Bennett Motor Express Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I love the job, not so much who i work for
Driver (Current Employee) –  GeorgiaSeptember 8, 2017
Try it, I did and loved it.. it's a job that will take you all over the country, but you don't get no benefits. And these at the end of the year are hard.
Pros
You get to see the country
Cons
Your away from home a lot..
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, stressful
Heavy Haul Customer Service Manager (Former Employee) –  McDonough, GASeptember 7, 2017
Begin daily at 7:30 with staff meeting, other meetings throughout the day. On a average of 850 emails a day, with questions and assistance with internal and external customers. Numerous phone
calls, with 6 line phone call and cell calls. Day ends at 6pm
Pros
Company been in business for 40 years
Cons
Long hours and 24 contact
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Office work
Administrative Intern (Former Employee) –  Elkhart, INAugust 22, 2017
In this job I was and intern for a manager so I would print papers, put together packets, logged in orders for motor homes, and assisted drivers that would need my help. I learned to be very thorough with the paperwork I out together and learned better computer skills. This job helped me with knowing how an office setting was like and how to make sure my manager had everything they asked for. The hardest part for me was everydays task was usually the same and the best part was being able to better my computer skills.
Pros
computer skills
Cons
similar days
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awsome place to work
Dispatcher (Former Employee) –  McDonough, GAJuly 10, 2017
One of the best companies I have ever worked for. Owner is a down to earth and wonderful person. Staff is great. Enjoyable place to work. Family oriented and want you to have family time.
Pros
Very enjoyable place to work
Cons
Nothing i can think of
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed my Job
Fleet Manager Load Planner (Former Employee) –  McDonough, GAMarch 8, 2017
Management eats their young and they have a big turn over .
Dependable Carrier and great Agents represent the company. They want bigger numbers but stay at a same process and high turn over.
Pros
Bonus
Cons
long hours expensive health care
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Keep looking
Independent Contractor (Current Employee) –  McDonough, GAFebruary 15, 2017
Freight is cheap. By the time they take their cut your left with no meat on the bone. I hate to leave. They have been a good company for a long time but I guess things change. Love the people but you can't pay the bills with kindness
Pros
The bennett employees are awesome
Cons
Freight rates and freight in general. Well lack of.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I Love them
Contract Drive Away Driver (Former Employee) –  McDonough, GA 30253January 29, 2017
Love this company I had a chance to travel all over the U.S. I had a chance to meet a lot of people in the Truck selling business
Pros
Travel
Cons
some of the pick up locations are in rual areas and hard to find
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stay away.
Former Owner Operator (Former Employee) –  Illinois Canyon, ILJanuary 18, 2017
Stay away from this company. They have nothing but cheap rates for there flatbed's out of the St.Louis area if they have any freight at all.
Pros
Management is alright
Cons
Cheap frieght
Was this review helpful?Yes 13No 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work for and a very cultural enviroment
Drug/Alcohol Random Coordinator (Former Employee) –  McDonough, GAJanuary 3, 2017
Job duties and responsibilities varied from day to day. The most enjoyable part of the job was being in the position to give someone else a chance with leasing on to a wonderful company.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bennett
Heavy Haul Dispatch Manager (Current Employee) –  McDonough, GAJune 13, 2016
Bennett is a great company to work for, their family values are excellent. They do care about their employees and go above and beyond to help them in many ways.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 8Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Senior Accountant (Former Employee) –  Atlanta, GAMay 27, 2016
Great location
Enjoy working with the people at the location
Great job preparing financials and balance sheet reconciliations
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to build business
owner operator/ self employed (Former Employee) –  McDonough, GAApril 4, 2016
With this company I was able to work at my pace ,make as much or as little money as I needed. The reason for leaving was I was hospitalized and had to break contract.
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bennett Motor Express
PILOT CAR DRIVER (Former Employee) –  McDonough, GANovember 2, 2015
Great to work for, family owned company and family comes first no matter what with them. It was an honor to work for them. They paid for all my food while I was working and all my hotels. The money was great and the people that work there were very friendly.
Pros
Free food and hotels
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
transporter
Transporter (Former Employee) –  usaJune 29, 2015
Bennett is a transporter of buses, trucks from point A to delivery at point B. The job pay is based on the amount of miles you go.

Your consider a contractor and are paid up front half and on delivery the rest.
Out of the up front fee you have to cover your own transportation to point A, then all expanses Ie such as fuel over night lodging, that why most of the time to save money i slept in the bus or truck.

There easy managers, your not force dispatch.
It was a good way to see the country and be paid for it.

Most of the time you have to move equipment both ways to making a good living. But most of the time it was one way only, and the expanses cut into your $$$$$ earnings for the trip.

The job was 100% on your own, with managers being there.
Pros
on your own.....good way to see the country
Cons
all the expanses are yours out of the up front money they give you based on the miles.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 8Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
doing something different
helper (Former Employee) –  balch springs, texasFebruary 10, 2015
I was able to work with my hands working on trucks and trailers in a positive atmosphere. I learned how to get along with people, take orders and do the work correctly. At the end of the day knowing I had completed a good job.
Pros
free lunch
Cons
greasy work
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 8Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
small office
Logistics Specialist (permitting) (Former Employee) –  McDonough, GAApril 28, 2014
fast paced, small office setting only 3 employees at this location. I was my own boss
Pros
no supervision
Cons
long way from family
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 8Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Company to work for
Accounts Payable / Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Mconough GAFebruary 6, 2014
Loved working at Bennett..... Laid off due to workforce reduction =( Would love to go back..... Accounts payable for Heavy Haul Dept
Pros
Pay was great
Cons
Economy
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 8Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people to work with...
International Logistics/Dispatch Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Houston, TXOctober 19, 2013
Management is very considerate and understanding at Bennett. It is a company that I am glad to work for, because they care about their employees.
Pros
Preventative care incentives
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 7Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Accounting (Former Employee) –  McDonough, GAMay 3, 2013
I did payroll and accounting and loved it. Co-workers were great and advanced from Shop clerk to accounts payables and receivables.

I was also laid off from this job due to the economy.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 9Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Bennett Motor Express. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 20 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.5
Compensation/Benefits
3.7
Job Security/Advancement
3.6
Management
3.5
Culture
3.6