Find companies:
BELL NURSERY
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
21 reviews

BELL NURSERY Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worked out of Home Depot.
Merchandising Associate (Former Employee), Falsom, PAOctober 10, 2014
Setting up plant displays, refilling tables, helping customers, cleaning up the plants, and watering plants.

I learned about different plants, and how to take care of them.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome Company
Supervisor/Vendor (Former Employee), Elkridge, MD.August 29, 2014
Pros: shorter hours in the winter
Cons: no cons
Love working @ Bell, I had fun, and got my workload completed and had no issues!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
customer service with detailed knowledge of product
Store Supervisor (Former Employee), timonium mdAugust 14, 2014
Pros: customer interaction, outdoor and indoor duties to maintain live good products
Cons: poor weather conditions and obtaining help with watering, minimal cons
Exciting fast paced work environment, Customer service as well as interacting with home store employees respectfully. Bell provides live goods to Home Depot stores. Duties included ordering and receiving product as well as merchandising and maintaining product to meet customer needs. Gaining and exchanging customer needs to learn and teach new employees – more... as well as home depot partners. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Really great company
Plant Vendor (Current Employee), Corporate office in MarylandAugust 4, 2014
Pros: nice people and management
Cons: low pay, no benefits and no foreseeable promotional opportunities.
Bell is a great company in my opinion. The only issue is that this is a seasonal position and I do not foresee any chance for advancement or benefits. My position is physical but rewarding. Stocking plants exclusively for Home Depot daily and one on one interaction with customers is satisfying. The hours are not set and as the season winds down the – more... hours are unpredictable as well as the weather being a hen-durance to a possible full day of work. My supervisor and co-workers are exceptional. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
WELL surprise, surprise...this is a fortune 500 company, really
Truck Driver/Laborer (Former Employee), Newark, DEJuly 21, 2014
Pros: get to meet new faces on the regular, never expect to be full time
Cons: just be there, no one watches over your shoulder, work will be finished by the next shift...supervisor
Sooooooooo un-organized that your child could do better planning. SAFETY is the last thing on their mind, just get the items on the truck, to the stores and back here fast as possible to get the truck fueled prior to the next shift.(average truck goes 3-4 hours away for 1 trip) On the daily, walk in to 35-40 trips to deliver with 6-7 drivers on hand, – more... 8-10 hour shift. Bring your own lunch, outdated items in the fridge date back to 7 months and when asked to clean it out for them, "NO, WE MIGHT NEED A SNACK LATER AND SOMEONE MIGHT GO LOOKING FOR IT LATER." WOW...REALLY! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work environment
LEAD MERCHANDISER (Former Employee), Springfield, OHJanuary 14, 2014
Pros: working outside
Cons: seasonal work
The work environment was fun and also challenging at times. My co-workers were of the best to work with. The hardest part of the job was the fast pace and time constraints put forth by limited scheduling. The most enjoyable part of the job was working with plants.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard work, long hours, but fair compensation for salaried employee
Area Manager (Former Employee), Elkridge, MDJanuary 13, 2014
Pros: great relationships with home depot and other bell employees
Cons: no real committment to employees and no real reward for those that go above and beyond.
As a salaried employee I was expected to work 6 days per week from March thru June (peak season). That never ended until Dec. Often worked 10-12 hour days in the heat of the season, and picked up the slack when seasonal employee hours were cut drastically. Despite giving lip service to developing employees and rewarding those that were A+ players a – more... massive layoff fired many middle managers that had been with the company for many years and had shown great committment and loyalty. Not sure where this company is headed but I would be hesitant to get on that boat again if I was looking for a career as I was when I started. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a fun place to work 90% of your day is spent outside
Store Supervisor (Former Employee), Burtonsville, MDNovember 15, 2013
Pros: salary manager, company picnics, monetary contests
Cons: no set break/lunch, working outside on really hot days and really cold days
maintaining and merchandising plants,accepting deliveries,answering customer questions regarding plants,trees,shrubs...I learned everything there is to know about plant,shrub and tree care,certain diseases they can get and how to take care of them..The hardest part of my job was working outside in the summer on really hot days,really long hours,not – more... knowing when my day will end..I really enjoyed the flexiability of my schedule and being able to make important decisions on my own.. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great, If not seasonal.
Merchandiser (Former Employee), Newark, OHSeptember 20, 2013
Make your own hours. Pay was not the best (9.50), but for the work you do, it is pretty nice. Work within stores, but not bossed by the stores. You can't move up really though, and it is a seasonal position.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good job during season
Crew Member (Former Employee), Burtonsville, MDSeptember 15, 2013
Pros: not a difficult job
Cons: season is to short
A typical day would be organizing the store getting new product in and old product out, and water the product.
I learned basic green house and garden knowledge such as what is necessary sun light and watering for certain plants.
Management was very hands on with trianing process.
Co-workers pulled their own weight.
this job was very easy and not difficult – more... in any way. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nursery Center
Area/ Regional Manager (Current Employee), Philadelphia, PAJuly 14, 2013
Nursery Supplier with Home Depot as major client along the East Coast
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not In Ohio!
Lead Merchandiser (Former Employee), Cincinnati, OHApril 8, 2013
Pros: you do receive a paycheck
Cons: too many to list them all. they need a major change in management!
I made the mistake of working for Bell in Ohio. After many years as a professional in the Green Industry I can tell you that the management practices in the Ohio market are poor at best. Stores are not supplied on the basis of what each store needs but on how much of the greenhouse ranges in Springfield need to be cleared out...so we often got racks – more... and racks of product that no one wanted.

