Find companies:
Battelle
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
109 reviews

Battelle Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome place to work
Protection Operations Specialist (Current Employee), Aberdeen, MDMay 16, 2013
Battelle is an awesome organization to work for. Their progressive approach to meeting the needs of its employees make it a premiere place to work. Flexible schedule allows for employees to take care of work and home.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad Managment
Assembly Technician (Former Employee), Hilliard, OHApril 23, 2013
Cons: laid off frequantly
The managment is only concerned about looking good in the eyes of upper levle managment.
they never do what is right for the cliants or the employes
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
People are great to work with
Senior Office Assistant (Current Employee), Stockton, UTApril 11, 2013
Pros: people, location, pay
Cons: job has come to an end
I have loved working here for Battelle for over the past 8 years. I am sad that the project is over and that the great people that i have meet will all be going our seprate ways.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
See below
Senior Research Technician (Current Employee), Columbus, OHMarch 29, 2013
Pros: onsight fitness center
Cons: job security
Has been a stable company.
Flexible workng hours.
Have learned diverse computer systems and analyses.
Management has made some poor decisions in resent years i.e. building facilities that can not be fully utilized.
The hardest and most enjoyable part of my job has been method development and trouble shooting.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun work place
Demil Technician Three (Current Employee), tooele, utahMarch 28, 2013
fun • Working a twelve hour rotating shift consisting of working days and nightswork place
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good working environment with lots of opportunities
Monitoring Technician 2 (Current Employee), Stockton, UtahMarch 20, 2013
Pros: great pay
Cons: shift work
Battelle is an all around good job. A typical day at work challenging all the ACAMS in the morning and doing the DAAMS runs. Through out the day, pull samples when necessary. Along with any other duties that need to be done for that day. Co- workers are good to work with and management is good. Hardest part of the job is how technical all the data is – more... that we enter, and all of the chain of custody of all the samples – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Innovative and forward thinking
Vice President and General Manager (Current Employee), Columbus, OHMarch 18, 2013
Battelle is the best company BY FAR for which I worked. Forward thinking organization with unique challenges and opportunities. Wonderful culture of diversity and inclusion. Broad range of experience.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people to work with.
Application Engineer (Former Employee), Richland, WAFebruary 28, 2013
Pros: beautiful campus, great people and fun work.
Cons: it's government and funding has flattened and the threat of layoffs is always looming.
This was the best job I ever had both in terms of the people I worked with, the wide variety of work I got to do and the pay.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work for
Subcontracting Officer - Government Subcontracts (Current Employee), Columbus, OHJanuary 27, 2013
Pros: onsite gym, great cafeteria, onsite childcare
Great company to work for. Pretty good work/life balance and benefits. Battelle has a good reputation with the community and is a prestigious place in Columbus to work. Management is relatively transparent and everyone I've ever worked with there has been extremely friendly and helpful.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Structured work place
Instrument Technician IV (Current Employee), Anniston, ALJanuary 26, 2013
On a typical day I perform method develop on new waste samples and perform normal extraction analysis on routine samples to support plant operations. I am responsible for training employees on hazards in the lab, hazards in their day job task and the proper ways of protecting themselves from those hazards using engineering controls, administrative controls – more... and personal protective equipment. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company, poor management
Undisclosed since CIT dept. is so small (Former Employee), Columbus, OHJanuary 3, 2013
Pros: benefits, pay, flexibility with schedule
Cons: management, backstabbing, lack of training
Their IT (CIT) department used to be a good one. I was there for five years and enjoyed coming to work every day. A reorganization took place in 2010 that forced upper management out - management that had been there over 25 years. CIT grew into a micro managed environment. Resentment grew and turnover went from 3-4 staff leaving per year to over a dozen – more... in a six month period. Management had little or no training for what they were in charge of. On those same lines new applications were pushed out with nothing more than a one hour class for CIT staff, who were then expected to support it. They used false allegations as the basis of write ups and dismissals, forcing those out who they deemed were "trouble." I got fed up and left on my own after being in a meeting where managers were discussing who to dismiss next and what "made up" reason they could use. Overall the company is still a good one, but if you are looking for a job in IT I wish you the best of luck. It's painful. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting and challenging work but poor management
