Find companies:
Becton Dickinson & Company (BD)
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
135 reviews

Becton Dickinson & Company (BD) Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working with people with different backgrounds
Systems Engineering - Research Associate (Former Employee), San Jose, CAAugust 14, 2013
My group in the systems engineering department at BD focused on research and development of new technologies in the medical devices field. My boss would introduce new ideas to us and then try to implement them. My role in the group was to use MATLAB to create scripts and prototype programs to help the group efficiently analyze their results.

I was – more... able to interact with people from many different backgrounds including biologists, chemists, physicists, engineers, and computer scientists. It was quite an eye opening experience seeing people from all these fields work together. The hard part though, is having to understand the wants and needs of all these people. When creating scripts or programs I had to take into account the way in which each field would use what I was developing and make it understandable for them; when dealing with multiple disciplines this can become chaotic. But in the end, when people were able to use the scripts and programs that I had written effectively it was very satisfying. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Busy Place always something to be done.
EHS Specialist (Current Employee), Burlington, NCAugust 5, 2013
It wasn't not a bad place to work at all great people to be around.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
all you are is a number
Production Worker (Former Employee), Holdrege, NEJuly 17, 2013
I cannot work for a place that places no value on family. I did my job well but the mental atomosphere is impossible. As my title states you are only a number.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work.
Buyer - Columbus, West (Current Employee), San Antonio, TXJuly 11, 2013
Cons: compensation is low
Work is plentiful. Management is great. People are friendly.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No much oppornity to move up\nice place to work
Production Planner (Current Employee), San Diego, CaJuly 8, 2013
Pros: benefits, work\life balance
Cons: little opportunity to advance
Good work life balance.
Some good managers.
Have executive MBA program yet have not seen anyone get approved to receive help from the company.
Nice co-workers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great opportunity great culture
Procurement Leader (Current Employee), Wilson, NCJune 29, 2013
Pros: good culture
good culture people work well with one another. I enjoy the people and the culture. Low pressure.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work overall
Manufacturing technician (Former Employee), Sumter SCJune 26, 2013
Pros: good benefits and pay
Cons: poor training
BD was a good place to work the benefits were good as well as the pay. The training that I received was poor and that falls on management. I learned more about PLC's and vision systems than I did from school. A typical day of work was ok depending on how production ran
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pleasant place to work; good work life balance.
Quality Assurance Associate- (QA Documentation) (Former Employee), Durham, NCMay 27, 2013
Management and staff always worked as a team. Eager to share knowledge and open to new ideas
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
workplace on medical devices
Cayey, P.R. (Producción) (Former Employee), Cayey, P.R.April 28, 2013
worked Thursday, Friday, Saturday and sunday. work in inspection of the preduction, documentation and filling area.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place to learn
Communications Specialist (Current Employee), New JerseyApril 16, 2013
Mobility here is viable and you can learn alot. The company has been in business a very long time and knows how to treat their employees.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
inspections
FINAL INSPECTOR (Former Employee), Columbus, NEApril 15, 2013
Pros: paid for taking lunches, overtime unlimited
Cons: working weekends, working holidays, vacation
A typical day at work is we are assigned a line(s), start doing inspections from the packaging, to inspections of the needles and caps. Documenting each inspection onto the correct document.
I learned more about the health products that we create, and the FDA policies.
Management is very friendly, easy to talk to, and always checking to make sure that – more... we are satisfied.
Co workers easy to work with, easy to talk to, willing to help when asking a question.
Hardest part of job- knowing different defects, knowing how to write a quality notifacation. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Too Matrixed of an Organization for My Taste
Marketing Manager - Hypodermic, Medical Surgical (Current Employee), Franklin Lakes, NJApril 11, 2013
Pros: nice people
Cons: bureacratic, slow, most commoditized product lines
Good overall place to work as most people are very nice and pleasant to work with. Company does try to treat their employees right. Like most other old manufacturing focused firms - they are slow to react!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
excellent company values and culture
Engineering/Maintenance Manager/Safety Coordinator (Former Employee), Madison, WIApril 11, 2013
Good employer to grow and mature with and very well respected.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No integrity at this company
Complaint Coordinator (Former Employee), San Antonio, TXApril 2, 2013
If you are looking to sell our soul this is the company for you
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Over all a great place to work, however, since of urgency and and integrity does not fit the company model.
Under the direction of the Manager (Former Employee), San Antonio, TXMarch 11, 2013
Pros: outstanding support of charities, employee recognition, and project management.
Cons: terrible displays of leadership. blatant show of favoritism
I was aquired as a Customer Complaint Coordinator in a lift and shift transition in which San Antonio was to become the hub of complaint resolution. Complaints were to come from the four major busineeses that compose BD and arrive from varies areas throughout the US. Although the importance of knowledge capture was strongly iterated over and over by – more... the project managers, the managers of the departments that were to supply the knowledge allowed personnel that knew the process to depart the organization before the knowledge was captured. It was a very confusing and stressful process. There was a constant power struggle between project managers and department heads.

I am a disabled veteran and although I type very well I have an involuntary twitch in my right hand that prevents speed. I made this information available to the Regional Director and was told that I would be utilized as a product specialist. Two days later a manager wanted to make me a data entry specialist. Managers were continously out of sync with the process and not working together at all.

Managers were always stressing the importance of getting things accomplished in a timely manner while very complacement in providng the necessary tools and information needed to provide positive results. The since of urgency did not fit the effort. There were also blatant instaces of favoritism. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
EEOC violations
TALENT ACQUISITION PARTNER (Former Employee), Franklin Lakes, NJFebruary 25, 2013
Pros: reputation
Cons: fly by the seat of their pants hr department
Strong in the syringe business but do not follow EEOC guidelines at all.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fantastic workplace.
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee), Franklin Lakes, NJ 07417February 21, 2013
Pros: you feel like you are part of something big - the world's healthcare needs.
Cons: none!
Welcomed daily by people who appreciate a job well-done; training is provided whenever new software is introduced; great benefits.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent environment great learning experience
Lab Technician (Former Employee), Franklin Lakes, NJFebruary 8, 2013
Everyone at BD is awesome It like a great family we are always learning from each other unfortunately I was a contractor and the duration for contract is one year.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Years wasted in Technical Support Center, Sparks MD
Technical Support and Contact Center (Current Employee), Sparks, MDFebruary 6, 2013
Pros: great pay and compensation
Cons: long work hours that are never compensated for, no work life balence, no true leadership. new hires are clearly a bad choice.
Probably the worst place I have ever worked at. No focus on goals that were achievable. No team building, purely about the numbers and not the customer. Managers were top heavy and gave impossible goals. Director is just about making this another stepping stone. HR woman is clearly supporting the company and never the team. There was a mass exodus when – more... the new director came and clearly showed a downfall in this department.

I wish I could say more, it is just a bad place to work. After visiting other BD locations, I would say that this environment is unique, perhaps it has been forgotten by the CEO and his team. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people and beautiful offices
Rebate Team Leader/Business Process Analyst (Former Employee), Franklin Lakes, NJFebruary 4, 2013
Great place to work and good mangement. Large amount of employees, good benefits, and amentities.