There is little, if any, cooperation with the supposed Home Depot "partners" in many of the stores.

Plant quality is subpar. It was not uncommon to receive plants with disease or pest issues. At Bell Ohio they either do not know the law regarding such issues...or they simply do not care whether they get inspected by the Ohio Department of Agriculture or not. It is also not uncommon to have annuals shipped which are actually marked as "perennials".

If you do not care about being a plant professional and only want a part-time job watering plants for a few months this may work for you. But if you care about plants, customers, and quality Bell Ohio will be a disappointment, at best. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Store manager (Former Employee), Mid atlanticMarch 16, 2013
Very good company to work for. Upper management
Cares about their people. Some of the most passionate
People work in the stores at the store level. These people
In the stores deserve more recognition for their wonderful
Work
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible company to work for
supervisor (Former Employee), paMarch 8, 2013
You get little training. The manager does not care if there is room for the tons of plants that come in on a daily basis and just runs in like a maniac while she is visiting stores and screaming you for not putting the plants in proper sections. Well you find out much later that you are supposed to be destroying and throwing away perfect healthy plants – more... just so she looks good by her manager and gets them out. some stores provide such little space for all of the hundreds of flowers. The manager does not care. And then leaves. And you are stuck with trying to figure it out on your own. I also find it very sad that this wasteful company does not use the perfect healthy flowers to do community service or donate them to places that could do so much good for people. Do not work for them! I also was fired for a small disability I had shared with my manager. She took me in the back room like a high school student and raged on at me flinging the exact words that I shared about me disability like she was some evil person off of the streets trying to make fun of me. I could have sued them and still might pursue it. I got fired for a disability. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent company to work for
Training Specialist (Current Employee), Burtonsville, MDDecember 9, 2012
Bell Nursery has been the best at supporting associates with the knowledge to complete their work day.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful working establishment
District Manager (Former Employee), Anne Arundel CoSeptember 17, 2012
Working for a company that keeps site of customer needs, amazing quality product and an overall great work experience
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very productive work place
Merchandiser (Current Employee), Burtonsville, MDAugust 29, 2012
Pros: being retail you never work nights, get atleast 1 weekend day off aweek
Cons: little to no breaks, the summer heat, never know if you will have a job during the summer
Very fun place to work if you like working outisde. Management is alright buy keep things in the dark. Love working along side the home depot.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good place to work.
Retail Store Clerk (Former Employee), Miamisburg, OHAugust 6, 2012
This is a seasonal job and the hours tend to deplete as the plant growing season comes to a close.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Job is not secure, no benefits
Duties- Seasonal Merchandiser, Recieve (Current Employee), Burtonsville, MD 20866-0700June 24, 2012
Pros: 1/2 hour free lunch break
Cons: never know how many hours i will receive
Handle new merchandise
Prepare merchandise for sales floor
Water all Merchandise
Inventory all product
Inventory and enter dicard merchandise
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exciting and fun place to be.
Deliverer (Former Employee), Emporia, VAApril 28, 2012
It's a great place to work, i learned out that it was important to be at work on time. The management of great, and there wasn't really a hard part.