Find companies:
Benchmark Senior Living
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
27 reviews

Benchmark Senior Living Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad place to work
Cna (Former Employee), Waterbury ct.June 25, 2014
Pros: 3pm. end of my shift
Cons: managers
Bad place to work. Program director is so bad. She is so negative & talks about her staff & peers. I have worked here along time and saw so many employees walked out or fired. That includes management . They promise the families everything and do nothing but raise their rents. As a cna their u have to care for your residents, be a waitress, do housekeeping, – more... and laundry. Go go go all day. They cause troubled amongst the employees. Program director wants you to tell her gossip about another employee, then she tells them what you said. Very stressful place. Stay away!!! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Do Not Work Here
anonymous (Former Employee), anonymousJune 13, 2014
Pros: benefits
Cons: short handed, unorganized, cheap, liars, unqualified managers, unforgiving
Benchmark Senior Living has the potential to be a wonderful environment for both residents and employees. Unfortunately this is just not so. As the majority of reviews have concluded the work atmosphere is one of paranoia. Back stabbing is promoted perhaps because this will take the focus off of the inept unscrupulous managers. They have a problem with – more... people walking off the job, now I can see why. They are unorganized to the point where patient care has the potential to be affected. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable and friendly atmosphere, rewarding, busy,
Driver (Current Employee), Brookfield, CTMay 30, 2014
Pros: fast paced, i like driving, working 1:1 with the seniors
Cons: can be stressful
Very fast paced, needed good organizational and planning skills. They provided excellent and ongoing training. I enjoyed my co-workers; everyone worked together to get the job done. Hardest part of the job was juggling several medical appointments on the same day, sometimes at the same time! I loved working with the seniors, they have so much to offer.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
WORST Company to work for.
RCA (Former Employee), New HampshireMay 19, 2014
Pros: your coworkers are your best friends
Cons: so many cons
This company treats their employees like DOGS. Residents pay a pretty penny to live in the beautiful facility and Benchmark's compensation for their employees is highly undesirable for the workload. They claim to be an assisted living-no lift facility, but their residents belong in a high acuity care center. Residents include stage three parkinsons – more... who can no longer walk, but we still have to care for them with the little resources we have. The state should really come in and see what a joke show this company is. I'd say there's about forty residents, 25 of which are high acuity residents that require a lift or are two person transfers; there are three LNA's to these forty residents. They are very under-staffed to the point that it is unsafe for residents. Residents press their call button and they won't get answered for at least eight minutes because the staff is preoccupied with another resident. An RCA's job duty not only includes resident care, but also house keeping, waitress duty, and some maintenance repair. When you go and sit for their orientation, they'll tell you that your responsibilites will include spending time with residents which is the biggest lie, DON'T FALL FOR IT. You have no time to spend with a resident who's having a bad day because you have to get up and run to the next pendant ringing. This place does not care for their seniors, all they care about is the money that is coming in and pleasing the residents family members, making petty promises that can't be kept. I wouldn't put my parent or any family member in this facility. Nurses are fired for spending too much time with residents and not enough time on paperwork. If there's a high fall risk resident that needs constant supervision, they won't get it. Don't work for this company; it will make you a bitter healthcare employee and your attitude will come out on the residents. High turnover – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a frat party pretending to be a company
nursing (Former Employee), ctApril 6, 2014
Pros: working with the elderly
Cons: the culture, benefits, pay scale.
Upper management at benchmark is a joke. They have lost any credibility in caring for seniors and only care about being sued and profit lines instead of caring for seniors. I would not have my parents live here after seeing how they only view them as a revenue source.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No training makes job success impossible.
Wellness Director (Former Employee), Rhode IslandJanuary 1, 2014
Poor, or miniscule training and nonexistent support causes extremely high and frequent staff turnover. Senior level managers jump ship so frequently it is impossible to gain your sea-legs to meet the high expectations of this company. Long hours for low pay, no recognition for effort, and many unresolved and ongoing issues making for unrealistic job – more... expectations a given. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Less than ideal work environment.
Wellness Nurse/ Nurse Shift Supervisor (Former Employee), Wilbraham, MANovember 2, 2013
Less than ideal work environment, lots of politics concerning management.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Offers great opportunity but you must sacrifice
Resident Care Director (Former Employee), Newton, MAOctober 27, 2013
Pros: genuine coworkers, enhancing quality of life for residents, being a resource for families and the community
Cons: being utilized 24/7, the commute, a lot of parking tickets
I had amazing support when I first started with benchmark as a nurse. Management supported me and really took me under their wing and as they advanced, so did I. Being promoted to management after working my way up in my community definitely had its benefits. I knew the processes and my residents and thank goodness I did because with all of the turn – more... over of other management positions, I can't imagine being able to survive if I had started in that position with no exposure and not being a step ahead. I truly loved my role, my coworkers and the residents. There was a lot of frustration with the turnover as nothing that involved other parties would ever be completed because once "x" position got in, had their training, dealt with the back up of issues that built up from when their position was vacant- they would no longer be in that position and so the cycle continued. It is a high stress company to work for because of all of the dynamics, demands and expectations that can be unrealistic because of what is going on in the bigger picture (like doing 2 people's job because of the turn over). I also was expected to be on call 24/7, which is fine except for the fact that I was being utilized 24/7, which again is not realistic and ultimately will result in burnout.

