BBCN Bank Employee Reviews

Showing all 11 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a great experience
Customer Specialist (Former Employee) –  Manhattan, NYApril 13, 2017
I assisted customers with opening new accounts and performing transactions. I also input customer's data into the system, ensuring confidentiality. My experience as a customer specialist helped me to gain communication skills and patience which taught me to how to calmly deal with difficult customers.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
no-no
Relationship Officer & AVP (Current Employee) –  Los Angeles, CAMarch 16, 2017
Do not set or have any expectation.

Role expectation wasn't clear.
Each branch is competing within and with other branch instead of competitors.
No idea of product engineering.
Still outsourcing so many basic bank products.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Accounting Officer (Current Employee) –  Los Angeles, CASeptember 12, 2016
overall good company.
company itself is still growing but have to be patient to grow with company and must know Korean cultures.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Loan Officer (Current Employee) –  Los Angeles, CAMarch 28, 2016
Great place to work. The workplace culture is definitely Korean, but they are understanding of non-Korean employees not knowing all the Korean etiquette and courtesies.

They fully pay for health insurance, and randomly have small contests/drawings/giveaways.

Overall, I think BBCN is a great place to work.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Product and fun however lack of professionalism
Utility (Current Employee) –  Fullerton, CASeptember 30, 2015
great time work under banking job however management struggle communicating each other therefore influence effectively to the employees.

The bank itself to get larger in State as one of the biggest Korea-American Bank.
Pros
flexibility
Cons
communication within management
Was this review helpful?Yes4No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Opportunty for growth
Sr KYC Anaylst (Current Employee) –  Los Angeles, CAAugust 3, 2015
Great opportunity for career growth and they treat their employees well. Positive work environment. Love that they encourage a healthy lifestyle.
Pros
Career advancement
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes5No7Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Fun working place with daily conversation of financial news of the market
Software Quality Assurance Engineer (Current Employee) –  Los Angeles, CAJanuary 27, 2015
BBCN Bank is a banking and financial business which has on-site and online business services. As a manual engineer, I test for regression and other functional test cases to test the online features and continuous developments of online banking features. I have produced and executed several different projects, shifting from full release in agile environment to upgrading and adding more into the product for the next release cycle. I am also involved in executing manual ad-hoc testing and back-end testing.

My responsibilities includes:
• Develop, Test Plans, develop Test Cases per user stories
• Responsible for providing comments for user stories within an AGILE software development environment
• Perform Smoke, Functional, Ad-hoc, and Security testing
• Involve in compatibility, usability, functional, ad-hoc, exploratory, UAT, and regression testing
• Conduct backend testing to make sure that the data at the front is in sync with the data at backend.
• Attend daily SCRUMS in agile methodology for project updates
• Attend backlog meetings to discuss the ticket priorities
• Review test cases/scripts with QA manager and project team to make sure all the scenarios are covered (positive and negative).
• Perform system validation & smoke test to validate the environment in which the newly released build is tested.
• Perform functional and full regression testing for every new release build/patch.
• Refer to the latest release notes for the resolved defects and perform defect re-testing.
• Perform test and defect management using JIRA
Was this review helpful?Yes4No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent workplace
SVP Risk Management (Former Employee) –  Seattle, WAApril 5, 2014
Good people to work with. During merger and acquisition, we were treated with respect and kindness.
Was this review helpful?Yes7No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Largest Korean based bank
Credit Analyst (Current Employee) –  Seattle, WADecember 1, 2013
It's good to learn korean community and sales skills for Korean.
working hours vary, and you need to know how to work for the korean boss.
Was this review helpful?Yes14No7Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Korean bank managed by ethnic cultural standard
SVP (Current Employee) –  Tacoma, WAMay 6, 2013
I do not see vision and missions of the bank other than M&A of other Korean banks in the nation.
Pros
more ATMs to Korean speaking customers
Cons
weak banking principles
Was this review helpful?Yes28No6Report

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at BBCN Bank. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.5
Based on 11 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.3
Compensation/Benefits
3.2
Job Security/Advancement
3.2
Management
3.1
Culture
2.8