Find companies:
Bashas
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
39 reviews

Bashas Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Exciting
Bakery Clerk (Current Employee), Maricopa, AZMay 30, 2013
Pros: great manager, learning to engage with other people
Cons: other employees
My typical day at work consists of providing the best service to the customers and making them satisfied with their product(s) and customer service. I learned that when dealing with hard situations it is best to have a positive attitude no matter the circumstance. My co-workers were more eager to talk about social lives than acknowledging what needed – more... to be done at work. The hardest part of the job is having to pick up other peoples poor ethic to work. The most enjoyable part of my job is my manager who is extremely helpful and makes my job more wanting to work because of how open she is. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent company to work with and great administration and co-workers.
Video Specialist/Buyer (Former Employee), Chandler, AZMay 22, 2013
Pros: excellent company to work with, supportive administratrion and great peers.
Cons: closed down program due to bankrupy program at the time.
I met with Studio Reps. to discuss upcoming movie products, costs, time constraints, etc. I traveled to stores throughout AZ and managed training, inventory, loss prevention, and computer issues, for example. I often provided remote assistance in performance problems of the rental program. I developed weekly production reports, profit/loss reports and – more... projection reports based on demographics, rental activity as well as shrinkage reports for the leadership team. I created innovative marketing strategies and promotional programs to enhance the rental departments in Bashas' stores. I did not have any difficulties with the job. The most enjoyable part of my job was new challenges every day and interacting with not only other staff members, but customers as well. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
upper management is too controlling and not on top of things bad moral
Rehired and assumed same role as Store Director (Former Employee), Phoenix, AZMay 1, 2013
Pros: nothing
Cons: nothing
sucks due to task work bankhruptcy has made the co timid and taken the ambition out of the workday 8am to 6pm following graphs checklists and task work. notnfun and not rewarding.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's time to move on.
Bakery Clerk (Current Employee), Phoenix, AZMay 1, 2013
Pros: the hours work with my schooling schedule, my co-workers are great
Cons: my boss, the management, the drive, the harassment
I've worked here for almost a year now. When I started I had a different manager, she was fun, caring and kind and made going to work a lot easier than it is now. Now that she was transferred I'm stuck with a manager who lies constantly, never listens to my scheduling conflicts and tells the store manager that I never am able to work, I've worked 8 – more... hours every week for the past month and a half now because he constantly "loses" or "forgets" my availability. Upper management sides with him of course. When I come to work and see my bosses car sitting in the parking lot, I immediately want to leave because he literally makes my day that much worse. On top of that, he is always putting me down and degrading me. The job itself is easy, a piece of cake, but he just makes it hard. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Employees were not paid what they were worth. Work schedules accommodation by management was desireable.
Account Analyst (Former Employee), Chandler AZApril 9, 2013
Pros: got to choose my shift
Cons: management did not value their employees
Overall the company had iproblems with management, and bankruptcy issues. Employees were laid off because they were the newest hired and management did not consider the value of the employee. Employees were also laid off because they were close to retirement and their salaries were high. It was not a very trustworthy company. Accounts Payable had an – more... extremely high volume of work, which was great in my opinion. The hardest part of my work there was the lack of training I received as an Account Analyst, and the language barrier I had with the supervisor. My co-workers were always easy for me to get along with. I was always scheduled the same hours which I loved. The Accounts Payable position I was able to even chose the shifts I wanted to take. The Accounts Payable position was by far my best experience. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast paced workplace, provided excellent customer service 110%
Scan Coordinator/Bookkeeper (Current Employee), Parker, AZMarch 2, 2013
A typical day at work consists of cashiering, changing price tags and maintaining correct prices on product weekly, handling money, conversing with customers establishing relations making it an excellent environment to shop.
I've obtained an exceptional amount of knowledge in the grocery and retail business, such as bookkeeping, how the prices are maintained – more... and how to provide astonishing customer service.
My co-workers are all very easy to get along with & I find it very easy to work well with all of them without any problems.
The hardeset part of my job are the hours, I go from working over-night two nights a week and early mornings the other 3-4 days a week varied between 4-6 am.
The most enjoyable part of my job is talking with customers and providing all the help they need to assure satisfaction! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
most the managers are awesome just not mine
Barista (Current Employee), 99th aveMarch 1, 2013
Pros: i like my coworkers and the other store managers :)
Cons: benefits minus vacation time and personal days isnt' right especially when u need health insurance
need something new my starbucks manager is unfair and constantly picking on me even though i have been there for 5 years and she hasnt i do my job well always early and my customers love me
