Find companies:
Bed Bath and Beyond
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
865 reviews

Bed Bath and Beyond Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Better than most retail stores if you're looking for Part-Time
Sales Associate, Overnight Stocker (Former Employee), Houston, TXJuly 28, 2014
Pros: nice people. managers are usually able to work with pt schedules well.
Cons: expect high maintenance customers. no room to move upward.
Like most retail jobs, it depends on the staff. I was lucky enough to have decent managers, and I did have a pretty iffy store manager before I left. But the people that are hired as your coworkers are generally nice most of the time, more so than other stores. BB&B's policy for having above-average customer service shows even when you're at work, from – more... my experience. If you're looking for a full-time retail sales associate job, look elsewhere. They only hire full-time managers or assistant managers unless the store is large-sized for their scale, then maybe some extra full-time associates. If you aren't a manager, you're not likely to move up or get full-time. A good part-time job, however. Not minimum wage, though if you work for a year you get reviewed-- get a good review and you get around a 10-cent wage increase. Shoddy pay increase, albeit decent pay. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
N/A
Store Manager (Current Employee), Portsmouth, NHJuly 27, 2014
Good place to work.
Great Co-Workers
Company has changed over the past 1-2 years
Most enjoyable part of the job is customer satisfaction
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy Days
Stock Clerk (Former Employee), New York, NYJuly 25, 2014
Very busy from the time your arrive until the end of work shift.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
easy work
Store Supervisor (Former Employee), Jackson, MIJuly 25, 2014
Pros: nice to employees
Cons: not a perment placement
really clean work place, nice customers to dea with, great coupon for customers
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun to work at, but not paid enough to do everything that I do.
Inventory Control Manager (Current Employee), Saint Petersburg, FLJuly 24, 2014
I have been trained and actively work in every part of the store ranging from inventory control to receiving and departments. It's a lot of work and information to know, but it is enjoyable. I love the people I work with and the kind of work that I do on a daily basis. I really enjoy being versatile throughout the store.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cozy Place To Work
Cashier (Former Employee), Carbondale, ILJuly 24, 2014
After clocking in, I would personally get a briefing from the supervisor if he/she is available at the time. I would then report to my post (Front End and sometimes on Hard Lines) and relief my co-worker after getting a quick briefing of what's going on. I would assist customers by answering their questions to the best of my abilities. I would use suggestive – more... selling skills and good customer service. I would help the supervisor do whats needed of me. When it's closing time me and my co-workers were responsible for cleaning our work areas as well as cleaning the bathrooms, door-ways, and organizing/restocking the shelves. It was a nice job to have. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Huge store with a variety of products and customers
Sales Associate/Customer Service (Current Employee), Oceanside, CAJuly 23, 2014
Pros: management, task list, co-workers, shifts not too long or short
Cons: short breaks, no benefits, low pay raises, customer conflicts
A typical day at BBB is one that, after almost 3 years, gets kind of old and repetitive. I have been moved around departments a few times and working in stock replenishment has been the best so far. I didn't ask to be moved; I came in one day and saw that my department had been changed, because of employees leaving and new ones needing to be hired. – more... I went with it, and the best part of it is being in the stock room by myself in the peace and quiet. I go down a list and grab certain items, delete last ones and absent ones, and move on to the next department. I do like helping customers, don't get me wrong, but it can be challenging when they clearly woke up on the wrong side of the bed or missed their cup of coffee. I am one of those people that tends to shy away from conflict if possible, but if it's there, I do my best to be as polite as possible and do what I can for the customer. After almost 3 years, this is still hard and unpleasant, but really important. My management has been interesting. At the store I transferred to after 2 months, the boss was a nightmare. She was just plain mean, condescending, unappreciative, and I'll just say, really annoying with things she would constantly say. I dreaded seeing her red mini in the parking lot because my mood would just drop, I knew I was in for a bad day if I ran into her. Luckily, for some reason she left, and months later we got a great manager, and then I had to transfer back to my first store. The managers there currently are a breath of fresh air comparably, and my days seem to be quick and painless, and I do get recognition and feel the need to be a better employee for them. My co-workers are all friendly and positive, which is so nice to work with. The hardest part of my job is when I get the occasional customer that is just rude (I've gotten a few in my time there) because of a bad day or something, and I'm there for them to take it out on. I also feel inadequate when I don't know exactly where an item is for a customer, or if we have any in the store. It's kind of embarrassing having to call somebody else to ask, or just walking around the department looking for it, just like the customer. The most enjoyable part of my job lately is having my task to do every morning when I come in, and completing it. And even if I don't complete a department or two, simply because of the time or being called away for customer service, it is okay, because I can finish it the next day and I don't get reprimanded for time passing while I am being an employee for customers. My quiet time is nice too, but it is so satisfying to hear a happy customer after I've helped them with what they need; it is nice to be appreciated. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work and learn about household products
Customer Service Manager (Former Employee), Hartsdale, NYJuly 23, 2014
Pros: employee discount
Cons: to far from hometown
The most enjoyable part about this job was learning about all the different styles of towels and linens. There was something to learn everyday.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Zero debt company that is looking to be an industry leader
