Battelle Employee Reviews in United States

Showing all 159 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
unfriendly to international student
Job Seeker (Former Employee) –  OhioAugust 7, 2016
I feel very disappointed that tons of American companies are unfriendly to international students. Battelle is one of them.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Contractor in a Government Facility
Senior Office Assistant (Former Employee) –  Fort Detrick, MDAugust 1, 2016
I worked as a contractor in a government facility and alot of the work enviroment was structured to that so I can not fairly rate the company as a whole.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Place to work at
Electrical System Engineer (contract) (Current Employee) –  Columbus, OHJuly 10, 2016
It is a very good place to work at. the only thing not good as a contractor is you do not get any Benefits. Management for the most part are friendly and very nice.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and challenging work place
HRIS Senior Office Assistant (Current Employee) –  Columbus, OHMay 12, 2016
job is challenging for various reasons
1. lay offs
2. retirees
leaving the ppl behind with lil knowledge of job duties
However, it is a place where you learn a lot and grow within the company. Very competitive and passionate ppl work in this place.
Pros
Credit Union, Postal Office, Laundry services, Gym, Breast feeding/pumping rooms, onsite daycare
Cons
benefits, very busy (sometimes cant take a break), lots of lay offs lately
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Mission
Supervisor, Contracts to Billing (Current Employee) –  Columbus, OHMay 1, 2016
The overall mission of Battelle is great. However, because of previous management/investment errors, the Business Services group of the company is in some disarray.
Pros
Great Mission for the Company
Cons
Management of Business Services is in flux
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent place to work
Electro-Mechanical Technician (Former Employee) –  Columbus, OHApril 29, 2016
Factory style work. Very little upward moving possibilities. Work life was alright and management was very understanding and accept short notice of absence.
Pros
Management understood necessity for time off and work life issues.
Cons
Short breaks, 30 min lunch, and inconsistent work flow.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
no ping pong tables in a govnt warehouse
Senior Warehouse Specialist (Former Employee) –  Fort Worth, TXMarch 28, 2016
Great company , very employee oriented.. A non profit company that put all its earnings back into research and employee benifits.
Pros
6 months sick leave
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its a very interesting job
Animal Research Technician (Former Employee) –  Columbus, OHMarch 26, 2016
It's a very good job. The animals I worked with were the best. You just couldn't help but fall in love with each one of them.
Pros
Worked well with each other.
Cons
hated the after testing concering the animals..
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Most intelligent people around
SENIOR INDUSTRIAL HYGIENIST (Former Employee) –  Columbus, OHMarch 18, 2016
I was incredibly lucky to have such great co-workers. Staff are extremely talented, intelligent, have integrity, and are committed to providing quality work.
Pros
No "time clock" per se
Cons
Continuous cut backs on benefits.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best place ive worked at.
Hazardous Waste Technician (Former Employee) –  Columbus, OHMarch 15, 2016
Most enjoyable part of the job i had their was or team was like family. I learned alot from the people i worked with and got to do alot of cool things.
Pros
The Experiences of working there
Cons
high layoff rate
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Closeout Analyst (Current Employee) –  Columbus, OHFebruary 19, 2016
There have been a few organizational changes and scares, but overall this is a good place to work. People are friendly and there's a lot of perks to working here, including the onsite gym and cafeteria which houses guest vendors daily from outside of the restaurant. There seems to be a good opportunity for advancement both lateral and vertically.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive place to work and yes we had a ping pong table
Analyst III, Content Conversion Manager (Current Employee) –  Charlottesville, VAFebruary 8, 2016
Flexible environment. Allowed for multiple off-site training sessions. Encouraged continued education. Quiet environment allowed for Developed a Battelle specific schema based on DocBook using Altova XMLSpy for the vendor to validate documents against.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Essentially consulting work
Transportation Researcher (Former Employee) –  Columbus, OHFebruary 1, 2016
Significant travel made this company more attractive when I was younger than now that I have a family. Constantly need to keep selling yourself both internally and externally.
Was this review helpful?Yes5No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Job Work/Life Balance, but their is no job security
Office of Supplier Diversity - OSD Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Columbus, OHJanuary 22, 2016
Great work/life balance, but I would not recommend anyone to consider Battelle as an employer due to lack of job security.
Pros
Great Job Work/Life Balance
Cons
Lack of Job Security
Was this review helpful?Yes8No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Analytical Chemist (Former Employee) –  Columbus, OHJanuary 15, 2016
Do quality work and big government contracts are performed all year around, good laboratories do many analytical work. Coworkers are friendly, management is knowledgeable,
Pros
Social activities
Cons
Health cost little more
Was this review helpful?Yes2No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fascinating Work
Level 5 technician (Current Employee) –  Richland, WANovember 13, 2015
It's a very interesting place to work. I have been able do some incredible things working here. Because it's in the nuclear field, there is a lot of oversight and regulation. I work to many procedures and have to do a lot of paperwork. However, it's worth it when I get the opportunity to do something that few people get to do. Conduct of operations is a culture where I work. I know I can take the valuable things that I have learned here and apply it anywhere.
Pros
Benefits and opportunities to network .
Cons
Long commute to get there. It takes me over an hour each way.
Was this review helpful?Yes6No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I would not work there
Crafts Maintenance Leader (Current Employee) –  Columbus, OHNovember 12, 2015
I worked there for 37 years, was threatened into early retirement. Looking a new carrier outside of Battelle. The benefits went out the window.
Was this review helpful?Yes11No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved the Job
Surety Technician (Former Employee) –  Anniston Army Depot, ALNovember 10, 2015
I met some very long term friends, have been beneficial in my life since. learned a lot about government procedures as well as working with multiple departments. Management was awesome and very helpful. love my immediate supervisor, he was the best!!!
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent place to work
Technical Project Manager (Former Employee) –  Silverdale, WAOctober 23, 2015
Would go back if there was funding to support my position. All clients that I was fortunate to work with were excellent and have become personal friends after moving to new work assignments.
Pros
excellent working relationship with all my group
Cons
DoD OCO funding
Was this review helpful?Yes3No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Never the same day
Project & Program Admin Coordinator/Office Manager (Former Employee) –  Lexington, MAOctober 14, 2015
As a jack of all trades for this company, my day was never the same. The wide variety of skills were needed for the logistics and projects I was able to work on. Great folks to work with.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No4Report

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 159 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.9
Compensation/Benefits
4.0
Job Security/Advancement
3.2
Management
3.3
Culture
3.7