Bath & Body Works Employee Reviews for Store Manager

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
enjoyed working here
Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Los Angeles, CAFebruary 14, 2018
nice place to work at. company has a great training program for all new hires. pay is good and they have good benefits and discounts. only con is high turn over in all fields.
Pros
great training
Cons
high turnover in upper management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Progressive company that prides itself on living by its values
STORE MANAGER (Former Employee) –  Columbus, OHFebruary 5, 2018
Bath & Body Works provided an extensive career with growth opportunities right from the start. I was able to work in over 12 locations under various roles. The work life balance became increasingly more difficult as I began to work in higher velocity stores. There is a large disconnect in management style from leader to leader as well as Corporate to Field leadership. At the end of the day, the pressure to exceed sales plan often did not line up with our company values (i.e. statements made by DM, actions taken by RM) specifically around our internal customer (i.e. associate & management staff). Again, this varies based on your particular DM. If you are interested in lower volume leadership, GO FOR IT! If you are interested in high volume, consider the costs.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love the products!
STORE MANAGER (Current Employee) –  Tampa, FLJanuary 31, 2018
Specialty sales requires a lot of flexibility with schedules and the ability to work independently while balancing selling with tasking. Business fluctuates dramatically from Non-peak to peak.
Pros
Gratis
Cons
Being the sole associate during non-peak
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy Environment
Store Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Murfreesboro, TNJanuary 22, 2018
Very busy, quickpaced work environment. Insane expectations from employees. Well paid. Very stressful and customer oriented. long floorset hours. not good for a full time college student.
Pros
High pay rate
Cons
stressful
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Culture
Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Las Vegas, NVJanuary 19, 2018
It has been over 9 years since I have worked with this company. I enjoyed working in an environment that smelled so good!! It was a destination store for customers to shop, therefore, creating a great relationship between customers and employees.
Pros
Discounts
Cons
Career path
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
none
Store Manager (Current Employee) –  MassachusettsJanuary 1, 2018
not able to manage business and staff due to company directives. Used as coverage. Floor changes almost ever night. not enough payroll hours to run business
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
high expectations
Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Orlando, FLDecember 27, 2017
Very high expectations but will train and develop you to the next level. Fun atmosphere and great product! Will be a shopper for years to come! Great company!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company
Store Manager (Former Employee) –  MichiganDecember 14, 2017
Good overall company. The company believes in the bottom up theory. The organization understands the people in the field hear first hand what is important to the customer. BBW realizes to be successful in business that any new idea has to be good for the customer, the employee, and the company. Ethical behavior is part of the foundation. The only person in each store who can work over forty hours without extra pay is the store manager. Unfortunately, this puts an excessive amount of pressure on the store manager to be available all day/every day. The company is very fluid with their ideas and many decisions are made on the go. This fluidity can be a positive for the business, but a negative for a store manager's personal life.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful
Store Manager (Former Employee) –  ArkansasDecember 8, 2017
Extremely stressful. Your life's schedule revolves around business needs. No work/life balance at all. When reaching out for support or help you won't receive it.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
DM can make or break it for an SM
Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Phoenix, AZDecember 6, 2017
It's retail, long hours if you want to grow your business you have to put in the time. I ran two high volume locations that had a lot of turnover so there was much work to be done.

So much is influenced by your DM and upper management-she didn't work along side us just from afar.

Customers were the most challenging, extremely rude over the smallest coupon detail and always wanting more than just something for nothing and would fight you to the death for a free item knowing they are using a photocopied mobile coupon that's been used multiple times.

The company culture caters to customers which is great but not reasonable.

Computer systems like a lot of retailers is outdated and so is the CRM. The stores need a major face lift, without a doubt.
Pros
Employee discount, free samples, new product lines
Cons
Customers upset over retired fragrances, no work-life balance
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Job and you always smell good
Store Manager (Current Employee) –  TennesseeNovember 17, 2017
Great job with great compensation.

