BASF Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
SXL Board Operator
Chemical Operator (Former Employee) –  Portsmouth, VAJuly 18, 2017
this was a very stressful plant and people were not training others and there was a lot of favoritism in the plant also a lot of people were related to each other
Pros
none
Cons
very high stress job
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bought out by big pharma
A/P Supervisor, Marketing/Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Worcester, MAJuly 17, 2017
I don't know what the company is like now. I was employed there 20 years ago. Company has changed hands since my employment and became stressful with growth. Top down managment.
Pros
Compensation for scientists, researchers
Cons
Poor compensation for non-management administration groups
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
super fun good money
Operator I (Current Employee) –  Sparks, GAJuly 14, 2017
I love this company highly recommend that you try this job out . its amazing and the people is great and they really care about you. great place to be give it try
Pros
excellent job
Cons
no flaws
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people and atmosphere
Construction Engineering Intern (Former Employee) –  Geismar, LAJuly 7, 2017
I spent the day auditing various contractors and issuing safe work permits. The management is one of a kind, hardest part was finding something not enjoyable.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive great place to work as far as pay
Analytical Microbiology QA Technician (Former Employee) –  Sparks, GAJuly 6, 2017
Management needs to improve very unprofessional, i think the people they hire in management needs to go through, proper training so that they can do well in their position.
Pros
Excellent pay
Cons
Management needs to improve very unprofessional
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
BASF as a whole
PRODUCTION SUPERVISOR (Former Employee) –  Sparks, GAJuly 5, 2017
BASF has a competitive compensation rate. They also have great benefits. However, the atmosphere isnt the best. The culture needs a lot of work. Equal opportunity is well advertised but not well exercised. The rewards for hard work is only given to chosen people.
Pros
Well compensation with great benefits.
Cons
poor management decisions when dealing with personnel.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Power Industry Sales Manager (Current Employee) –  Iselin, NJJune 30, 2017
If you're young and willing to locate, BASF encourages employees to move into new roles every few years. Older employees that prefer to stay in their roles are often forgotten about. Overall, I'd say it's a good place to start out a career, but not that great a place to end a career at.
Pros
Compensation; opportunities
Cons
Culture
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun envirnoment
Lab Technician II (Former Employee) –  Ames, IAJune 30, 2017
A great experience to learn the in and out of a production plant.
A great environment to learn new techniques about physical properties.
Coworkers and management are easy to get along with.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was my second home
senoir shift supervisor (Former Employee) –  Clifton, NJJune 29, 2017
I worked here for 19yr the company was called inmont when I started then we became of carrier then united technology sold us to basf.Working there was like having second family .In the morning make sure all the nite work was compete and report send to our user's our customer base was payroll,a/r,a/p factors all over the country .Making sure all the lines are up and running. Hardest part was when we power failure and systems problem the phone would be running over the hook.We had time schedules to keep I love it when we were real busy.
Pros
Good salery and working with good people
Cons
Being downing size 125 people were lay off
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to work. Very family friendly
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Research Triangle Park, NCJune 28, 2017
BASF is a nice to place to work, especially if you have a family as they understand its importance and continue adding benefits for those with families. They are attempting to address diversity but, overall, employment there is enjoyable.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love my Job
Marketing Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Charlotte, NCJune 26, 2017
This was a great company to work for. I loved working in marketing, pricing, certificate of analyses and was challenge with being on the Supply Chain Management team. I really enjoyed my position.
Pros
Working there
Cons
That the job left and went overseas
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Great Place to work
Manager (Current Employee) –  Charlotte, NCJune 25, 2017
Competitive pay, global company,relocation opportunities, strong leadership, good culture, I enjoy my work , my co-workers are very friendly, good learning opportunities
Pros
Benefit, 401k, flexible hours, working from home Friday, tuition reimbursement
Cons
Re-organizaiton often
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good employer
QUALITY CONTROL SCIENTIST I (Former Employee) –  Research Triangle Park, NCJune 22, 2017
Good work environment with support for education goals. Avenues for growth within organization. Decent compensation and excellent benefit and vacation package.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work, but not exactly to grow as an intern
Help Desk Technician (Current Employee) –  Mexico CityJune 21, 2017
It has been a grateful professional experience.
You can learn a lot about materials, here are professionals to support you in your own grow.
They give you seminaries to rise your capabilities and learn you new skills
Pros
Excellent work enviroment
Cons
There are not much opportunities to still there after the intership
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Production Operator (Former Employee) –  Hartwell, GAJune 18, 2017
BASF is a great place to work provided one can get their foot in the door. The atmosphere is laid back allowing one to do their job with minimal supervision.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to start your career
Manager, Financial Planning and Analysis (Current Employee) –  Charlotte, NCJune 16, 2017
Good break in and transition to working life. A lot of effort spent on career development. Managers understand in many cases that employees have options and take care of their employees.
Pros
good management
Cons
good management
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A company that allows an individual to strive and be productive.
Sr Production Technician (Former Employee) –  Freeport, TXJune 12, 2017
I had 34 good years. I grew with my company in good times and slow times. I learned alot over my years and contributed to its progress.
Being the first woman hired into a unit of men i learned how to work in difficult situations. I enjoyed shiftwork
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place
Chemical Operator C (Former Employee) –  South CarolinaJune 6, 2017
Best company ever worked for had great benifuits and good pay, awesome emplyees with a caring for their emplyees, Cant say anymore really miss that place
Pros
good pay
Cons
12 hour shifts
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very fast paced workplace.
Distribution (Current Employee) –  Seneca, SCJune 4, 2017
Very fast paced workplace. The people that work there are very nice. This site is a team orientated workplace. The benefits are good, the salary and vacation is good.
Pros
free coffee
Cons
hazardous materials
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place
Employee (Former Employee) –  East Setauket, NYJune 2, 2017
great place to work for with great benefits and room for professional development. can't say much about management but overall great place to work and learn.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at BASF. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.2
Based on 1,452 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.0
Compensation/Benefits
4.1
Job Security/Advancement
3.6
Management
3.7
Culture
4.0