Baton Rouge General Employee Reviews

Showing all 89 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Most stressful job I have ever had
Staff RN, Oncology (Former Employee) –  Baton Rouge, LAApril 9, 2014
Nurse to patient ratio was ridiculous. And if you had any less that 7 patients you were pulled to another floor, where you knew nothing about putting your patient and license at risk. It was the most stressful job I have ever had.
Was this review helpful?Yes8No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to work if you keep to yourself
Restock associate/ central supply department (Former Employee) –  Baton Rouge, LAMarch 23, 2015
people are somewhat friendly
the hardest part of the job is the people
my co worker where lovely
I learned to work harder to get the job done
Pros
meeting different people
Cons
short breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Team Work on Night Shift
Emergency Department Registered Nurse (Current Employee) –  Baton Rouge, LAMarch 8, 2015
Least paying hospital in the area; lay offs due to other hospital closing; ER holds patient all night due to limited staff on respective floors to transfer patients; ER manager very personable
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interdiciplinary Team and Great Environment
MSW Internship (Former Employee) –  Baton Rouge, LAAugust 10, 2013
Interning at the Baton Rouge General has given me the oppertunity to grow as a social worker in that I learned better communication skils, multi-tasking, prioritizing and time management.
Was this review helpful?Yes11No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place
Security Officer (Former Employee) –  3600 florida blvdAugust 23, 2012
Enjoyed helping other people out. Typical night included locking hospital doors and escorting visitors to patient rooms after hours. Enjoyed my time there.
Pros
free breakfast
Cons
being stuck outside when its raining
Was this review helpful?Yes5No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoyed work at BRG , long hours alot of team work
PCA-CNA (Former Employee) –  Baton Rouge, LAMarch 13, 2012
I loved working for Brg but long hours some conflict with my schooling alot of on call shifts, great place to work as far as team work, personal service for the paitents was over the top
Was this review helpful?Yes4No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Family enviroment
Dietary (Former Employee) –  baton rougeAugust 1, 2015
They are a good company to work for. The benefits are excellent and the employees are friendly and management is great. First job out of military and fell in love. Hated having to leave.
Pros
benefits
Cons
not enough hours
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not a fun work place the crew made it worth it.
ER Technician (Former Employee) –  Baton Rouge, LAJanuary 11, 2016
i wish it was still open the ER closed down March 2015 the state lets us down. with no money flowing in from grants there was no way to save the hospital.
Pros
the crew
Cons
type of patient flow
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great pet time work
Guest Service Representative (Current Employee) –  Baton Rouge, LAJanuary 20, 2016
I have kept this job as a pert time experience for many years. It has been a wonderful place to earn extra money.
My manager is outstanding and works well with my full time work schedule.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I worked with nurses that were very caring
Patient Care Associate SDS (Former Employee) –  Baton Rouge, LAJuly 16, 2013
I love helping people and I also loved my job. The hardest part was when SDS merged with another department.
Pros
working with people.
Cons
working with a few that didn't care.
Was this review helpful?Yes8No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
always a team player and likes to work really hard
Phelbotomist (Current Employee) –  Baton Rouge, LAApril 20, 2013
really great co workers, working very nice hours, the employees never got thank you for geting the job done and working very long hours
Pros
team player
Cons
no breaks sometimes
Was this review helpful?Yes5No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dirty hospital
insider (Former Employee) –  mid cityFebruary 22, 2013
I would NEVER go to this hospital after working there! Get the lab supervisor out of there! Doctors put things on your chart that you don't have and say they had to. Very dirty environment. Just overall terrible!
Was this review helpful?Yes3No6
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management
Pre-Analytical Tech (Former Employee) –  Baton Rouge, LAApril 17, 2015
This was my first jobs fresh out of phlebotomy school. They were so nice and made sure that I was ready for the job. If I had questions about anything they were willing to answer it. I loved working here.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A typical work day
Cardiac ICU, Trauma and Burn unit therapist (Former Employee) –  Baton Rouge, LANovember 17, 2013
I loved greeting all my patients. I worked in Cardiac units, ER, Burn unit, and anywhere in between. This was the best place to learn new procedures for my line of work.
Was this review helpful?Yes10No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work and learn
RN Staff Nurse (Former Employee) –  Baton Rouge, LAJanuary 28, 2014
1st position out of Nursing school. Staff very acceptable to new grads. Great learning experience.
Pros
open to new grads
Cons
went from 8 to 12 hour shifts which were difficult at the time
Was this review helpful?Yes4No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
rn/ charge nurse (Current Employee) –  Baton Rouge, LAOctober 21, 2015
Very diverse atmosphere, the knowledge and training were phenomenal. Every day was adventurous and challenging, but to save a life is so rewarding. My colleagues were an awesome group
,
Was this review helpful?Yes4No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Exciting Job
medical transcription (Former Employee) –  Baton Rouge, LADecember 19, 2015
The skills that I obtained with this company are priceless. I will forever take with me the patients that I met, the friendliest of the providers, and the culture of the office.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I would love to continue working at BRG but the pay is not sufficient.
Environmental Service Technician (Current Employee) –  Baton Rouge LADecember 30, 2012
BRG is a beautiful hospital with genuine people providing quality care to patients and their guests.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great hospital to work! Great for new nurses.
Staff Nurse, Medical-Surgical Unit (Current Employee) –  Baton Rouge, LAOctober 6, 2014
I loved working here. Great coworkers, and good management. Lots of teamwork.
Pros
teamwork, great doctors and nurses.
Cons
pay, benefits.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
OOK
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  BATON ROUGEJune 28, 2015
I REALLY ENJOYED THIS JOB IT REALLY HAD A LOT OF PERKS JUST DISLIKED THAT IT WAS PART TIME AND HAD TO WORK ONLY SO MANY HOURS BUT OTHER THAN THAT THE PEOPLE ARE WONDERFUL
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 89 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Culture