Very stressful as a Store Manager - Always working over 40 hours - Upper management doesn't care about the small stores
Pros
Gratis - Vacation days
Cons
Upper Management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst company to work for
Store Manager (Current Employee) –  Fort Lauderdale, FLOctober 28, 2017
DO NOT WORK FOR THIS COMPANY. There is no work-life balance and the upper management believes that because you get paid well they should be able to treat you any type of way. It is very easy for you to get fired and they let you know that. Not only that people are always quitting.
Pros
Great Pay
Cons
upper managment, work life balance
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun atmosphere, Great Product
Store Manager, The Outlets (Former Employee) –  Orange County, CAOctober 8, 2017
Super fun job, great benefits and paid time off. Great structure and training. During the holiday season expect to work at least 50+ hours a week and on actual holidays including, Thanksgiving, Christmas eve, Christmas day, new years.
Pros
Fun product, gratis and beneifts
Cons
no life balance during the holiday season
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Extremely competitive, but fun place to work
Store Manager (Current Employee) –  Paramus, NJOctober 7, 2017
Working for bath and body works is a great experience. You learn a lot as a leader, but it is very competitive. Upper management is constantly down your throat about achieving sales plan and conversion. Besides this aspect it is a very fun place to learn.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Products. Fun Store. Abusive Middle Management.
Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Muskogee, OKSeptember 16, 2017
I LOVE Bath & Body Products. I have for over 20 years and I was so excited to get a chance to work for them.

It was fast paced and there was always something fun around the corner. I took two struggling stores and developed them into top performers of the district.

It has amazing work life balance, except October - December, for obvious reasons. The shift to cut-throat SPAH selling to get hours was a struggle that customers could feel, but we got past that eventually.

I have always been of the opinion that focusing on your people and developing their skill sets would make the metrics happen. Numbers are great to tell you where to work, but there are a lot of micormanagers in DM roles that can't think globally.

The pick one driver each week and beat it to death and criticize on conference calls if they missed the goals, even if that store was the number one on sales volume and growth for the week.

And if you challenge that mentality, they turn on you instead of embracing different thoughts. It became very demotivating.

Being a top performer, yet feeling you were doing so much wrong eventually takes a toll and makes you complacent.
Pros
Discount/Products/Great Associates
Cons
Middle Management / Switch to cut throat sellng
Was this review helpful?Yes 8NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not good corporate management
Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Hanford, CASeptember 4, 2017
Not a good corporate management team. I do not suggest working for the company. They lie, they are not there for anyone but themselves. It's very sad to see strong leaders be told, you are not a priority and your store is not worth my time.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
loved it
Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Tampa, FLSeptember 3, 2017
the job was probably the best i've hadunfortunately the hours were someting i couldnt do as a singe mother with a baby. if i could have id still be there. the discounts for managers is off the chain. 50% at not only b&bw but also all stores owned by the limited co!
Pros
50% disc
Cons
crazy hours
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Simple job with demanding work.
Store Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Nacogdoches, TXAugust 30, 2017
I worked as a supervisor and it was a very stressful time, I do believe however the reason was I was not originally suited for the job so I wasted many peoples time in my learning curve.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place to work customers are awesome great product. can't say enough. Loved working for the company our store actually had to close.
Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Massena, NYAugust 29, 2017
Working for Bath & Body was a great pleasure. Their products were superb. The interaction with customers. I couldn't have asked for a better group of Associates they were the best and I miss them so much and the company.
Pros
Great company to work for it Relaxed Environment . smelled great. Great products that they produced
Cons
Only thing is wished could have all Sundays off being management.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun & fast paced, but stressful
Retail Store Manager (Former Employee) –  North Brunswick, NJAugust 23, 2017
Company was very organized & goal driven. Kept up with customer demands & trends. It is a pretty fast paced environment year round. There is never not something to do, constant flow of products to fill & process. Great benefits package, and competitive pay at all levels. Very focused on developing talent within. Very high expectations of sales, and task completion. Your life is required to be focused more on work , not a very good place for those looking for work/life balance.
Pros
free gratis (product), benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Bath & Body Works. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 4,852 reviews
51.8K
41.5K
3929
2309
1227

Ratings by category

3.7Work/Life Balance
3.2Compensation/Benefits
3.2Job Security/Advancement
3.6Management
3.8Culture

Bath & Body Works Reviews by Location