Bates College Employee Reviews in United States

Showing all 13 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An excellent opportunity
Teaching Assistant (Former Employee) –  Lewiston, MEJune 11, 2016
Working as a teaching assistant at Bates is an excellent way to gain more experience in your field and earn a bit of extra money. Provided you are working with a professor you like, you should have no problems. Take advantage of the opportunity while you can, it's one of the easiest jobs you'll ever get.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bates College is a great place to work
Lab TA (Current Employee) –  Lewiston, MEMarch 9, 2016
Bates College is a great place to work. Being a TA has given me valuable job experience. I have gained experience is setting up for lab and assisting students during lab.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Student jobs are easy to find at Bates College
Chemistry Teaching Assistant (Current Employee) –  Lewiston, MEDecember 28, 2015
I have performed duties as a introductory chemistry teaching assistant. My duties included attending the lectures and conducting weekly review sessions.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very congenial staff environment, strong leadership.
Admissions Counselor (Former Employee) –  Lewiston, MEMay 26, 2015
One thing that stands out about Bates College staff and leadership is the commitment employees have to the institution. Many are alumni or are from the region and have stories that involve Bates far before they became a member of the staff.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
awesome place to interact with people with different background's
Dish room (Former Employee) –  Lewiston, MEAugust 30, 2014
i learned a lot of different style's of background's to interact and have a better understanding of people and how they do things or even why they do a certain thing.
Pros
wide range of knowledge of other culture's
Was this review helpful?Yes1No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Academic Setting
Thesis Student (Former Employee) –  Lewiston, MEMay 14, 2014
Working while taking classes is challenging, yet rewarding
Was this review helpful?Yes1No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive work place
First Cook (Current Employee) –  Lewiston, MESeptember 11, 2013
I have learned a lot about the food business very stressfuk job sometimes
Pros
free breakfast lunch and dinner
Cons
stressful work
Was this review helpful?Yes1No4
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
we can create activity ( E.X. Sukiyaki party, calligraphy )
Japanese Assistant Teaching (Former Employee) –  lewiston, MEAugust 27, 2013
Bates is very good place. Very clean and people is kindly.
TA job also good. We do TA session with students everyday. One group have 20 min. We have class one a week. It was good experience for me. Because i did make teaching plan and game by myself.
Bates have many activity about knowing foreign country. That is why, i could cook Sushi with students and dance Soranbushi together. We can show Japanese culture to another students.

Bates gave me special time. Now i really know i do love to teaching Japanese.
Pros
free food
Cons
short break
Was this review helpful?YesNo2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome student job.
Junior Advisor (Former Employee) –  Lewiston, MEAugust 1, 2013
Great place to work as a student! The staff are very nice and they support you throughout your employment.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
culture
Administrative Assistant, President's Office (Current Employee) –  Lewiston, MEJuly 18, 2012
Very friendly people. People are always willing to help. Great benefits. Free use of health facilities. Great wellness program.
Was this review helpful?Yes11No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Comfortable environment but hard to advance
Staff Assistant (Former Employee) –  Lewiston, MEJune 9, 2012
I saw only two promotions from within - they hire out instead, no merit raises/advancement, which caused big morale issues. Liberal values predominate. Nepotism common - your whole family could work there! Longevity, job security, and comfortable, professional work environment. On-going computer training offered free. Good pay and benefits - compares to State average.
Pros
use of gym, pool, rink free. great campus. low turn over. nice environment. average pay. good retirement, health benes.
Cons
rare advancement opportunities. liberal atmosphere, others less welcome. cliques, families, "in" groups.
Was this review helpful?Yes16No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lovely small liberal arts college
Director of Equity and Diversity (Former Employee) –  Lewiston, MEMay 22, 2012
Dynamic academic environment. Students used to hard work.
Pros
slow paced highly intellectual environment
Cons
lewiston is well, laid back
Was this review helpful?Yes1No3

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Bates College. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.5
Based on 13 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Culture