Find companies:
Bassett Furniture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
43 reviews

Bassett Furniture Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly co workers. But no time to build customer relationships..Sales, Sales
Design Consultant (Former Employee), Hoover, AL.July 25, 2014
Pros: super friendly staff
Cons: unrealistic sales expectations
Coming onboard was interesting, but a bit pressured. Although, the training was very thorough regarding the history of Bassett. any other training was lacking and feedback not continuous.Sales expectations UNREALISTIC in this market and economy especially in a new store. New store, new area, new employees, new management without a full understanding – more... of how to build a customer base in a new and very different demographic. Store has potential...Too much to say, but it was not an all bad experience because everyone was super friendly. But that did not help to build my career there. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Warehouse Enviroment.
District Service Coordinator (Current Employee), Garden Grove, CAJuly 8, 2014
Cons: no breaks, no working air conditioning
Work with 4 stores to insure that service appointments are scheduled in a timely manner. Order parts for repairs and schedule delivery of purchased items.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Design Consultant (Current Employee), Hoover, AlJune 10, 2014
Pros: good people, money, benefits
Cons: high preasure put on sales people, no weekends or holidays
I love this job, the people are great and the job has a serious money making potential. Although Bassett is new to Birmingham it seems like it's taking some time to grow. A person can sale the product with confidence knowing that the products are well made. The only problem I have with working there are the mandatory weekends and holidays. I didn't – more... realize I had signed up for that. Thought that they would rotate and they do not. I've been there since January and was told we get a weekend off every 3 months. I still haven't been able to take it. That's truly the only part of this job that makes me unhappy. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Some what slow paced
Quality Control Inspector (Former Employee), Newton, NCJune 10, 2014
Inspected finished product for defects in workmanship and materials. Made sure that damages were repaired properly before allowing product to ship
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's up to you
Sales Consultant (Former Employee), VAJune 6, 2014
Most enjoyable part of the job: The Clients and the Products

Worse Part: "laid off because of a over-hire" (leaves you feeling used) I have nothing to show for the amount of time and attention I put into my clients. My clients were given to elder Sales Consultants as I was let go after only a few weeks. I'm talented but there was literally nothing – more... I could do to remain apart of the team . I was promised they would coach me into commission based sales and i would be fine.They didn't even let me see if I could make my draw.
Huge turn over rates. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
internship
Information Technology Internship (Current Employee), Bassett, VAMay 19, 2014
Pros: really great place to work.
Cons: only part time internship
I balanced working for Bassett Furniture while going to Patrick Henry Community College. My typical full day at Bassett started at 8:00 am. I usually ran through my list of things that I made the day before that had to be accomplished that day. I checked all emails for tickets that I would have to troubleshoot, then I would start troubleshooting computers – more... and repairing them. One of the daily routines was setting up computers. While I was there, Bassett was opening new stores. I would setup the new computers for each department. My over all experience at Bassett was good. I was able to hit the ground running and enjoyed the people I worked with. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Bunch of Guys
Service Technician (Former Employee), Bassett VaMay 1, 2014
My first HVAC position and was very green with no experienced person to lean on. I was put in the main maintenance shop with the electricians and overhead power linemen. They were a good bunch of guys we worked well together helping each other on jobs. Then I was recruited by one of my old instructors from college to fill the position at Prillaman & – more... Pace. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good starting point.
Accounting Analyst (Current Employee), Bassett Virginia 24055April 28, 2014
Pros: flexible time frames for family, lunch, and medical needs.
Cons: no advancement within the corporation, no encouragement for continuing education, no employee incentive programs.
My work day begins at 07:30; the work day end varies.

I have been trying to break the glass ceiling for many years.

I believe in continuing education, keeping an open mind and I love computer and electronic technology.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bassett provided a creative, energetic, team environment, centered around the customers, and creating exceptional design.
Merchandising Manager (Former Employee), Beaverton, ORApril 15, 2014
I really enjoyed learning about the retail side of design. Merchandising, and setting the floor took most my day everyday, and it was something a thoroughly enjoyed. I also enjoyed working with commercial clients, and creating custom designed furniture with our clients. My position also allowed me the chance to accessorize clients house on the furniture – more... delivery day, and up sell lamps, artwork, etc. when they are able to visualize the completed space. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced work environment
Associate Manager (Former Employee), Hickory, NCMarch 25, 2014
Pros: fun environment
Cons: lack of leadership
Working with new people everyday was an exciting part of the position.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A Day at Bassett
Store Manager, Sales Associate (Former Employee), Dallas, TXFebruary 23, 2014
Started with executing plan for the day, Reviewed previous day's sales, emails and any new business strategy and adjusted plan accordingly. Performed briefings with departments prior to opening. Reinforced sales and business goals for the day and provided any additional information team needs to ensure/understand overall strategic goals (short and long – more... term). Continual monitoring and assessing of sales teams performance, assurance of customer relations/satisfaction, and overall delivery of Bassett's standard of excellence. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fired for Expressing Opinion.....and not being the right "fit".
Design Consultant (Former Employee), Westport StoreFebruary 10, 2014
Pros: good concept, furniture made in the u.s.
Cons: performers are expendable.
I highly enjoyed my job.....the clients, the other consultants and the manager at the Westport store but, when I complained about the store not being ever cleaned in the 4 weeks during our soft opening - I was let go.....

