products that you have finished. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Solid company with great people
Procurement Associate (Current Employee), Geismar, LAOctober 17, 2013
Pros: teleworking from home, number of vacation days
Cons: benefits changing
I am looking for another job because the position that I currently hold has been moved to another location. BASF has given me the opportunity to increase my knowledge of SAP, learn about mindsets and behaviors of people. The most difficult part of leaving a job is the people, because that is who your true relationship is with, not the company but the – more... people. I have made many friends working at this company. The hardest part of my job is when I do not have enough to do, I am most challenged when my day is full of task to complete. I enjoy helping people do their job better. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good
National Sales Manager (Current Employee), Malcom, IAOctober 17, 2013
Very large corporate environment
If would be a good job right out of college.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Hours and Pay
CAD Drafter (Former Employee), Kankakee, ILSeptember 30, 2013
Pros: good pay and great hours
Cons: sitting all day
Work kept me busy during my entire shift. Boss was very understanding and cool. Hardest part of the job was sitting and staring at a computer screen all day.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and awarding company
Operator I (Current Employee), Huntsville, ALSeptember 25, 2013
Pros: rewards are given regularly to boost moral
Cons: lunches are not paid
BASF is a highly respected company that has been in business for many years. Each day starts with a safety briefing and agenda. Management works very closely with employees. Co-workers work as a team.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learning base environment with the opportunity to participate in group projects.
Maintenance Planner/Scheduler (Former Employee), Jackson, MSSeptember 19, 2013
Pros: continual learning seminars and traing sections.
Cons: great healthcare benifits and the opportunity for personal investment
A typical work day consisted of a daily production meeting with all managers and supervisors in which I enjoyed, to assess the need of the plant, an early morning to mid-afternoon planning and scheduling meeting. The hardest part was constantly having to adjust
to un-predictable downs that interrupted the schedule, but the satisfaction came when to – more... problems were successfully resolved. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great workplace with a great safety program.
Truck Driver (Former Employee), Quincy, FLSeptember 17, 2013
Pros: safety milestone lunches, family fun day
Cons: communication
A typical work day would consist of a safety meeting every morning. The company is very strict on safety. My co-workers were great being I was the only female hourly employee. I was treated fairly.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A professional with over 10 years of experience on project management, business strategy implementation, asset utilization, materials planning, S &OP
Asset Specialist (Current Employee), Charlotte, NCSeptember 17, 2013
I enjoy planning for the future. My role is more strategic, preparing for the future. I have learned a lot on leading cross functional teams, working together towards one goal, negotiating with other internal parties, problem resolution.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to have been a part of.
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee), Geismar, LAAugust 30, 2013
Pros: great co-workers
Cons: stressed environment
A typical day as far as the workload was fine and enjoyed most all co-workers.
A hard negative stressed environment in the group I was in.
No Work Life Balance - very stressed environment
Overall, I worked with some wonderful people and will cherish the time that I worked for BASF.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Business was good
Chemical Rep (Former Employee), Charlotte, NCAugust 27, 2013
Pros: being able to enjoy workign at different plants wioth specific needs!
Cons: dealing with sales management who were always trying to cut corners and yet not loose product sales!
Coordinates and directs the activities of lower level laboratory personnel in a specific field of textile applications.
Field Technician Support
Sales Personnel in supplying Quality Assurance Properties of our
products. Establish fastness & analytical data, and set quality
characteristics of our new products. Calibrate and maintain
computerized equipment – more... according to established testing procedures. Work with LIMS Lab Management n database Systems.
Trying to oput out 4 products a day and sale as much product as possible!
Working with Textile management at their sights and helping them find and resolve problems with our products! – less

About BASF

BASF is the world’s leading chemical company – The Chemical Company. With about 112,000 employees, six Verbund sites – Read more