Benchmark offered me many amazing opportunities that I had worked for, but may not have been able to experience if I hadn't worked for them. They offer great care and the RCA's and other front line staff are caring and want to do the right thing for the resident – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
NEW AND SEASONED NURSES BEWARE!!! horrible experience, advise anyone to stay away from this place!!!
L.P.N (Former Employee), shrewsbury massachusettsOctober 13, 2013
Pros: residents are awesome people!!!
Cons: managers dont know thier jobs, then blame others for thier mistakes
I was hired in a group interview with three other nurses, I was told that I would be advanced to full time, like the cliche saying says its all about who you know and who you throw under the bus...lots of competition, even though everyone is on the same team, the managers don't help, or train you, they are all about bonuses and how much money they can – more... make. They truly don't care about the residents, they break their own policy rules to get people to spend their money at their facility. They allow people who can't care for themselves have cats that scratch the residents and look past systemic bacteremia. This place is a glorified nursing home, the go around loop holes to make it seem like they are not a nursing home. STAY AWAY, UNSAFE ENVIRONMENT, IF YOU ARE A NEW NURSE THEY HAVE NO PROBLEM THROWING YOU UNDER THE BUS!!! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A caring, compassionate staff of caregivers in assisted living and memory care.
Marketing and Community Relations Manager (Former Employee), Brighton, MAAugust 13, 2013
Benchmark staff provides excellent care for its residents and their families.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
dangerous for nurses
nurse (Former Employee), CTApril 17, 2013
Pros: pay check
Cons: management, support, nursing.
Only RN designee to look for support. Directors of both regular and dementia are NOT nurses! Poor nursing support. Management CLUELESS on what taking care of a residents need truly is. Be prepared to have your own liability insurance. They only care what things "look" like vs what they are. Run away from here
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Absolutely the worst company I ever worked for!
Management (Former Employee), Boston areaJanuary 28, 2013
Pros: learned never to recommend this company
Cons: mostly everything
I should have listened when people told me how awful they treat their employees but I took the job anyway, a management position. The upper management has no clue! They are unprofessional, don't know how to treat people, only care about filling the apartments, not the care of the residents. The turn over of employees is huge! I would never recommend – more... any of these communities to anyone. It's sad because many of the hourly workers are great & very hard working but are underpaid and get treated terribly. – less

February 4, 2013

As a former employee I agree 100%. I've never worked another job where I would call out sick and then get a call back asking me to change my mind and come in. This seems to have become a common practice at the community I worked at. I could go on and on about how terrible the company is to its employees.

Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Completely awful, beware!
Department Head (Current Employee), RIJanuary 28, 2013
Pros: compensation
Cons: horrible culture!
Management means no work life balance! The expectations are unattainable. Turnover for managers is like a revolving door. Be warned, this company does not care about anything but the bottom line! My resume is out there!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good step in the healthcare field.............
Resident Care Associate (Former Employee), Meriden, CTJanuary 14, 2013
Pros: guaranteed breaks, at least 30 hours a week, 85% chance of someone calling out which gives you overtime.
Cons: horrid management, lazy co-workers so you do most of work, lots of overtime from lazy co-workers calling out, then complaining they have no hours...
It is a good step-if you only plan at working at assisted living homes. As I found out hard, hospitals, nursing homes, etc. frown upon those that have started their CNA career in an assissted living home as they believe the residents of assisted living homes are babied and we dont gain real skills. It still is a good step and you do learn skills to – more... help you on your way. Also, don't expect a good raise. Literally, it might be a dime. Just warning you. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cares about the residents, but the community managers are over burdoned and under supported. Very high turnover.
Director of Business Administration (Current Employee), Newton, MADecember 6, 2012
Pros: care about the residents alot.
Cons: under support management.
They gave me great career advancement opportunity, but due poor management and even poorer training the job was far more difficult than necessary. They could be great, they just need to focus on supporting the communities more.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Benchmark is truely a benchmark for senior health care
CNA/Caregiver (Current Employee), Quincy, MANovember 7, 2012
Pros: a wonderful work environment
Cons: the job isn't easy, but its worth it
My time with Benchmark was short, but I have all the highest regards for them. I was fully supported and given many chances of advancement. The work itself isn't easy but the co-workers and management really help support the staff how-ever they can. What I liked most about working there was the fact that Benchmark makes it a priority to see that the – more... residence in their care are being attended to and to always have activities available to them. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible work environment
If I say and they read this, they'll fire me! (Current Employee), Shelburne, VTOctober 10, 2012
Pros: wonderful residents and co-workers
Cons: extremely low morale due to an incredibly stressful work environment
There is a huge disparity between management and front-line employees. Management is out of touch with what goes on on the floor, yet very critical. Managers have their favorites and those people fare very well, but the majority of employees go unrecognized for their achievements and hard work and are blamed when something goes wrong. Management repeats – more... the mantra that we are "resident focused", but when it comes down to it showcasing the facility and keeping occupancy up is the top priority even if that means painting a false picture. I've been asked on several occasions to switch what I was doing just because I tour was coming through. On one occasion this meant leaving residents who needed care in order to run an activity just to put on a show for the potential residents and their families. Pay is so low and the stress level is so high that this job is hardly worth it. If not for the residents I would not have stayed so long. However, that being said, caring for residents with dementia is probably one of the most difficult jobs there is. It would be extremely stressful even with adequate support and respect from management. Unfortunately, support and respect are not something you will find from management at this company. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
You will have no life
EVERYTHING (Former Employee), MIDDLETOWN, RHODE ISLANDOctober 2, 2012
Pros: not much
Cons: sneaks
1ST and foremost. The building has a severe mold issue. Most employees do not stay past 6 mos.They either get fired, or quit due to 80+ hrs a week.If you do not come in on your day off you will be in trouble or looked down upon. In addition,the staff is miserable towards one another.

They have been through at least 7 sales reps, 4 managers, and numerous – more... mainteance staff. DO THE MATH..

STAY AWAY...... – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best job I've ever had!
Home Office Associate (Current Employee), Wellesley, MASeptember 19, 2012
Pros – The people at Benchmark are a passionate bunch! From Sr. VPs to front line associates, from accounting to marketing, everyone I have met cares deeply about the quality of care the residents receive. There is a culture of striving for improvement whether it’s the residents lives or associates jobs. The training and onboarding were extensive. The – more... benefits I received on day one far outweighed anything at my old job. There is room for growth and promoting from within is encouraged.

Cons – This company is so much better to work for than my old gig, that I honestly cannot think of anything. But since a response is required I would add that some positions seem to have a high turn-over. But this isn’t the industry for everyone and burn-out is common. I’ve seen people leave, but I have also seen many employees return. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good company
Dining Room Manager (Current Employee), Haverhill, MASeptember 14, 2012
Good company to work for
They are good to the employees
residents are wonderful
dining room is the most stressful department