Battelle Employee Reviews

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A consortium of professionals from all Military Services
Protection Operations /CBRNE Training Mgr (Former Employee), San Antonio, TXMarch 6, 2014
One of Battelle's main "reasons to work for" is the fact that their people are high quality members of the work force - Military or civilian. The branch that I worked in (military side) only ran with the best and smartest of the military. A great group to work with.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging job with lots of variety
Senior Research Scientist/Management Consultant (Current Employee), Owasso, OKFebruary 6, 2014
Pros: variety, travel opportunities, good benefits package
Cons: too much travel, management bureacracy at times
Requires extensive travel to support project needs. A good company with good benefits, challenging work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Sr. Administrative Assistant (Current Employee), Columbus, OHFebruary 3, 2014
Pros: all good
Good company to work for - great benefits
Pleasant environment
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
IT Coordinator (Former Employee), Anniston, ALJanuary 21, 2014
A typical day consists of troubleshooting hardware/software, implementing new procedures, generating reports and interfacing with end users and/or management to determine how to make the workplace better.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Too Sciency
Chemistry Technician (Former Employee), Columbus, OHJanuary 14, 2014
Testing on lab animals and working with nerve agents was not my cup of tea, but it was a learning experience and a fine first job as a chemist.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Energetic and advancement opportunities
Solutions Chemistry Lead (Former Employee), Stockton, UTDecember 30, 2013
Americon, Inc allowed me to experience all different aspects of the environmental field and provided me with the knowledge to excel and advance within the company.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
25 Years of Service
Retired (Former Employee), Richland, WADecember 18, 2013
Pros: job work life was balanced, benefits were excellent, job security was present, and job culture met battelle guidelines
Cons: minimum customer interface.
Retired (Former Employee), Richland, WA – December 18, 2013
Pros: Job Work life was balanced, benefits were excellent, Job Security was present, and Job Culture met Battelle guidelines
Cons: Minimum customer interface.
The Electrical Craft and Instrument Tech crafts merged as one craft.

Electrician: Received job assignments, completed work as assigned.

Instrument Tech-Computer Service was ~ 18 of the 25 years at Battelle. This was the most rewarding and best aligned with my skill base.
.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
CBRNE
CBRNE Coordinator for Navy Region Mid-Atlantic (Former Employee), Norfolk, VADecember 17, 2013
Great company to work for, worked in all facets of CBRNE and emergency management and incident mitigation for Navy Region Mid Atlantic
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a bad place to work
Intelligence Analyst III (Former Employee), Columbus, OHDecember 14, 2013
High level management is obsessed with health and safety. It's quite obnoxious.

But for the most part my managers were very nice and accommodating. Co-workers were pretty good. Didn't experience a whole lot of office politics.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great life/work balance
Security Information Data Analyst IV (Former Employee), Columbus, OHDecember 5, 2013
Pros: gym
Cons: poorly defined work definitions
I enjoyed the daily Operations and working with different groups.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management / Maintenence
CD Monitoring Foreman Demil Tech III (Former Employee), Stockton UtahNovember 18, 2013
Pros: managing good people
Cons: location
Managed a crew daily monitoring the air for chemical warfare agents.
I learned ho to operate and maintain vital equipment.
I was able to manage and train employees with friendly and productive results.
My co-worker were productive and very reliable.
The hardest part of the job was meeting deadlines that co-insisted with URS and government regulations.
Working with reliable people that you could trust was the most enjoyable part of my job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A career without limits
Protection Specialist III (Current Employee), Anniston, ALNovember 13, 2013
Pros: great work and great rewards
Cons: as with all contract work, the next contract is always "working"
Battelle Memorial Institute offers unlimited potential for advancement, a great job culture, and competitive salary. I have no idea what a typical day is because each day presents different challenges and rewards. The most enjoyable part of the job are the co-workers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Times
Master Technician (Former Employee), Stockton,UTNovember 3, 2013
Pros: great pay with good benifits
Cons: swing shift
Busy get out get it done, Help others in need. Sampling, Monitoring, CEMS, Mercury, ACAMS, GC, Analyze, Team work, Visions and Values, Safety.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company
Senior Receptionist (Former Employee), cleveland ohioOctober 22, 2013
Co workers are great management is great always ways to grow in company
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Good Company
Senior Chemist I - TOCDF Chemical Agent Depot (Former Employee), Stockton, UTOctober 21, 2013
Pros: very good co.
Cons: very good co.
Very Good Company; Senior Chemist I - TOCDF Deseret Chemical Warfare Agent Depot
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great learnings
Senior Researcher (Former Employee), Lexington, MAOctober 15, 2013
I was a consultant for Battelle and was provided the opportunity to work with large manufacturing operations - helping them become more efficient. The lessons learned during this stage in my life will always stay with me.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Just another day at the satellite site that does Manufacturing
Quality Assurance Engineer (Current Employee), Dublin, OHOctober 13, 2013
Pros: opportunities to learn
Cons: typical non-profit contract manufacturer.
A typical day could involve reviewing an engineering design change, a first article inspection, review of nonconforming material, or just another day where circuit cards and assemblies are assembled.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A company that cares about its employees
Demil Tech III, Foreman (certified) (Former Employee), Stockton, UTSeptember 28, 2013
Pros: great wages and benefit package, company retirement
Cons: government contracts so there is a limited area to work in.
Great company to work for, they really care about their employees. They have competitive to high wages and great benefits.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work, good pay, lousy hours
Instrument Technician-Metals Chemist (Former Employee), Stockton, UtahSeptember 18, 2013
Company was really good to work for at first, however, over the years, the project got top heavy and became impersonal. They had really good benefits and they were always willing to pay overtime.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Provide support to small office group.
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee), Cambridge, MASeptember 16, 2013
Pros: small working office group.
Cons: great working experience but was temporary.
Provide overall office support to small group. Database maintenance.
Claim this company page
Headquarters
505 King Ave.
Columbus OH, United States 43201
Revenue
$5B to $10B (USD)
Employees
5,001 to 10,000
Industry
Links
Battelle website