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful place to work
Cashier (Former Employee), Phoenix, AZFebruary 15, 2013
Only worked there for a short time but would work there again.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very buisy and loved the customers as well as other members
Customer Service Manager (Former Employee), Morenci, AZJanuary 30, 2013
Pros: freedome to do my job and working with people
Cons: long hours 10+ and schedule
My days were very busy and productive
I learned many things about people and how there are many approches to teach and lead a group.
The hardest part of my job was terminating people, but at the same time giving them the feed back nessary for them to succeed at their next job experiance and having them thank me for taking the time to explain was alway – more... very fulfilling . – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun work place
Courtesy Clerk (Former Employee), Goodyear, AZJanuary 30, 2013
Pros: holidays off
Cons: short breaks
It gets busy on some days. I learned how to bag groceries correctly. Management was really awesome. My coworkers were wonderful to work with. The hardest part was working in the rain and getting alot of carts in. The enjoyable part of the job was meeting new people and helping people.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Heck NO!
Produce Clerk (Former Employee), Phoenix AZOctober 21, 2012
Cons: bad hours if your new, rude customers, rude coworkers, no work/life balance, terrible managment
I recently went back to work at Bashas' after a 4 year absence of serving my country. I decided to go back part-time while going back to school (terrible idea) I was told i would never go over 25 hrs which was perfect but didn't happen I would get scheduled for 36+. The company after it went bankrupt has changed so much. Terrible management, not so – more... great pay, benefits AFTER 6 months. I had a family emergency and couldn't work one day the store director pretty much told me I was lying to him. Told me I was messing with his BUSINESS. So I just quit because I didn't know when I would go back and didn't want to mess with the store directors so called business, that place is terrible don't ever work there. A lot of the employees just talk about how much they hate other coworkers, no teamwork, etc...Be aware – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Local company
Produce Clerk (Former Employee), Payson, AZOctober 9, 2012
Pros: local company
Cons: pay, benefits
Liked that it was a local company but as far as pay and benefits, not that great.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Family Oriented Workplace
Certified Pharmacy Technician (Former Employee), Tucson, AZSeptember 30, 2012
Pros: helping people get well.
Cons: having to say no to someone in need.
Local grocery store chain. I held many positions within this company in the 15 1/2 years that I worked there. Beginning at the bottom as a bagger and working my way up to management then becoming a Pharmacy Technician. Helping people get well was very rewarding. Working with people that became family was a great experience you were never just a number – more... right up to the CEO. The hardest part of this job or any healthcare job is when someone you see and get to know over time passes away. I attended many of my customers funerals. I learned that people are not mean just frustrated. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and WONDERFUL work place
Meat help and Cashier (Former Employee), Morenci, AZSeptember 22, 2012
Bashas Is a wonderful place to work, everyone there was not just a co-worker they were family! Not to mention THE SENSATIONAL SAVINGS!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work with a high turn over of employees
Deli Clerk/Cashier (Former Employee), Scottsdale, AZSeptember 10, 2012
Pros: discount on groceries
Cons: high employee turn-over
I learned to work with a variety of different personalities with a high
turn-over rate. A lot of high expectations with very little crew to do the job needed.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productivity with a time restriction.
Night Crew Chief (Former Employee), Mesa, AZJuly 29, 2012
Pros: my job was rewarding, knowing that when i walked out of work, that the store was in the best shape and ready for business.
Cons: i really cant think of a time i didnt like my job.
I worked as an overnight manager, while the store was closed. We, as the night crew, had to work together as a team to get the job done, if we didnt, then the store wouldnt be up to par, when it opened. There were times when employees didnt show up for their shift, and we had to put our work aside and get another job done because of the time restriction. – more... Thats when other employees stood up and took on a little bit extra work so that everything was done and done on time. As a manager, there were times I had to stop what I was doing to fill in where needed when duty called. I think our greatest accomplishment was when we did work as a team and everything came together. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Well organized
Manager/Cashier/Clerk/Childcare (Former Employee), Maricopa, ArizonaMay 8, 2012
Continuous customer service training. Managment was very friendly and helpful. Easy to move up in the company.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job, wish I was still there.
Cub house Manager (Former Employee), Gilbert AZFebruary 12, 2012
Pros: i was dept head; made the schedule.
Cons: they closed our store!
They closed my store as part of the bankruptcy. We were a new store and felt we did not have enough time to really prove ourselves. We had great management and really good workers, very team oriented group that worked well together. Loved working for Bashas' as it is a good local company to work for.

About Bashas

Bashas' is working up a sweat standing its ground in the Southwest. The regional grocery chain operates about 130┬ástores (down – Read more