Find companies:
Berkeley College
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
44 reviews

Berkeley College Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Difficult work environment
Professor (Former Employee), Clifton, NJJuly 17, 2014
Pros: feeling of accomplishment
Cons: not being able to plan your life more than 3months ahead of time
I taught four classes (approx. 3hrs/ea.) every week for three months on various campuses. Some days 10am-10pm in more then one location. Preparing lectures, lesson plans, grading assignments, creating tests and exams, attending meetings, and administering competencies were all included in a typical work day. We were poorly managed as a department. Often – more... you were left to fend for yourself with very limited resources. The most rewarding part of the job was seeing a student from beginning to end, realize their dreams of working in the medical field, but because this was not the norm that most students graduate and find jobs only made it seem more special. Over the years I have had some wonderful students that I will always remember. I taught the following classes: Medical Office Administration, Computerized insurance Billing, Medical Emergencies, Billing and Coding, and Law & Ethics. I possess a certification for CMAA, Certified Medical Administrative Assistant, EHRS, Certified Electronic Health Record Specialist, and CPR, in basic lifesaving. I am currently pursuing a Masters' degree in Health care Management in Rutgers University's online program. I worked with some of the best instructors I've ever known who mentored me to be a great instructor. However there was a link missing between instructors and management such as department chairs, assistant chairs, and dean of the department. The most challenging part of teaching was developing a lesson that your students would find interesting enough to want to learn more. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Family Friendly and Students First
Retention and Graduation Manager (Current Employee), Woodland Park, NJJuly 16, 2014
Berkeley maintains a culture of family in the workplace. Change and adaptability are highly encouraged and the institution is focused on supporting student success.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
typical 9-5
Student Aid/Receptionist (Former Employee), New York, NYJune 27, 2014
a lot of rigorous paperwork.Does not offer benefits with this job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Drink the Koolaid
Admissions (Former Employee), NYJune 26, 2014
Pros: free lunch, cool staff
Cons: management, culture, company outlook
For profit college that attempts to sprinkle aspects of a traditional higher education institution. The college could most certainly be a place for success, but the low standards continue to affect growth in the right direction. The acceptance of under-qualified students causes an issue. Many professionals care about the students, but the environment – more... makes the culture more about just achieving the numerical goal. Very sales oriented and all about numbers. For those who want to get into admissions, be prepared to be told to do whatever it takes to get students to commit to the school. Very stressful job that takes a toll on you. If you have a background in sales and are accustomed to high pressure jobs then this could possibly be for you. Just giving a fair warning to those considering an admissions career at the college. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I knew most of everyone in the Academic Support Center.
Peer Tutor (Former Employee), Newark, NJJune 13, 2014
Everyday was a new experience for the tutors. The campus I worked was very small compared to other colleges and universities so everyone closely developed relationships with the tutors. My manager excelled in providing services for the students which included going to the classroom before class started to review any last minute questions.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
More sales than advising
Admissions Associate (Former Employee), NYJune 12, 2014
Pros: good benefits
Cons: be expected to work weekends
.Co-workers are fun to work with if you start in the same class.
.Most of the management staff do not have a Bachelors degree
.I found it very rewarding when i actually helped a student who was ready for college
.Very sales driven do not be misguided by title

.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
n/a
Lead Technician of New York State (Former Employee), New York, NYApril 17, 2014
a typical day at work
what you learned
management
your co-workers
the hardest part of the job
the most enjoyable part of the job
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Student focused business college
Math Instructor (Former Employee), New York, NYApril 16, 2014
A for profit business college looking to expand. Teaching focus is centered around one-on-one interaction with students to promote learning.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee), Newark, NJMarch 26, 2014
Pros: everything
Cons: short breaks
I learned to be more creative and I have met more people. It was so much diversity and thats what I liked about working for the college.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great college
Executive Assistant to the Senior Vice President (Former Employee), New York, NYMarch 15, 2014
great benefits and employees are appreciated for a good work
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Recruiting and Interviewing potential students for the college.
Admissions Counselor (Former Employee), Woodbridge, NJMarch 12, 2014
Pros: the freedom to be creative and work independently when planning events.
Cons: once i had children working the 2 mandatory late nights became an issue for child care, not an issue anymore.
My career began going out to High Schools and giving presentations and working college fairs. I enjoyed being at a new school each day, meeting guidance counselors, teachers and presenting to both small and large groups. I was then brought in to work on campus to interview families and students. There I expanded my knowledge in organizing and planning – more... campus events, chamber of commerce and scholarship dinners. My manager was my mentor and challenged me to learn and do new things. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional enviroment
FWS Receptionist (Former Employee), Woodland Park, NJFebruary 17, 2014
Great environment for people wishing to enter a professional field.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Department on the department you work in
Executive Assistant (Current Employee), New York, NYJanuary 13, 2014
Different dept have different opinion about their dept. no communication within dept, changes done and no email was send out. They are trying to better this.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
HARD WORK
part time porter, New Jersey (Former Employee), WOODBRIDGE NEWJERSEYDecember 9, 2013
MAINTAINING A GOOD PERFORMANCE
WORKING WELL WITH OTHER
LEARNING NEW THINGS
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Progressive College
Academic Advisor, Online Campus (Current Employee), Clifton, NJNovember 25, 2013
I have learned a tremendous amount about higher education from working in three different positions at Berkeley College. Now, as an Academic Advisor, a typical day is assisting students with various academic issues; ranging from registration questions to triaging personal issues and determining best support plan for the student. I enjoy working with – more... colleagues that have a wealth of experiences to share. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very productive
Student Ambassador (Current Employee), Newark, NJNovember 11, 2013
I learn how to be active in the business environment. I love to meet new people and network and also relate to things that is dealing with my major.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lots of physical work and not all that satisfying.
Maintenance / Collections Assistant (Former Employee), Paramus, NJOctober 23, 2013
I take pride in everything that I do, and no matter what that is I may not do it the best but I will surely try my best. While working here, I never got the sense that my work was taken seriously and there would be days where I would be doing hours of physical work without a break. Upon leaving this job all of my physical work had been destroyed or – more... tampered with in major ways all within a week. However the people at this job were very nice and most days they made coming into work very worthwhile. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Accounting Consultant at Academic Support Department •Tutor students in all accounting and management classes such as Managerial Accounting, Cost Acco
Accounting Consultant (Former Employee), New York, NYSeptember 24, 2013
Accounting Consultant at Academic Support Department
•Tutor students in all accounting and management classes such as Managerial Accounting, Cost Accounting, and Advanced
Accounting, Auditing, Financial Accounting I & II, Excel, Intermediate I, II & III, Taxation I & II.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Take inbound calls and make out bond calls to prospective students. Follow up with students/parents.
Enrollment Services (Current Employee), Woodland Park, NJAugust 22, 2013
Throughout the day i will be making calls to prospective student. Setting students up with appointments. Taking inbound calls from current students, prospective students, direct callers to correct department as well giving driving directions.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
best job i ever had in college
Bookstore Assistant Manager Associate (Former Employee), New York, NYAugust 22, 2013
Pros: went to my night classes right up stairs from the school
Cons: the hours vary
Keep records of customer interactions and transactions, recording details of inquiries, complaints, and comments, as well as actions taken.
Responsible for the daily operation of the NYC campus store. This includes: operating POS (cash register) system, assisting customers, shipping and receiving, inventory control and other administrative duties as – more... assigned.
Assisted the managers with the management operation of other campus bookstore by traveling to other locations when necessary. Scheduling meetings, managing supervisor's calendars
Assisted with time sheets – less

1 2 3