Find companies:
Bealls Inc.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
118 reviews

Bealls Inc. Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work place and great co workers
Supervisor (Former Employee), Peoria, AZOctober 8, 2014
Pros: discount on merchandise
Cons: healthcare
Overall my experience was ok. I really liked all my co workers just wish their was better management.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
n/a
Supervisor (Former Employee), Pensacola, FLOctober 8, 2014
Great company. Friendly managers and great policies. Would work for this company again
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive always making changes in the store
Shift Supervisor (Former Employee), Lady Lake, FLOctober 2, 2014
Pros: smiles from customers
Cons: days off
Open registers, count Deposit, input data, ensure the whole store was proper and ready to open. I learned to always change the way the Displays are made to ensure that our daily customers see all we have to provide. Co workers were great, they were happy to work, worked as a team and finish major task in a timely manner. I lenjoy closing the store as – more... much is unloading the products on truck day. the busier the better. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very productive work place and great people
Freight Claims Clerk (Former Employee), Bradenton, FLOctober 1, 2014
Pros: great benefits, loved the 20% discount for stores, everyday like christmas when seeing merchandise coming in
Cons: sometimes work load can be stressful when on a deadline, however still really not a con to me
loved working here and a lot of times wish I stayed, however moved to Colorado for husband.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
push out
Supervisor (Former Employee), Jacksonville, FLSeptember 22, 2014
I was very good at my job, but change manager. It change my job
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great
Team Lead/Customer Service Associate (Former Employee), Fort Lauderdale, FLSeptember 19, 2014
Pros: n/a
Cons: n/a
I learn a lot from the job and it a great place to work
I learn a lot from the job and it a great place to work
I learn a lot from the job and it a great place to work
I learn a lot from the job and it a great place to work
I learn a lot from the job and it a great place to work
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a good place to work at one time
District Level Manager (Current Employee), AnywhereSeptember 15, 2014
Pros: good people
Cons: moving in the wrong direction opening to many new locations
I worked for this company for a number of years in a District Manager position. When I first started it was great it was like a second family. I loved coming to work love the people and places I traveled to. After about 3 years things started to change and the company started going the corporate route and forgot about the employees and started opening – more... stores trying to compete with Ross and TJX which this company will never be on that level. All of these new stores are failing sales are awful customers don't want the One Card that they pressure employees to push there spending more money then they make to keep these stores open. So with all of this happening of course they don't give out raises or bonuses. I've seen great managers and employees leave this company because of being unfairly pushed out or just being tired of all of the politics they have to put up with. Stores have very little to no budget and are expected to get their freight out, ring sales, recover the store, go to the bank, get payroll and schedules complete. Its all unrealistic and when the manager can't do or explains it's only 2 people working in a store they get put on the chopping block. At one point I made this place my life I spent more time in the stores then I spent at home which didn't bother me because I loved my job, but now this place is like going to prison everyday. If you plan on taking a district level position beware it's all about kissing as much butt as you can to keep your job. If it's not broke don't fix it greed is going to be this company's down fall. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I love my job!!!
Supervisor (Current Employee), Winder, GASeptember 14, 2014
Pros: 20% discount, close relationships, nice family environment.
Cons: there are none. it's work!
I have worked for Bealls Outlet for 4 years, just like anywhere it has it's ups and downs, but there's nowhere I'd rather be. We are like a family & I love my coworkers & customers so much!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Retail
Lead Supervisor/Assistant Manager (Current Employee), Monroe, GASeptember 13, 2014
Its a pretty interesting place to work. Love the workers and some customers
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Irregular schedules, payroll errors, company policies and standards not followed, makes working environment difficult. Customers and co-workers make.
Senior Supervisor/Asst. Manager (Current Employee), Kingman, AZAugust 31, 2014
Pros: the enjoyable customers.
Cons: low pay, miniimal benefits, untrained management.
Small company with growing pains that lacks corporate supervision.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive place
Supervisor (Former Employee), Orange City, FLAugust 29, 2014
Pros: discount employess
Cons: insurances
I learned different thing every day. i love work with people and help them. my manager give me the opportunity to grow in the company the cashier to supervisor ...
