Baylor University

50 reviews

Baylor University Employee Reviews

Showing all 50 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Baylor
Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  Waco TexasApril 17, 2012
Worked there as a Research Associate. Great place to work. Lots of challenging things to work on, but not a lot of lateral movement. This is a very complex place, and it has a very large team working to keep it running well. Education is encourage, along with personal growth.
Pros
great benefits
Cons
drive time
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Christian environment. Excellent pay.
Insurance Claims Specialist (Former Employee) –  Waco, TXNovember 23, 2014
Lack of training for the position. Lack of interaction with Department Head. No Team focus. Department head did not have a clear understanding of the demands of the job with regard to it being a part time position.
Pros
dining hall privileges. excellent direct supervisor.
Cons
mismanagement of the department.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Relaxed atmosphere
Police Officer (Current Employee) –  Waco, TexasAugust 9, 2015
Baylor campus is smewhat small and therefore the patrol area is small. Typical days are spent checking buildings and interacting with students. During the school year, many sporting events require officer presence.
Pros
Small department with good personell
Cons
Large ammount of mandated overtime.
Was this review helpful?Yes8No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Company policies and values all over the place
Concessions and Novelties Manager (Current Employee) –  Waco, TXJuly 13, 2012
Great company to work with. Values and policies need to be set the same for everyone within the university and not just select few. Exactly the reason why I had to resign from a 7 year job
Pros
people
Cons
people
Was this review helpful?Yes5No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Relaxed, focused on Student Workers
Student Athlete Tutor (Current Employee) –  Waco, TXOctober 21, 2015
Very flexible with my time as a student in letting me schedule my tutoring sessions. Most of the time I just educated the student athletes in their subject and created study tools to help them learn.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A family/team atmosphere with everyone working on the University's mission
Administrative Assistant/Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Waco, TXApril 19, 2015
Baylor is a great place to work and to learn. There are great opportunities for faculty, staff and students. People care about each other, their community and the world.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun, supportive, student job
Yoga Instructor (Current Employee) –  Waco, TXAugust 1, 2012
I worked as a yoga instructor for Baylor since my freshman year. My boss and graduate assistant have been great mentors through my college experience. I have loved the opportunity to built relationships and connections through my work experience at Baylor.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
BLAST Program through Baylor
Tutor (Former Employee) –  Waco, TXMarch 6, 2015
The program I worked for was great. Funding stopped and so we could not continue but one of my favorite jobs I have ever had. Baylor was a great choice for undergrad and it was a great employer as well.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Extremely fitting culture for me
Graduate Apprenticeship (Former Employee) –  Waco, TXDecember 27, 2015
Work as a GA for Baylor University for several years. Baylor was one of the best places to be employed as a aspiring young professional and someone looking to establish an extensive network.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Assisted graduate student with her research in cognitive psychology
Undergraduate Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  Waco, TXMay 20, 2013
It was a good place to work. The most enjoyable part was working with many different people and personalities.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Academic Mentor, Office of Academic Success (Current Employee) –  Waco, TXAugust 30, 2015
I liked working there. The people were great. I recommend it. It teaches you the complex business fundamentals for good business leadership
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good experience
Internship - Undergraduate Research Program (Former Employee) –  Waco, TXMarch 18, 2015
had a great experience. typical work day was talk to professor complete assignments. get guidance to other research. co workers all graduate students good experience.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great emlyees and managment
Concessions Associate (Former Employee) –  Waco, TXNovember 25, 2012
I learned so much from this company working witht the mangers was great all nice and great with helping you learn and suceed.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly and safe place to work
Staff Nurse/Charge Nurse (Current Employee) –  Dallas, TXMay 20, 2013
Great culture for employees and patients. Resources are easily accessible. Upwards advancement is great. Great place to work.
Pros
highly respected company
Was this review helpful?Yes7No8
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Engineering Major
Engineering Intern (Former Employee) –  Waco, TXJuly 12, 2012
Studied mechanical and general engineering at Baylor University. Worked and designed on my own energy efficent solar panel in a lab.
Pros
great engineering school
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Environment
Office Assistant/Receptionist (Former Employee) –  Waco, TXSeptember 21, 2015
Employers really care about their employees. Very safe and productive work environment with flexible work hours conducive to my college schedule.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Graded tests and homework for Spanish lecturers
Spanish Tutor/Grader (Former Employee) –  Waco, TXJune 1, 2014
workload was minimal and working with lecturers helped both them and me learn different aspects of Spanish language
Was this review helpful?Yes3No4
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place
Audio/Visual Technician (Former Employee) –  Waco, TXMay 30, 2013
Wonderful work environment and great co-workers.
There is a lot of downtime, but when things get busy, they get BUSY.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No4
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Positive working envirotment
Physics/Chemistry Tutor (Current Employee) –  Waco, TxMay 15, 2013
I love being a tutor and having the ability to work with other students who have difficulty in Physics and Chemistry.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No4
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed working at Baylor
Assistant Head Coach and Player Development (Former Employee) –  Waco, TXJune 18, 2015
Had some great experiences at Baylor University. I enjoyed working with the players and recruiting for the University.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No

Overall rating

4.7
Based on 50 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Culture