Find companies:
Bashas
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
51 reviews

Bashas Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun, productive place.
Clerk (Former Employee), Mesa, AZJanuary 22, 2014
Cons: not much in discounts, management
I enjoyed working there because of my coworkers and the fact that there was always something to do. However, I don't feel any special skills were learned, nor did there seem like much advancement. Employees at my store seemed to bend the rules a lot and management never really payed much attention to that. Overall, a good starting job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and busy grocery store
Cashier/Clerk (Former Employee), Gold Canyon, AZJanuary 20, 2014
Pros: easy to get additional hours, fair management, time off per request
Cons: pay was not great, varied shifts
The hours and shifts were highly variable but one of the best jobs I've ever had. Very easy to balance with life, school or other jobs. Management was very respectable and fair. Hard work did pay off and additional hours were very easy to pick up. I cashiered for a couple years and was cross trained for various departments. Only down side was the pay – more... was not what I would have liked to be making. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Liked working here, but the management made it difficult for me to want to stay
Deli Clerk (Former Employee), Goodyear, AZJanuary 13, 2014
I really enjoyed working for Bashas' grocery store, but the management made it hard for me to want to stay and work for them. So with that decision being made, I sought out other options for employement.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A few people did all the work.
Dairy Manager (Former Employee), Camp Verde, AZJanuary 5, 2014
Pros: always busy, no matter what.
Cons: not much of a chance to move up.
My day began at six am with cleaning up after the folks who worked the night before. Then I put on my milk and egg order while watching the front end for the opening manager. Next I broke down my dairy load and began filling the section, lows and holes first. Typically I would have to cashier some during this time, but it was alright. Around nine am – more... I would relieve the DSD Receiver for his break then take mine. The rest of the day I would stock and clean my section. Near the end of my shift I would order the rest of the dairy section then clean my cooler for the night clerk. Also, I made sure a bale was made and the trash was taken out.

The managers were hard workers. Payroll hours were cut so much, they didn't really manage, they just cashiered and threw stock. I always helped one of the managers clean up the back room when I had time. These guys were stretched thin.

My co-workers were awesome. I even liked the girls that worked in Starbucks. We always had good laughs when I went up to get a hot drink to warm up.

The hardest part of the job was having to constantly clean up after other co-workers that didn't complete their jobs.