Assistant Store Manager (Current Employee), Orlando, FlJuly 23, 2014
Pros: weekend day off every week.
Cons: low base hours for running the store.
Management team works extremely hard to keep store standards at a maximun. Company believes in Customer Service and expanding its e-commerce. I've learned that you cannot be complacent in today's market and that you have to stay on top of your customer base.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Would not recommend it to a friend
Senior Store Manager (Former Employee), Brookfield, CTJuly 20, 2014
Pros: being able to foster "shopkeepers mentality"
Cons: not enough praise or positive feedback on a job well done. long hours.
Very, very long hours. No time for Family life. Co-workers were very professional and easy to get along with. Loved meeting new customers on a daily basis. Hardest part of the job was not being able to see my kids. I was working 55-60 hrs a wk.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun work environment
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee), East Elmhurst, NYJuly 20, 2014
I learned how to work as part of a team and independently. I had to meet certain deadlines while working on certain projects but I always managed to prioritize. My co-workers were extremely helpful. Every day presents a new experience as I get to interact with different people.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good environment place with very nice employees
Sales Associate / Merchandiser (Current Employee), Jacksonville Beach, FLJuly 20, 2014
Cons: only one 30 min. break for a minimum of 6hrs
Arrive at work, immediatly get started working on freight. Putting out new products, filling stock on the shelves, putting away overstock, helping guests locate and understand products. Coworkers are awesome and very helpful. Very very nice people. Toughtest part of the job would have to be juggling all of the tasks at once. Summer and holidays get – more... really busy so that can be a difficult time. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hectic, fast paced retail position with low compensation and little room for advancement
Front End Lead (Current Employee), Studio City, CAJuly 19, 2014
Pros: never boring, meeting interesting people
Cons: no room for advancement, inconsistent scheduling, low compensation
A typical day is hectic, running around from cashier to cashier, assisting with transactions, then hopping on a register to help clear the lines of customers. When not ringing, I am assessing cashier performance, answering customer questions and directing the flow of traffic in the store, while making sure that merchandise displays in my area are full – more... and shopable. In my time at BBB, I have furthered my multi-tasking skills, perfected a poker face when dealing with difficult customers, learned a great deal of product knowledge, and developed an affinity for customer service. Sadly, I do not feel supported by most of the management staff. They contradict themselves and are quick to assume the worst. Some of my co-workers are stellar, and some are terrible, but nothing changes, despite what we on the Front End team communicate to management. The hardest part of my job is trying to live up to inconsistent standards set by management. The most enjoyable part of my job is meeting tons of interesting people from a variety of backgrounds and helping them get what they need. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall a good job
Customer Service (Former Employee), Orlando, FLJuly 18, 2014
Overall a good job. Hours were usually scarce, the wonderful customers that would come into the store everyday made all of your problems vanish.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent customer service
Stock Replenishment/Inventory (Current Employee), Alexandria, VAJuly 18, 2014
Pros: pot luck
Cons: no vacations and insurance for part-time associates.
Good working environment. Customer service is the company's no,1 priority.
They also have flexible working hours.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not what I expected from a big company
customer service (Former Employee), Totowa, NJJuly 16, 2014
Pros: not sure
Cons: never close
Raises are horrible...below .50 cents per hour per year. Not alot of sick or vacation days in a year. Too many crazy rule and someone always looking over your shoulder.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast paced and fun
Front End Supervisor (Former Employee), Fort Wayne, INJuly 16, 2014
Opening the registers. Closing the registers. cleaning up front end of the store.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bed Bath & Beyond
Customer Service (Current Employee), Iselin, NJJuly 14, 2014
Pros: nice coworkers
Cons: short breaks, management, scheduling
Customer service is overall a hard position to fill. You deal with all different types of personalities and you have to be prepared for whatever the customers throw at you. You learn how to bite your tongue, patience, kindness, sympathy, empathy, and over all you learn how to be a people person. The coworkers are all extremely nice, but the management – more... has their ups and downs. The hardest part about working here are the customers and how the schedule is always a surprise because scheduling is not this company's forte. But the most enjoyable part is definitely the coworkers because everyone is just like you and everyone is trying to get by with the day. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Product awareness, and excellent training, great customer service
Merchandise Manager (Former Employee), Pittsburgh, PAJuly 14, 2014
Pros: prizes and events for the associates.
Cons: none to report
Bed Bath and Beyond had excellent training programs,and tools to keep active updates to products and skills to benefit the associates. Their focus was the customer, and the engaging with the customer for quality experiences .
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Work Place
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Bronx, NYJuly 11, 2014
A typical day at work consist of always smiling and helping customers. I learned that there was always a way to make sure the customer left the store satisfy, even if we didn't have what they was looking for in the store. Management was good, they were on top of all employees making sure we was doing our jobs. My co-workers made the environment very – more... friendly. I would have to say the most enjoyable part of the job was having customers remember my name and leaving the store happy because of my customer service. – less

1 2 3 4 5

About Bed Bath and Beyond

Bed Bath & Beyond (BBB) has everything you need to play "house" for real. It's the nation's #1 superstore domestics retailer with about – Read more

Bed Bath and Beyond Photos