A typical week to work for this company entails both days on the floor and days off - on client appointments.....just to make a – more... $50K.

And don't ask for the sales tools you need - cause no one knows. It was embarrassing......and I was the top in sales....my clients were important to me and more loyal to me than the district management group to the consultants. Makes me think that perhaps they would prefer mediocre sales results per consultant so, they don't have to pay out more to the better performers. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not recommended.
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee), Irvine, CAFebruary 4, 2014
Pros: good schedule. that's it.
Cons: management, customer profiling
Worked for this company (Irvine, CA) for about a month.

At first, it was okay until everything unraveled. The sales consultants would negatively profile all customers, and would talk negatively about their customers behind their back and literally laugh at the comments being made.

Management was the same way. Management would use strong, negative – more... language, and would make negative gestures behind customers' backs, even if the customer was nice or irate.

Very unprofessional and unethical. Not recommended to work here. This company "boasts" about having team spirit and quality customer service, yet do not represent it at all. Very negative, and a waste of my time. Save your time. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company all-in-all
Design Consultant (Current Employee), Austin, TXJanuary 24, 2014
Pros: great pay scale, fun product, great job overall
Cons: very substandard technology, substandard operations
Can't say anything really bad about the firm, it's just that our operations doesn't keep up with the times. The product is great, people are great, culture is great.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice job with great associates.
Driver/Delivery (Former Employee), St. Louis, MODecember 19, 2013
I enjoyed my time at Bassett. We worked hard and got rewarded with bonuses.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great training, but lengthy hours.
Design Consultant (Former Employee), ConnecticutNovember 20, 2013
Pros: traing of product and new products, management.
Cons: hours, monthly sales goals.
Enjoyed the training of the new products, but the lengths a design consultant had to go through for a sale was terrible. Be prepared to have a very flexible schedule, since it will change daily, weekly. Holidays and weekends are a must as well.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work, good team work
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Concord, NCSeptember 6, 2013
Pros: great work environment
Cons: temp assignment
Made sure that the designers were assigned customers as they walked in the door. Paged them over the intercom to let them know who up for a customer. Learned how to do the up board in Storis, learned about different types of furniture. Management was great, all of my co workers got along great with each other. Always willing to help when needed. I enjoyed – more... working with all the customers that shopped there! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun and productive place to work
Upholsterer (Former Employee), Stanleytown, VAAugust 15, 2013
Very enjoyable place also guaranteed to work with a lot of familiar people.. The stuff and personal people are awesome
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bassett Furniture in California
Designer Consultant (Former Employee), Fremont, CAAugust 12, 2013
I didn't see any Review from California . so here mine I worked for this company for three months . the first month did 15,000 sec month did 25,000 got written up due to not writing 40k on the sec. Month the 3rd Month I Sold 32,000 I knew I wasn't going to get to the 40k so I Quit .I heard there was a Sales person there for Five Years and lost his job – more... for not making the quota in three straight Months. The presser there very high I can see why if eight or more Sales person known as Design Consultants trying to Sale 40k per a Month. if you don't it comes out of the 1500 dollar draw they give you per the Month ,you have to pay back the Draw and you only make 4% comm. on your Sales .and the Designing Consultants there are very jug mental the way you look ,talk , take care of Guest ,eat ,and they think they know best about every thing. the General Manger even hides behind Furniture to listen to there Designing Consultant .I found this odd ,and would always ask him to join me and the Guest special if my Guest saw him. other then that it was a nice place to work. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very little demand for their furniture
Design Consultant (Former Employee), Gulfport MSJune 30, 2013
Pros: learning basic decorating tips
Cons: short term job formula for failure
most days were very slow, draw against commission, so slow is bad, great place to learn some basic decorating tips that you can share with friends and family, management not interested in training new people, co workers a mixed bag, some nice, some not, hardest part of job is giving away/splitting leads with older designers, (that's how they keep their – more... jobs long term) most enjoyable part meeting some nice clients – less

1 2 3

About Bassett Furniture

Bassett Furniture Industries works to get a leg up on the competition. The company, founded in 1902,┬ámakes wooden and upholstered – Read more

Bassett Furniture Photos