Find companies:
BB&T
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
580 reviews

BB&T Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Deposit Corrections Specialist (Former Employee), Charlotte, North CarolinaOctober 28, 2014
I learned a lot from my coworkers. They were very helpful while I was in training and afterward.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nothing special
Teller (Former Employee), Richmond, VAOctober 27, 2014
It was a nice place to work, co workers was nice they really cater to the clients
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Place to work
Banking Administrative Assistant III (Former Employee), Richmond, VAOctober 25, 2014
Community Driven, Great Place for Employees to learn and grow
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bloated with too many layers of "management bureaucracy"
Mortgage Underwriter - Correspondent Divison (Current Employee), Wilson, NCOctober 22, 2014
Pros: strong, stable company
Cons: no support from management for employee growth/enrichment
Initially I enjoyed my job; however, almost 5 years later, I feel stuck with no hopes of any advancement opportunity, unless I look outside the company. BB&T seems to be complacent with mediocrity. They promote unqualified people to management positions based on favoritism while the qualified, more educated employees do all of the work and receive none – more... of the credit. Mid-level management can not be trusted, so employees are not comfortable sharing open and honest feedback. There is zero interest in helping employees grow or advance, as the unqualified management feels threatened by anyone perceived as being more qualified than they. Therefore, employees feel stifled, demoralized, and disrespected, which has created an atmosphere of distrust and low morale. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Mortgage Customer Service
Mortgage Customer Service (Current Employee), Greenville, NCOctober 21, 2014
I really enjoy working at BB&T and the people are awesome. I am so grateful for being able to work with a great company such as BB&T.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a great company
Meet daily sales goals (Current Employee), towson MDOctober 20, 2014
Pros: great co-works, great benefits and really nice clients
Cons: some of the managers do not help out at all in the branchs
i assist clients with customer service needs, open accounts for new client and i assist with new loans
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great workplace
Relationship Banker (Former Employee), Lumberton NCOctober 20, 2014
Loved Working here, people are so nice. This company cares about their employees and wants to make sure their employees are trained fully.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good job bad oversight
Teller (Current Employee), Buckhead, GAOctober 19, 2014
Pros: good schedules
Cons: understaffed
The managers of specific branches have too much power and not enough checks and balances over them.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great corporate culture with a few challenges
Market Leader (Former Employee), Washington DCOctober 14, 2014
Pros: benefits package (well defined pension plan), autonomy to make own decisions & fun place to work despite the sales pressure.
Cons: work/life balance, incentive program, very little room for advancement & constantly changing expectations.
I worked for this company for over a decade and saw a tremendous amount of change. Most of the changes were for the good of the organization however it seems that the bank is giving priority to efficiency over client service at this time. The sales culture is intense but manageable however the annual incentive plan and compensation are extremely inadequate – more... given the amount required to make the annual bonus. Arbitrary rules and last minute changes are set relating to incentive which make it difficult for individuals to take full advantage of the programs. Work/life balance is impossible if you want to do well and advancement is limited. Executive management is exceptional however some of the regional leadership decisions seem inconsistent with their vision. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Mission and vision focused
Market Leader II (Current Employee), Lyman, SCOctober 12, 2014
BB&T stands behind it's mission and vision to be the best of the best. As a Market Leader II, I am responsible for managing two branches while increasing retail and small business loans. Overall balanced performance is based on loans, referrals, deposit growth, etc.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional
certified senior teller, Customer Service (Former Employee), Wake Forest, NCOctober 8, 2014
Pros: great benefits
A typical day began by processing night drop deposits from commercial clients. Reports would then be pulled which gave me daily information regarding different elements from the day before. The ATM had to be maintained, filled and emptied on certain days. The branch opened at 9AM at which time our main focus was on providing excellent customer service – more... while performing transactions accurately and handling any client problems or issues. Amount of currency had to be determined and ordered for the vault as well as certain denominations had to be shipped. Accurate recording and detail was imperative. Handling of incoming and out going phone calls was a constant throughout the day. ATM, vault, TCR machine, and all cash drawers had to be balanced daily. Taking on line courses and tests regarding banking policy, regulations, and products was ongoing and daily. Monitored reports and branch to be in compliance with audit requirements. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awful
Teller/Relationship Banker (Former Employee), RosemontOctober 8, 2014
Cons: everything
Worst bank I ever worked for, they do not follow basic banking procedures. The managers put their hands in your drawer when they are in a hurry and don't want to wait for you to do a transaction. Management is dishonest which creates a hostile work environment. I was there 18month, never called in sick and the one time I called to say I might be late – more... because of a doctor appt. the manager screamed at me to go to Urgent Care. Management is unfair in how they treat people and they uphold different standards to your work depending on if they like you or not instead of basic bank rules and hard work is not recognized. They do not properly train long time employees to stay current with the new computer systems. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very great place to work!
Field Technician (Former Employee), Winchester, VAOctober 7, 2014
very great and productive place to work. coworkers are very friendly.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Benefits/Near Impossible to Advance with the Company
Certified Senior Teller (Current Employee), Wilson, NCOctober 6, 2014
I have work with BB&T for many years now completed a college degree while employed with BB&T and always get good performance reviews, but I can not advance in this company. I have watch many jobs I have applied for go to less qualified and less educated people than myself. Do not expect hard work and good results to get you ahead in this company.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great company to work for
Teller Supervisor (Former Employee), Baltimore, MDOctober 4, 2014
they treat their employees like family. the training was amazing. you knew you were being set up for success.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
bb&t
Relationship Banker (Current Employee), Miramar, FLOctober 3, 2014
No room for growth or independent thinking. Good company bad management
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced,
Teller Supervisor (Current Employee), Edgewood, MDOctober 1, 2014
All of my co-workers are great. I learned to be patient, development good relationships with my co workers and clients. The best part of my day is helping out a client, answering questions that will help them better understand banking.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work-very professional
csr/sales (Former Employee), Waynesboro, VAOctober 1, 2014
Pros: good working conditions
Cons: not anything important
very nice place to work. management and co-workers were very
nice. would like to work part-time 2-3 days a week. our jobs at
BB&T were eliminated and sent to be serviced by their service ctr.
I would still be working if this had not happened. really liked my
job
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Company values sales efforts
Branch Banker Team Leader II (Current Employee), Richmond, VASeptember 29, 2014
Company likes to reward performers with incentive bonuses, and congratulatory dinners and luncheons.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great organization, wonderful financial company
Contract Test Manager (Former Employee), Raleigh, NCSeptember 26, 2014
Work with latest software technology, great teams, lots of support, flexibility, great work-life balance

1 2 3 4 5

About BB&T

BB&T Corporation (BB&T) is a financial holding company. The Company conducts its business operations primarily through – Read more