Find companies:
Bassett Healthcare
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
22 reviews

Bassett Healthcare Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Micro Management
Radiation Therapist (Former Employee), Cooperstown & Oneonta, NYJune 1, 2014
Pros: a paid job, lots of pto
Cons: hostile atmosphere, no breakroom, mismanagement
Heavily regimented Who Does What, self-starters and free thinkers should steer clear of this Hospital System. Little to no support from anyone but the employees you work with every day. Very hostile and demeaning atmosphere. Work here only if you desperately need a job or can work in a military-like set of rules.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Radiologic Technologist (Current Employee), Sidney, NYMay 23, 2014
Very friendly, helpful people. Small town with a small hospital but a lot of potential. Hardest part is trying to fight sleep when you're on the overnight shift because sometimes there will be nights without any patients.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Got my job and two months later a new hotel manager arrived.
Secretary (Former Employee), Cooperstown, NYMay 22, 2014
Pros: good salary. liked my co-workers and thought of great ideas !
Cons: my new gm. not a nice lady.
Booked "local negotiated rates" to corporate accounts. Promoted hotel and took care of the "special guest" I learned that you can work like crazy and if you get a general manager that doesn't like you....you can still work like crazy and it doesn't matter. Management was great when I started and when the new GM showed up my "work life" became unhappy. – more... She was dismissed after I left. Co-workers were awesome! Hardest part of my job I think was dealing with the anomostity that my GM showed me when she showed up. Most enjoyable was doing a great job, getting a ton of new LNR clients and they loved that I initiated a "meet and greet" every Thursday in our lounge so that all the local, and not local businesses could meet each other and exchange ideas and get new business contacts. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good occupation, bad relationships with Co - workers.
HIM DI Tech (Former Employee), Oneonta , NYMarch 7, 2014
Pros: long lunches, benefits.
Cons: back - stabbing people!!!
If you want to keep your job don't try to be friends with your co-workers. You are better off going to work to work and that is it. I was let go because I was too friendly and outgoing. Boss said that my personality didn't mesh well with my fellow workers, her words exactly, "you are outgoing and kind, and people around are not use to that so we have – more... to let you go." Think twice before applying for this job. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
excellent learning enviroment
adult nurse practitioner (Current Employee), Oneonta, NYFebruary 26, 2014
My experience with Basset Healthcare has been great. As a new graduate NP, my MD preceptor has taught me an insurmountable amount of knowledge. I have been able to see a wide patient population with wide variety of disease thereby enhancing my overall skills. I typically see 16-18 medically complex adult patients. The nurses I work with are excellent – more... and really invest time in patient care. The hardest part of my day would be when I see a patient whom I am unable to diagnose. The most enjoyable part of my day is being able to educate a patient to make a positive change in the management of his or her own health. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bassett Review
Ambulatory Office Assistant II (Current Employee), Norwich, NYJanuary 20, 2014
I love my job at Bassett healthcare. Helping people is a passion of mine, and at this job I am able to do so.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Many great years here
Patient Service Manager (Former Employee), bassett Healthcare cooperstown nyOctober 10, 2013
During the last 2 years of working here I became management and I learned a lot about patience, prioritization, people. I learned that being a manager is very challenging / life changing.
I worked with some very nice people who are very driven and dedicated to being successful.
The hardest part of being a manager is trying to make everyone happy while – more... doing what is necessary for the department.
The most enjoyable part of all of my time at Bassett was serving, educating, and satisfying the patients and customers. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Small town feeling and welcoming.
Lab Assistant, Med Lab Tech, Med Technologist (Former Employee), Cooperstown, NYSeptember 17, 2013
Very good teaching and research facility. Very friendly staff.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Large Hospital System
Registered Nurse (Former Employee), Oneonta, NYJuly 26, 2013
There is a great deal of opportunity here, but you have to "know" the right people to advance.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very productive place to work
Food Service Worker (Former Employee), Cooperstown, NYJune 18, 2013
Pros: benifits
Cons: management, lots of looking for easy ways out
A day at Bassett was up and down everyday all depended on the manager. I learned to ask lots of questions when needed, how to handle a customer under certain circumstances, how to use a register, stock shelves, lots of prep cook, I also learned that I am an asset to any business that I in. I am a very fast learner and quick to help others, and always – more... willing to learn and take on more responsibilities. I feel one of the hardest part of my job was trying to get others on the same level as me. I loved greeting customers and giving them fast and friendly service. I also enjoyed learning new positions and taking on new challenges. I feel I will be a great benefit to any company/ job I did engage in. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ambulatory Office Assistant I
Ambulatory Office Assistant I (Former Employee), Cooperstown, NYApril 2, 2013
Pros: close to home
Cons: no breaks
A typical day at work would be to open up the office and get all the computers up and running . Greet patients as they came in, obtained demographic info, updated insurance information and collected copays. When patient's visit was complete, I was responsible to set up any additional appointments that the provider has ordered. I learned that it is very – more... important to have teamwork to make a smooth running atmosphere. My co-workers were great, we all banded together like a family. The hardest part of the job is when the providers what their schedule a certain way and then continually change it. The most enjoyable part of the job was helping the patients and putting smiles on their faces before they left their appointment. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
surgical floor
Patient Care Assistant (Former Employee), Cooperstown, NYFebruary 11, 2013
Pros: benefits
Cons: overworked
Not enough employees for the floor.

