Find companies:
Beckman Coulter, Inc.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
124 reviews

Beckman Coulter, Inc. Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad management resulting in turnover of employees
Administrative (Former Employee), Brea CAAugust 17, 2014
Pros: free food if able to attend meetings
Cons: misuse of temporary employees
Long days with no reward for effort. Exploits temporary employees promising them permanment employee for hard work. Then terminates contract without notice stating job no longer exists. Management concerned with head count and not productivity of employees.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Job Security/Advancement
Packer (Former Employee), Cincinnati, OHAugust 8, 2014
had very nice working people and friendly people there . I like working there
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sensational benefits
Manufacturing Associate (Former Employee), 11800 s.w. 147th ave Miami, Fl usaAugust 4, 2014
To go to a job with an excellent attitude, wonderful co-workers..
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Going down hill fast
Clinical Service Engineer (Current Employee), Anywhere, USAAugust 3, 2014
Pros: i can't think of one.
Cons: treat you like a thief. unattainable goals that they use to justify no raise/bonus. long knives out, watch your back!
Field service engineers running away like rats from a sinking ship. All the talent has left. Open positions all over the country due to them treating us like a bunch of thieves. Shifting starting hours or making you clock out early, so they don't have to pay ot. company car is nice, but it is always tracked by gps. Just had mgr point out start/stop – more... points from prior in the week. he said he just wanted to be sure that the time zone was correct. Bunch of bs. He was wielding his power to show he knows where I am and what I am doing all the time. If they hire anybody, it will be young guys just out of school and they will burn you out quickly. Keep looking my friend! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I work for Lab Medicine.
Blood analyzer Machine operator and Phlebotomist (Current Employee), Lab Medicine, Beverly Hills, roxfordJuly 31, 2014
Working in a laboratory is not boring at all. Every day you challenge with a new situation, new information, and new knowledge. Sometime the situation is critical and sometimes is normal but in both condition you need to be calm to let your mind find few solutions and pick the best of them to solve the problem. Challenging is part of this job, the most – more... interesting part of the job, working with the other members of team makes it easier to work for few hours a day in a work environment. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stable job with great schedule
Manufacturing Technician Associate (Current Employee), Miami, FLJuly 30, 2014
Pros: great schedule.
Cons: not my field, i want to interact with customers.
I assemble lab equipments for hospitals, and Universities around the world, following a build procedure. I process data and keep control of it every day. I Cycle count the parts being use for the instrument integration. I have two breaks.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Biotech company to work for.
Senior Program Manager (Former Employee), Indianapolis, INJuly 30, 2014
Interesting work experience.
Leading edge technology in the bioresearch world.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lean But Mean
Advanced Field Service/Project Coordinator (Current Employee), Indianapolis, INJuly 10, 2014
Pros: pay
Cons: lack of advancement opportunity
Was recently purchased by a large company and while their business model is sound they are running their work force into the ground.

They keep on asking you to do more with less and setting unrealistic expectations.

Advancement is a joke. It's all about who's butt you kiss rather than how hard you work and whether you can be "controlled".

