Bergdorf Goodman Employee Reviews

Showing all 67 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Looks better from the outside
Stock Associate/Recovery (Former Employee) –  New York, NYMarch 17, 2017
The position I had was full time and it was a horrible experience. I had little to no social life with the amount of hours I worked and I got paid minimum wage by a multi-million dollar company. The workers always had an attitude and the management didn't care what was going on. Everything was a mess.
Pros
Free water, OK benefits
Cons
Long hours, Low Pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
overall a beautiful store
Freelance Skincare Specialist (Former Employee) –  New York, NYMarch 8, 2017
the day goes slow
I learned to always read up on products
management could be better
workplace is multi cultural
there is nothing hard about the job
dealing with customers is a pleasure
Pros
good co-workers
Cons
in the basement
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good experience
Stock Manager/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  New York, NYMarch 6, 2017
Did special events, which i had to make sure that every shelve was well stocked with the goods needed. Made sure to help on the floor every time a customer needed help.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learned A Lot
Customer Liaison (Former Employee) –  New York, NYMarch 4, 2017
It was a great learning experience that increased my knowledge of fine apparel and how to offer it to clients. It exposed me to many different culture's being located at the flagship store in Midtown NYC
Pros
great atmosphere, NYC 5th Ave
Cons
Not enough team building opportunities
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worked like a dog
Group Manager, Advertising (Former Employee) –  New York, NYFebruary 28, 2017
It was exciting to be part of the team I was on and my peers were wonderful people, however, I worked insane hours and compensation was not commensurate with effort and time necessary to do the job. Horrible management team with no vision or focus on developing talent.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job very educational and fun
Customer Service Representative/ stock associate (Former Employee) –  New JerseyJanuary 25, 2017
Great job learned new things experienced new things met all different types of personalities and attitudes. Gave you knowledge of different merchandise and material
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to Work
Facilities Manager (Former Employee) –  New York, NYDecember 20, 2016
Best part of working here was that everyone helped each other.All departments got along and it was like family.Getting things done was easy/ enjoyable
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great leadership
Visual Merchandiser (Former Employee) –  New York, NYDecember 5, 2016
learned a lot about visual and merchandising
worked well as a team
high attention to details
low pay
good discount
great leadership from interior and exterior management
Pros
learned a lot about visual and merchandising
Cons
low pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work with great people
Stock Associate (Former Employee) –  New York, NYNovember 22, 2016
great place to work was in a great enviroment. co workers there are always willing to help and educate. great place to showcase your skills and great discounts.
Pros
there is a built in cafeteria with great cooks
Cons
the co workers would sometimes hang around while leaving all the work to you
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice retails place to work
Sales Representative (Former Employee) –  New York, NYOctober 14, 2016
The best place I ever worked, the atmosphere, the management, the training, the people you meet there, the recognition, the support, the merchandise, the exclusivity, you can't go wrong with BG.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A lot of work with very little help
Operations Manager Women's RTW (Current Employee) –  New York, NYSeptember 18, 2016
It's a great place to work because of such visibility in the fashion industry, but its a lot of work and so much turn at the same time.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
busy upscale work place
Sales Support Associate (Former Employee) –  Manhattan, NYAugust 26, 2016
mainted the shoe racks , guied customers to a sales associate
i learned diff technichs to remember different brands , the hardest obstcale was having to deal with it being busy at all times. the best thing about was i was able to be around my favriote brands of fashion
Pros
grate job
Cons
short brakes
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace!
Personal Styling Assistant (Current Employee) –  New York, NYAugust 14, 2016
Bergdorf Goodman is an iconic luxury goods department store on Fifth Avenue in Midtown Manhattan. It is a great place to work and develop your fashion career.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice place to work
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  New York, NYJuly 5, 2016
Bergdorf Goodman provides its employees with competitive benefits and reasonable compensation. Associates are virtually in charge of and manage their own business, however the company's management team is available and willing to work with associates when necessary. There is a very powerful drive for excellence in accordance with the company's standards, in both customer service and in productivity.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great introduction into luxury
Stock Supervisor (Former Employee) –  New York, NYJune 30, 2016
I had great experience at Bergdorf Goodman; I was brought on a new role for the company, one that carried many expectations. I enjoyed every part of my job and enjoyed the partnerships I was able to develop with all levels of management/personnel.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard to move up
Merchandise Assistant (Current Employee) –  New York, NYJune 8, 2016
Hard to move up and learn considering it is a small company. There is minimal training and it is hard to get FaceTime with upper management.

But - considering it is a small company you get to get experience in various parts of the business.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fashion
Shipping/ Back Stock (Former Employee) –  New York, NYJune 2, 2016
Wonderful all around staff, very fast past environment.
Learned how to really sale when a client is unsure of the purchase, understand how tone, vocabulary and consistency can really make your sale.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast pace environment
Stock Associate (Former Employee) –  New York, NYMay 14, 2016
On an average day when would start the day processing shipment then move on to maintaining order in the stockroom as well as assisting anyone who needed help finding anything.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Low Pay for such a high status company
Omni Fulfillment/Return Goods/Stock Lead (Current Employee) –  New York, NYApril 27, 2016
This company will pay the same if not less then other retailers i have worked for. i thought working for such a huge company that markup almost all there merchandise 100% they would be able to offer a higher pay for the support team in the company. most of the money goes to the sale associates.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
n/a
shipping, VTC, wrap and pack associate (Current Employee) –  New York, NYApril 23, 2016
The windows team at Bergdorf is a great place to start working as you emerge from school into the workforce, great for 20 year olds who are fresh faced from art school and need a flexible schedule to make art. The work is freelance and projects range from decoupaging newspaper on to lion sculptures to hot glueing sea shells all over a velvet sofa. The work is creative and the team is small and fun to work with.
Pros
flexible hours
Cons
pay rate is low
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Bergdorf Goodman. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 67 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.7
Compensation/Benefits
3.7
Job Security/Advancement
3.4
Management
3.5
Culture
3.7

Bergdorf Goodman Reviews by Location