Technician Specialist (Former Employee), West Jefferson, OHJanuary 1, 2013
Pros: flexible work schedule, 401k, interesting work
Cons: poor management, little job security, low moral
I worked at Battelle for over three years when I quit for another job. The work was fun and interesting, and the benefits were not great but were good for the Columbus area. My work schedule was flexible and i could take time off when needed. The people you get to work with are wonderful. Unfortunately, due to poor management, the company is really – more... struggling. Thereis a constant threat and fear by all employees of being laid off at any time, and the last several years they have let go of hundreds of employees each year. Moral is low, and when management was asked in a meeting what they would do about it, we were told that it was our own fault if there was poor moral. The hiring process is a popularity contest, and there is little room for professional growth. Overall, although Battelle is one of the better paying companies in the area, I would not recommend it. I did end up leaving for a job where i have fewer responsibilities, less stress, and get paid 50% higher. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly, driven employees in a unique work space
Applied Biology and Aerosol Technology Intern (Current Employee), Columbus, OHDecember 19, 2012
The company uses flex schedule, the employees are all extremely intelligent and driven. Management can be bureaucratic at times but the individuals genuinely care about employees. The work is extremely challenging but the people make it highly enjoyable
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
at the time...
study coordinator (Former Employee), Columbus, OHDecember 10, 2012
was respected and valued as a good place to work. those opinions are decling within the company due to poor management and poor economy.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
World's Largest Contract R&D Facility
Program Manager 1205 / Lead Program Manager (Current Employee), Columbus, OhioNovember 29, 2012
Variety of projects working with large government agencies and fortune 500 industrial companies. Excellent staff with innovative solutions to difficult problems
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I was supplied with all required materials and easy access to supervisors for clarification and counseling.
Medical Research Associate (Former Employee), San Diego, CANovember 27, 2012
Pros: excellent pay and work conditions.
Cons: would have liked to have had social security taken out for future retirement advantage.
I enjoyed everything associated with Battelle and the medical research study on hearing loss in the military that I began and completed.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Corporate Business with multitude of projects
Computer Artist (Current Employee), Columbus, OhioNovember 9, 2012
Pros: nice amount of paid time off
Cons: day to day shuffle to find your own work internal to the organization
There are always interesting projects to work on as long as you stay in contact with the right people.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Strategic Analyst then later helped run a major training contract
Research Scientist, Deputy Program Manager (Former Employee), Arlington, VAOctober 29, 2012
Pros: intense concentration of smart co-workers
Cons: lethargic business practices.
Working at Battelle as a strategic analyst was great. The customers trust you and treat you and your work and opinion with respect and it was probably the highest concentration of really smart people I've ever worked with.

Management was mixed, some great managers, some terrible. But not a bad group to work for overall.

Corporate culture though is – more... lethargic with the business instincts of a soon-to-be extinct Panda. Almost no desire to develop nascent opportunities into new business, and one of the least effective sales organizations I've encountered. Program Managers did nearly all of the business capture and keep the lights on.

The main business strategy was to pretty much wait for the competitors to fail, then move in. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Inconsistent job security, out of touch with employees, poor managing skills
Technician (Former Employee), Columbus, OHOctober 26, 2012
Pros: flexible work schedule, compensation
Cons: job security, management, don't value employees
Battelle has many layers of management, which equates to making it extremely difficult to perform your job. Opportunities for advancement and professional training are seriously lacking. Compensation is one of their high points, as well as a flexible work schedule.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very high tech
Full Time, September (Former Employee), Dublin, OHOctober 5, 2012
Pros: different projects
Cons: very hr heavy work enviorment.
high paying, good experience, fun people to work with. Lots of opportunities to work on different projects

About Battelle

When you use a copier, hit a golf ball, or listen to a CD, you're using technologies developed by Battelle Memorial Institute. – Read more

Battelle Photos