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast paced teamwork atmosphere
markdowns and truck process (Former Employee), Venice, FLAugust 25, 2014
Pros: employee discount
Cons: not enough hours
I would either start immediately with the featured markdowns in specified departments and reorganize to look presentable. or start to separate into departments and tag (sizes and or security) clothing to be put on the sales floor.
learned to properly use security tags and where they should be located. markdowns are easier to identify with the new scanners – more... we were provided.
worked well with management and co workers. was flexible with coming in early or staying later.
Hardest part was not being able to lift heavy objects do to a minor disability in my left wrist. only able to lift approx. 10lbs. without help.
enjoyed my job working early morning shifts when needed. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
overstafges, not enough hours
processor (Current Employee), fortmyers,FLAugust 24, 2014
Pros: 30/60 minite lunch, there are sum amazing peopl but very few
Cons: managment sucks, pay is horrible, cant survive off the hours
Underpaid,not enough hours, they want you to do work that isnt even in your pay grade for procsessers and material handler and probolly even cashiers your only starting out at 8.00 an hour during off seasons they only give you 11 to 20 hours a week if your lucky the managment team is a joke half of them clearly have no idea how to do there job worst – more... place to ever work dont bother waating your time its not worth it trust me – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's a good learning experience
Supervisor (Current Employee), Covington, GAAugust 21, 2014
Pros: possibility for yearly raises
Cons: management favoritism
Wouldn't stay there forever but it's a good job to learn to get your feet wet in. Nice if you don't plan on staying more than a few years.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overstaffed, not enough hours
Sales Associate (Current Employee), Queen Creek, AZAugust 18, 2014
Pros: laid back atmosphere, 30 minute lunch
Cons: $8 pay, lack of hours, difficult management
I get 5 hours a week. I'm getting about 20 hours for the WHOLE month. The management is difficult (she is a very nice lady but favorites several employees). I love the atmosphere of our store but simply do not make enough to stay. 5 people have quit now due to her not giving enough hours, I understand that we don't make enough money to pay for all of – more... us to have enough hours but she needs to let some people go. There is one supervisor that had worked for the company for almost 4 years and the manager lied to him over and over about how many hours he would get, etc. Overall, I will miss the workplace and my coworkers but I don't make enough money to support myself. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
We were a family!
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Cocoa Beach, FLAugust 17, 2014
Worked with some of the most amazing caring individuals of my life !
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Somedays could be better than others
Asst. Store Manager (Former Employee), Delray Beach, FLAugust 13, 2014
Always a challenge!! Always treat people the way that you would want to be treated! Co-workers--most of the time---hard workers--took pride in there work.---Management-could be so negative!!-Accomplishments that were made thru out the day!!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Volatile. Appearance Based.
Retail Associate (Former Employee), Nokomis, FLAugust 7, 2014
Pros: the employees were like family.
Cons: short breaks, expensive healthcare. irritable management.
Let their managers base raises and hours on their personal feelings and opinions and not on a persons work merit. If your appearance changed for the negative while in their employee (such as gaining weight or losing a few teeth) they would try to run you off, if your work ethic was strong and they had no real reason to fire you they would take the soonest – more... possibility to let you go, such as a store closing. Instead of transferring you, they would give a severance. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
If the micro management would end..
Loss Prevention District Agent (Former Employee), Mobile, ALAugust 6, 2014
Pros: good pay, nice store managers
Cons: micro management
If Burkes/Beall's could only do away with micro managing there departments, Loss Prevention in particular then it would be an awesome place to work. A great company.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Family oriented company
Group Manager (Current Employee), Bradenton, FLAugust 3, 2014
Pros: travel
Cons: limited growth potential
Travel 5 days a week to different locations to visit stores, I learned so much from this job, I learned to control a P&L, to overall understand the business end of retail as well as the politics that come along with being upper management. I have awesome coworkers and leaders that taught me much about teamwork. The hardest part of this job is the lack – more... of loyalty from the corporate end of the spectrum. The most enjoyable part of this job to me is the hands on experience of setting floor plans and displays. – less

1 2 3 4 5

About Bealls Inc.

Bealls, Inc. is the parent company of Bealls Department Stores, Inc, Bealls Outlet Stores, Inc., and Burkes Outlet Stores, LLC. – Read more