The only – more... thing that has kept me here is the competitive pay. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
60-70 work weeks
Associate (Current Employee), Carlsbad, CAJune 29, 2014
Cons: no work-life balance, below average benefits, short-term financial goals, customer service not as important as meeting internal financial goals.
Long days and weekend work required; average pay; below average bonuses; below average benefits; below average holidays; constant fire-fighting mode with no real attempt at long-term solutions (especially if investment is required). Strictly 100% financial driven; customer needs, though often spoken of, are not addressed if it costs any money. Suppliers – more... are treated like adversaries; partnerships are frowned upon and do not exist. Suppliers terms are net 90 but in reality they're often paid at 120 days. Rude and unprofessional leadership. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work enviroment
Data entry of the count build per day (Former Employee), Miami, FLJune 25, 2014
A typical day at work is the Assembly of medical equipment such as pneumatics, lasers, soldering.Trouble shooting boards defaults and connections errors.
Data entry of the count build per day as wells as parts per build.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ITS GOING DOWN
CLINICAL DIAGNOSTIC ENGINEER (Former Employee), SAN FRANCISCO, CAJune 14, 2014
Pros: shared personal/business vehicle
Cons: gps in car, management, corporate cold heart.
WHAT WAS ONCE A CUSTOMER SERVICE STANDARD, HAS BECOME A CORPORATE NIGHTMARE. ONCE OBTAINED BY THE DANAHER THINK-TANK, THE BOTTOM-LINE BECAME THE SOLE OBJECTIVE. ANY DESCENT ENGINEER WITH A SHRED OF SELF RESPECT IS EITHER OUT, OR LOOKING TO DO SO.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Department Assistant (Former Employee), Miami flJune 14, 2014
Pros: free movie tickets
Cons: short lunch
Great work environment. Positive co-worker and lots of team work, always learning new task.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
challenging, competitive work atmosphere
Field Service (biomedical) Engineer (Former Employee), Brea, CAJune 11, 2014
Pros: excellent benefits, personal use of company car, training of new instruments
Cons: short breaks, work/life balance needs to be improved
Morning calls came in via text messages or had to sync database for current tasks assigned for the day at about 7:30 am. Reviewed previous repairs of instrument and punch in and leave home with travel time to customer ranging from 1/2 hr to 4 hrs. Call customer to give ETA and to discuss service repair issue. Call dispatch to update ETA or to inform – more... if issue was resolved over the phone with the customer, Arrive on site if issue was not resolved over the phone to assess and resolve the issue. Complete and close field service report and send copy to customer. Call next customer in line for service and repeat the steps above. Travel home or stay overnight if travel is greater than 90 miles. Review inventory, on line training, emails etc. during any down time throughout the day. Management stood behind us and listened most of the time. Co-workers were and awesome team. Everyone was always willing to help each other out. The hardest part of the job was having to leave a customer down because a part needed to be ordered and the best part was to resolve the problem when the customer expected resolution the following day. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Inventory Analyst (Former Employee), Miami, FLJune 8, 2014
• Instrumental in the successful transfer of three product lines from a regional division to Miami.
• Actively involved in structuring operational processes for this new Miami division.
• Have trained several employees in my role as team leader
• Maintained inventory accuracy greater than 95%
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent workplace atmosphere
Consultant - Sr. Technical Writer (Current Employee), Miami, FLMay 27, 2014
I had the opportunity of working for two groups. Both groups were excellent. The atmosphere is fantastic as is the work ethics of my co-workers. I enjoy working in a fast-paced environment and I certainly experienced that at Beckman Coulter. This has been a very positive work experience.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Medical OEM company part of Danaher corp
District Service Manager (Former Employee), Brea, CAMay 13, 2014
Pros: dedicated engineers
Cons: work life balance
A company in the healthcare industry that helps mankind to enjoy a longer and healthier life. A typical day consisted of managing engineers to provide urgent service on laboratory analyzers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
N/A
Corporate Finance Intern (Former Employee), Brea, CAMay 13, 2014
A great company to work for! I learned a lot and dealt with a wide variety of people. Experience I will never forget!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Life at the Beckman Coulter
Field Service Engineer (Former Employee), Austin, TXMay 11, 2014
I had a great manager who worked to know his employees. Great co-workers. The company was becoming more restrictive in employee freedoms for the sake of analytical data which caused friction.
Typical day would include: interfacing with customers via telephone followed by a site visits to troubleshoot instrumentation.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company
Manager Instrument Manufacturing (Current Employee), Miami, FLMay 5, 2014
Great company
Beckman Coulter develops, manufactures and markets products that simplify, automate and innovate complex biomedical testing. Scientists use our life science research instruments to study complex biological problems including causes of disease and potential new therapies or drugs. Hospital laboratories are our core clinical diagnostic customers. – more... Our life science customers include pharmaceutical and biotechnology companies, universities, medical schools and research institutions. More than 275,000 Beckman Coulter systems operate in both diagnostics and life sciences laboratories on six continents. For more than 75 years, our products have been making a difference in peoples� lives by improving the productivity of medical professionals and scientists, supplying critical information for improving patient health and reducing the cost of care – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly coworkers. Nice clean new building.
Project Coordinator/Project Manager (Former Employee), Indianapolis, INApril 24, 2014
Extensive email contact with people all over the country, and Europe. Reviewed new orders to verify their completeness. Managed the incoming and outgoing orders in our personal database. Released the orders for shipment, and sometimes personally packaged and shipped them myself. The only downside was a boss that liked to yell a lot, and run people down – more... even if they didn't work in our department. – less

1 2 3 4 5

About Beckman Coulter, Inc.

Beckman Coulter, Inc., the largest operating company of the Danaher family, is a manufacturer and marketer of biomedical testing – Read more

Beckman Coulter, Inc. Photos