The most enjoyable part was when my section looked awesome. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Normal
Real Estate Accountant (Current Employee), Chandler, AZNovember 14, 2013
Pros: work schedule
Cons: benefits
A typical day is reading and reviewing leases. Processing Land Lord payments and reconciling all Rents, Taxes with a lot of research into tax appeals.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Leave Personal Life AT HOME..
Bakery Clerk (Former Employee), Needles, CAOctober 28, 2013
I worked there for almost a year, and peoples work ethic wasn't important, all everyone worried about was what people posted online.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A fun productive workplace with great people.
Deli Clerk (Former Employee), Morenci, AZOctober 23, 2013
The job of deli clerk at Bashas was fun and productive. Everyday would provide new challenges such as special orders or an indecisive customer. The co-workers were very helpful when I was unsure of how to do something. Overall it was a nice place to work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Grocery store and flexiable hours
Bookkeeper/Cashier (Former Employee), Whiteriver, AZAugust 18, 2013
Pros: great opportunities for advancement and pay raises
Cons: 7am mandatory meetings
A typical day at work was to do the bookkeeping,make daily deposits and operate the cash register.I started as a cashier but later on put in charge of the wall deli and frozen food department on reordering,restocking and do inventory. I learned with hard work and dedication that I was able to advance to the position of Bookkeeper.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An enjoyable job with great customers .Lots of fun.
COURTSEY CLERK (Former Employee), Tatum 32nd Street and E Shea Blvd. Phoenix 85028August 10, 2013
Cons: low pay.
Bashes was and enjoyable job very organized and clean store, We had great customers and every one was really nice. A typical day of work for me is I clocked in then got carts from outside then i started my sweep which is pretty much sweeping every isle with a huge broom,Then I'd do Go backs and put items where they belonged and cleaned up the store – more... Bathrooms,registers,windows,break room. Then I would bag groceries and start all over with my other duties. I've learned how to communicate with customers and now have way better customer service skills. I've also learned how to deal with about any situation a customer will give you. My management was great they taught me things and showed me everything I needed to get done. Easy to talk to and nice fun people. The most enjoyable part of the job with me is meeting new customers and making them happy! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
i loved it
Deposit Clerk/Customer Service Specialist (Former Employee), Queen Creek, AZJuly 29, 2013
i worked for Bashas for a long time and was saddened when i left. I felt like i needed more
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work, overall
Produce Manager (Current Employee), Peoria, AZJuly 16, 2013
Pros: the benefits, we went from salary to hourly. its indoors
Cons: too many little details and not enough time. it does not let you get everything done.
Bashas' is overall a good company to work for. There are a lot of responsibilities for 1 person in management. A typical day starts with the culling of the department, scanning and marking down produce before they expire to get whatever sale on that item we can. You have to bring out produce in bins that were pulled in from the night before. There's – more... a managers meeting you attend at a time the store director gives you. You have to change prices as needed. I learned that there is no time to slow down. The only difference in management is that we all have a different responsibility. The pace is the same for every perishable department manager. My coworkers do there best to keep up. The pressure is on everyone to do the best they can do. No slacking allowed. The hardest part of the job is at the end of the day wondering if there was anything you forgot to do. The most enjoyable part of the job is the people you work with, the relationships you build. The friendships you make with the customers. I have seen people coming to Bashas' when they were single to when they came in with their children. I have watched them as infants to them becoming teenagers. Now that's enjoyable alright. The best part of it all is the compliments I get from the customers about how nice and beautiful the produce department looks. Its freshness, all the colors in the department. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Exciting
Bakery Clerk (Current Employee), Maricopa, AZMay 30, 2013
Pros: great manager, learning to engage with other people
Cons: other employees
My typical day at work consists of providing the best service to the customers and making them satisfied with their product(s) and customer service. I learned that when dealing with hard situations it is best to have a positive attitude no matter the circumstance. My co-workers were more eager to talk about social lives than acknowledging what needed – more... to be done at work. The hardest part of the job is having to pick up other peoples poor ethic to work. The most enjoyable part of my job is my manager who is extremely helpful and makes my job more wanting to work because of how open she is. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent company to work with and great administration and co-workers.
Video Specialist/Buyer (Former Employee), Chandler, AZMay 22, 2013
Pros: excellent company to work with, supportive administratrion and great peers.
Cons: closed down program due to bankrupy program at the time.
I met with Studio Reps. to discuss upcoming movie products, costs, time constraints, etc. I traveled to stores throughout AZ and managed training, inventory, loss prevention, and computer issues, for example. I often provided remote assistance in performance problems of the rental program. I developed weekly production reports, profit/loss reports and – more... projection reports based on demographics, rental activity as well as shrinkage reports for the leadership team. I created innovative marketing strategies and promotional programs to enhance the rental departments in Bashas' stores. I did not have any difficulties with the job. The most enjoyable part of my job was new challenges every day and interacting with not only other staff members, but customers as well. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
upper management is too controlling and not on top of things bad moral
Rehired and assumed same role as Store Director (Former Employee), Phoenix, AZMay 1, 2013
Pros: nothing
Cons: nothing
sucks due to task work bankhruptcy has made the co timid and taken the ambition out of the workday 8am to 6pm following graphs checklists and task work. notnfun and not rewarding.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's time to move on.
Bakery Clerk (Current Employee), Phoenix, AZMay 1, 2013
Pros: the hours work with my schooling schedule, my co-workers are great
Cons: my boss, the management, the drive, the harassment
I've worked here for almost a year now. When I started I had a different manager, she was fun, caring and kind and made going to work a lot easier than it is now. Now that she was transferred I'm stuck with a manager who lies constantly, never listens to my scheduling conflicts and tells the store manager that I never am able to work, I've worked 8 – more... hours every week for the past month and a half now because he constantly "loses" or "forgets" my availability. Upper management sides with him of course. When I come to work and see my bosses car sitting in the parking lot, I immediately want to leave because he literally makes my day that much worse. On top of that, he is always putting me down and degrading me. The job itself is easy, a piece of cake, but he just makes it hard. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Employees were not paid what they were worth. Work schedules accommodation by management was desireable.
Account Analyst (Former Employee), Chandler AZApril 9, 2013
Pros: got to choose my shift
Cons: management did not value their employees
Overall the company had iproblems with management, and bankruptcy issues. Employees were laid off because they were the newest hired and management did not consider the value of the employee. Employees were also laid off because they were close to retirement and their salaries were high. It was not a very trustworthy company. Accounts Payable had an – more... extremely high volume of work, which was great in my opinion. The hardest part of my work there was the lack of training I received as an Account Analyst, and the language barrier I had with the supervisor. My co-workers were always easy for me to get along with. I was always scheduled the same hours which I loved. The Accounts Payable position I was able to even chose the shifts I wanted to take. The Accounts Payable position was by far my best experience. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast paced workplace, provided excellent customer service 110%
Scan Coordinator/Bookkeeper (Current Employee), Parker, AZMarch 2, 2013
A typical day at work consists of cashiering, changing price tags and maintaining correct prices on product weekly, handling money, conversing with customers establishing relations making it an excellent environment to shop.
I've obtained an exceptional amount of knowledge in the grocery and retail business, such as bookkeeping, how the prices are maintained – more... and how to provide astonishing customer service.
My co-workers are all very easy to get along with & I find it very easy to work well with all of them without any problems.
The hardeset part of my job are the hours, I go from working over-night two nights a week and early mornings the other 3-4 days a week varied between 4-6 am.
The most enjoyable part of my job is talking with customers and providing all the help they need to assure satisfaction! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
most the managers are awesome just not mine
Barista (Current Employee), 99th aveMarch 1, 2013
Pros: i like my coworkers and the other store managers :)
Cons: benefits minus vacation time and personal days isnt' right especially when u need health insurance
need something new my starbucks manager is unfair and constantly picking on me even though i have been there for 5 years and she hasnt i do my job well always early and my customers love me
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful place to work
Cashier (Former Employee), Phoenix, AZFebruary 15, 2013
Only worked there for a short time but would work there again.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very buisy and loved the customers as well as other members
Customer Service Manager (Former Employee), Morenci, AZJanuary 30, 2013
Pros: freedome to do my job and working with people
Cons: long hours 10+ and schedule
My days were very busy and productive
I learned many things about people and how there are many approches to teach and lead a group.
The hardest part of my job was terminating people, but at the same time giving them the feed back nessary for them to succeed at their next job experiance and having them thank me for taking the time to explain was alway – more... very fulfilling . – less

About Bashas

Bashas' is working up a sweat standing its ground in the Southwest. The regional grocery chain operates about 130┬ástores (down – Read more