Not open for changes that are very well needed.

Not organized
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bassett Hospital breaks the law as far as discrimination...
BILLER (Former Employee), Cooperstown and Hyde Park NYOctober 8, 2012
Cons: listed
I worked in the billing department there for about 5 and a half months; and it was one of the WORST working experiences I've ever had in my twenty-three years in the workforce! I have an extensive education and experience in insurance billing, claims processing and customer service, so I know that I have what it takes to make a job like this work...HOWEVER, – more... in the fall of 2010, I did advise my supervisor that I'm a diabetic and as such, I would need to eat breakfast on a regular basis...if I didn't have time to eat in the morning before I left work, I would try to get something at the caferia that had just opened at the new billing site in Hyde Park, NY. One day I did so and because I went in there to purchase something a couple of minutes past my shift, I was degraded and debased for not coming in earlier to do so or asking for an earlier break in the day! Very intolerable these people there were...I can't stand any of them because of how cold they are. So a couple of days later, I came in ten minutes early and brought my own toast in, which I went to the cafeteria to make so I'd have breakfast. The toast burned and it caused the fire alarm to go off, so all employees were vacated from the building for about ten minutes and then they all were brought back in. Becasue I'd taken insulin and I didn't have anything else with me to eat, I had to run into the cafeteria on the way in to pick up something quickly because otherwise I would've gone into insulin shock. It took at total of about 30 seconds for me to buy the food and go to my desk. No sooner had I gone there and the team lead came up to me and told me the supervisor wanted to speak to me...I went into her office and was totally berated for setting off the fire alarm, as if I'd done it intentionally! Then I was lambasted for running into the cafeteria at work to get a muffin for breakfast so my blood sugar wouldn't drop and I was told I needed to find an alternate time to do this...I told her I'd come in ten minutes early that day to make my toast, but it had burned and she didn't care. She said that she'd already spoken to me about this and that it would not be tolerated again. I told her I had no choice and that it wasn't a big deal, but she didn't agree and said that it was a big deal because I'd caused a huge loss in production time for everyone there...yet funny how I'd seen people come in late there every day, including other supervisors and go to the cafeteria whenever they wanted to and no one said anything to them...later that morning she sent out a nasty email to the whole team and told them about how irresponsible it was for someone to do what had happened. She also threatened to take away the cafeteria privileges if it happened again...are we still in grade school or what? LOL...I have to laugh at what she did because if I didn't, I'd otherwise scream! I was let go shortly after that and they made sure they let me go before I had to have cataract surgery on both of my eyes so I wouldn't have the insurance to have it covered. I told them off when I left-gave them a piece of my mind, but to this day, I feel if I'd pushed the issue, I'd have won a discrimination case against them. I did write a letter to the CEO of Bassett and told him of what had transpired, detail by detail. Hopefully, this will deter other people from applying to work there...the conditions are horrible and inhumane there! DON'T APPLY THERE EVER IF A POSITION OPENS THERE! – less

October 18, 2012

I agree with everything this review wrote.

Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Community Workplace
Various (Current Employee), Cooperstown, NYOctober 3, 2012
Pros: offers an employee assistance program (eap), discount at in-house pharmacy
Cons: to see non-bassett physicians, you are required to choose more expensive insurance
Bassett employs local individuals, and overtime, whole families migrate to the organization. Management is forward thinking and ready for industry changes.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work environment
Ophthalmology Secretary (Former Employee), Cooperstown, NYAugust 26, 2012
Multi-taskers dream job, worked with a lot of great people. Learned a ton of information about different departments beyond my own.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible office to work in. Management lacking
Ambulatory Office Assistant (Former Employee), West Winfield NYMay 31, 2012
I worked in this office for almost 3 years and it was the worst 3 years. Management is lacking in resources and knowledge. Employees are degraded on a daily basis by providers and supervisors. Pay is not camparable to all that is expected. Coworkers are rude. Nurses are allowed to harrass other employees. Patients are treated poorly and then when they – more... become irate and hostile management is not there to support office staff. Employee safety is seriously lacking. Manager fosters a hostile work inviroment and HR will not correct, they turn a blind eye. I was told "providers are held to different standards and no matter what they are right" You are expected to travel at a moments notice. In the almost 3 years that I worked there raises were put on hold twice. No pay raise in two years is unacceptable especially since the responsibilities continued to pile up. This was the worst place that I have ever worked and would not recommend this job to anyone!!! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people and great job stability
Graphics Specialist - full-time, on-site (Former Employee), Cooperstown, NYMay 9, 2012
Pros: great healthcare benefits
Cons: pay
I enjoyed my time there and the people were fantastic. My only frustration was the low salary and feeling it was the only gig in town. The biggest and as far as I saw, the only corporation in Coop aside from Baseball Hall of Fame. There were some other small businesses but...not much.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No longer a good place to work.
Nurse (Former Employee), CooperstownMarch 25, 2012
I worked for Bassett for over 20 years. The last few years have brought tremendous changes. Bassett was always a place where the patient came first and where employees were highly valued. This is no longer the case. The main priority now is the bottom line. All hospitals are struggling financially, but not all have lost sight of their core values. It – more... is constantly pounded into the staff's head that saving money is THE priority. There is complete lack of respect for most employees. Employees are afraid to voice their concerns, even in employee opinion surveys for fear of losing their jobs. Living rurally greatly curtails job options. Employees at all levels of the organization are leaving en masse. From Vice Presidents to front line staff, all are tired of being treated poorly. Hopefully sometime soon this will catch the attention of the hospital board.
There are some advantages to working at Bassett. In house educational opportunities are strong. The cost of health insurance is extremely low. Other benefits are good.
Hopefully something will happen to reverse a culture that has become extremely negative. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible hospital to work for
Cancer Center (Former Employee), Cooperstown, NYFebruary 8, 2012
I worked for Bassett for almost two years - it was the worst job that I've ever had. The managers are very doctor-geared, but are the first ones to speak of how horrible the doctor's treat the employees. It is a VERY corrupt hospital that pays minimally and whose attitude is "If you don't like it, leave". I would NOT recommend working for Bassett.

May 9, 2012

I stayed 3 years and started to lose my sanity. There's not much work up there so I understand. I had to go back to NYC for better pay and options. I live in Texas now and love it!

Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
School Based health Clinics- wonderful for students
Medical Office Assistant (Former Employee), Sherburne-Earlville School Based ClinicNovember 15, 2011
Pros: hepling families with no insurance
As part of the school Based team I found this was a wonderful way to help our community - helping families who had no insurance to get it-seeing that children were seen no matter if they would be covered by insurance's-helping them to receive immunizations- physicals- medical care - and dental