Benteler Automotive Employee Reviews in United States

Found 57 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not family oriented
Business Unit Leader (Former Employee) –  Goshen, INJanuary 3, 2015
does not allow time for family balance. work hours were horrible, management staff was a revolving door
Pros
growth potential
Cons
turnover
Was this review helpful?Yes7No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Coworkers are great
Automation Technician (Former Employee) –  Galesburg, MINovember 28, 2014
Poor communication by upper staff. Always conflict between trades and production operators. Staff acts before all aspects of issue are known.
Pros
pay and benefits
Cons
work home life unbalanced
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Money is great, hours not so much
Sr. Press Operator (Former Employee) –  Goshen IndianaNovember 1, 2014
If you don't mind working 8 hrs a day 7 days a week for months on end, then this is your dream job. If you enjoy some time off you should probably look else where.
Pros
great insurance
Cons
bad hrs, forced to work 7 days
Was this review helpful?Yes4No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive but not a very enjoyable place
Machine Operator/Assembler (Former Employee) –  Goshen, INOctober 30, 2014
a typical day consisted of clocking in at 530 am and working nonstop until 130 when you clock out. I learned how to work hard for long periods of time. management was not very knowledgeable of issues going on. co- workers would agree on that, and were good to work with. hardest part of job was keeping up with the ridiculous demands of the company. most enjoyable was the competition between the shifts to see who got more parts done in a shift.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unorganized and favoritism
CNC Operator (Former Employee) –  Holland, MISeptember 29, 2014
Nobody knows what is going on allot of favoritism and unless you get along with somone with a say you will never move up in this company
Was this review helpful?Yes7No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fast pace place to work at.
Machine Operator (Current Employee) –  Grand Rapids, MISeptember 4, 2014
It was usually a very fast pace and stressful day working there at times. I learn what gas manifolds were and what they were used for and where they are placed in a car. The management at benteler was actually really nice and made sure we knew what we were doing. My co-workers were easy to get along with also. I enjoyed them a lot. The hardest part of my job was working while it was 90 degrees inside of the place because it's a factory. It made it a lot more stressful to get through the day. The most enjoyable part of the job was when all the machines were working properly because when the happens that makes the day a lot more smooth.
Pros
paid lunch breaks
Cons
short breaks, couldn't live from off the premises to go eat
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Family owned and operated
Machine Operator (Current Employee) –  Galesburg, MIAugust 3, 2014
This as a family owned an operated company until they had to sell it off to another person o take over. This company was sold in 2009, du to the fact that the owners went through a hard time when the husband passed away.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
challenging time of transition for this organization
Production support (Current Employee) –  HollandJune 23, 2014
Huge employee turnover in last two years.
Lack of communication from remaining management.
Pros
good benefits package
Cons
morale issues, lack of direction
Was this review helpful?Yes10No5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very busy and something new happened every day!
M/O hi-lo driver dock auditor (Former Employee) –  Hall St. Grand Rapids MIJune 18, 2014
Operated welding machines worked in shipping and drove HI-LO to make shipments. Most of the people were very enjoyable to work with.
Pros
the people
Cons
very hot and very demanding
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun
Production Supervisor/Team Lead (Former Employee) –  Goshen, INJune 3, 2014
I honestly liked working here. Only reason I left was due to a better job opportunity. I wanted to try sales and become better at my people skills.
Pros
lots of overtime
Cons
can mandate you 7 days a week
Was this review helpful?Yes4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
job on a machine wasn't fulling
Machine Operator (Former Employee) –  Grand Rapids, MIApril 28, 2014
a typical day at work was just going to your machine and inspect welds after parts have been welded. It was an easy job at times but hard on the body. I been there so long that eventually it was a boring routine and felt I wasn't using my brain.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Assembly
Assembly Worker / Inspector (Former Employee) –  Opelika, ALApril 21, 2014
Assembly Line
Learn quality review and operations
Strong leadership teams
Hardest part was keeping the sweat out of the eyes
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive day
Qmc (Former Employee) –  Goshen, INApril 16, 2014
A typical workday included:
- Checking parts to make sure they hit the requirements and had all holes and marks that was needed to be identified.
- If said marks and/or holes was not present had to scrap the material or if the part was able to be fixed then, fixed it with a sander, drill, or etching device.
- Also checked the spec. on how think the material was.
Pros
great benefits and was a clean work area
Cons
waiting time for parts
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Productive
assembler (Former Employee) –  Duncan, SCMarch 27, 2014
This job was very prodiuctive, I like the job cause it was fast pace.
Wish I could've stayed there and got hired on, but it was only temporary.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible
PLC/ Robotic Programmer (Former Employee) –  Galesburg, MIMarch 24, 2014
One of the worst work environments I've ever been in.
This is all I would like to say,
Was this review helpful?Yes10No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not very understanding at all
Machine Operator/Packer (Former Employee) –  Galesburg, MIMarch 6, 2014
I was just starting on a 3rd shift position, therefore I was just beginning to transfer my daily schedule from days to night, and after sitting and waiting for 5 1/2 hours for them to fix my machine, I put my head in my hands, and dozed off for approx. 4 minutes. The boss wasn't even sure that I was asleep, but fired me anyways. No warning or anything.. I would rather not work for a company like that.
Was this review helpful?Yes10No5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Place to work
Current Employee (Current Employee) –  Duncan, SCFebruary 25, 2014
The Associates and Management have created a very good place to work. The work is hard and very fast paced. Someone that does not want to work will not fit in well with the Teams. Company has only been in the area since 2006 and has built a good reputation in area. They offer good pay and benefits with steady work.

It is also nice to work for a company where the engineers, maintenance and management work together to improve the production lines/process through suggestions and ideas from the associates. Though there are tough days, these departments and the associates seem to find ways to make each day a success. With Associates and Mangement like this it makes it an excellent place to work
Pros
very clean facility with excellent workers
Was this review helpful?Yes2No6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
learning expirence
Machine Operator (Former Employee) –  Kalamazoo, MIDecember 29, 2013
work day includes but not limited to operating automatic weld units and inspections. learned a lot about welding and the importance of quality in the automotive industry. the most enjoyable part of my job is there was never a problem trying to stay busy, there was always something to do. The hard part was most definitely finding ways to deal with the heat being in a weld shop, but management always gave us additional heat breaks which helped a lot.
Pros
heat breaks, great coworkes
Cons
temporary work, unstable employment
Was this review helpful?Yes6No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work in terms of pay
Production Operator (Former Employee) –  Goshen, INDecember 18, 2013
Generally a productive day every day. Management was not always present. Some management at that given time period was more about a "status" showing and then of course flirtacious with those they choose to keep an eye on
Pros
family oriented, pay, overtime, insurance
Cons
lack of management
Was this review helpful?Yes6No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
PAINT LINE TECHNICIAN (Current Employee) –  Opelika, ALDecember 6, 2013
Would still work at benteler if it wasnt closing.It was a great place to work and the management was o.k.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 122 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.4
Compensation/Benefits
3.8
Job Security/Advancement
3.1
Management
3.1
Culture
3.4