Berkshire Bank Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The worst place to work at
FSR (Former Employee) –  Rocky Hill, CTDecember 11, 2017
The managment is horrible! They don't care about how hard you work. All they care about is themselves. The pay isn't worth the stress. Don't even bother applying here it isn't worth it
Pros
Hours
Cons
Poor management
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
OK but growing pains
Mortgage Loan Officer (Current Employee) –  NYNovember 27, 2017
ok company, some departments not as balanced. Culture / vision from top strong. Not implemented by some division. Overtime this could be worked out to the good.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
Universal Financial Services Representative (Current Employee) –  Albany, NYNovember 26, 2017
This is my first time working in Banking and Berkshire Bank provided me with the training and tools that I need to be successful in the company. This is a great company to work for they have really great culture with being involved in the community and everything.
Pros
good work-life balance
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Berkshire Bank is a great place to work
Assistant Branch Manager (Current Employee) –  Chatham, NYOctober 4, 2017
I enjoy working at Berkshire Bank. I love developing my staff in their roles, interacting with customers. One of my favorite things is problem resolution, to take an angry customer and turn their attitude around is very satisfying. I love making sure that we are ready as a branch for an audit, a security issue and as a team we have put all of our effort into ensuring a smooth process.
Pros
Paid Volunteer time
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved my team
Bank Teller (Former Employee) –  Westfield, MASeptember 29, 2017
Everyone does work as a team and really helps one another out. My manager was awesome as well. Only issue was the part time hours. They weren't nearly enough for me to pay for essentials.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
TELLER (Current Employee) –  Syracuse, NYSeptember 20, 2017
Productive and fun workplace with the potential to learn and grow in the business field. This job helps to keep customer service skills up to par while learning how to grow and maintain good customer relations.
Pros
Good management
Cons
Little room for advancement
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job
Bank Teller (Current Employee) –  Pittsfield, MASeptember 14, 2017
Berkshire Bank is a great place to work. Friendly co workers, proper training, benefits and time off. I have really enjoyed my time here and will recommend this job to anyone looking.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good community crew
DIGITAL MARKETING SPECIALIST (Former Employee) –  Pittsfield, MAAugust 24, 2017
Enjoyed my coworkers very much. There are many employees who have been there for years, through many mergers and acquisitions that you will need to keep up with.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work/life balance
Teller II (Former Employee) –  Pittsfield, MAAugust 14, 2017
I was a teller II. As a full time teller my responsibilities included: Provide account services to customers by receiving deposits and loan payments; cashing checks; issuing savings withdrawals; recording night and mail deposits; selling cashier's checks, traveler's checks, and series e bonds; answering questions in person or on telephone; referring to other bank services The company offers employees befits such as 401K, health care, and paid vacation time.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Understaffed often.
Teller (Current Employee) –  Latham, NYJuly 29, 2017
Good environment to work, and lots of career opportunity. Some customers are hard to work with depending on the branch, Also my current branch is understaffed without a manager, and employees are not informed on when we will get one. The understaffed problem gets a little frustrating and makes me want to locate to a new branch.
Cons
understaffed
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
training
Banker (Former Employee) –  New EnglandJuly 19, 2017
I can't stress enough the training at first was not what it should have been. Did however get additional training after asking for it. Manager cared more about herself than her managers.
Pros
benefits
Cons
immediate upper management
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Workplace
Teller I (Current Employee) –  Springfield, MAJuly 10, 2017
Enjoyable staff and an excellent customers base.
Fast-paced work environment with a lot of room for advancement.
Very in touch with communities needs.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Teller
Teller (Current Employee) –  Utica, NYJune 27, 2017
Counting and sorting cash, performing transactions for customers and auditing the vault, ATM and other drawers. Requires good compliance with rules and customer service skills.
Pros
Free lunches
Cons
Too repetitive.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun
BSA/Compliance OFAC Officer (Former Employee) –  Pittsfield, MAJune 3, 2017
Always something new going on here. Great place to work and the people are nice too. Customer service is great. Hours and locations are great for everyone.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No comment
Loan Analyst/Processor (Current Employee) –  Methuen, MAMay 18, 2017
- Bank is very aggressive and focused on growing to a financial guru by buying more companies.

They are very flexible with giving you the time you need for dr's and ohter appts.
Pros
Schedule flexibility
Cons
Lack of mgmt support
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Informative
Seasonal Teller (Former Employee) –  Longmeadow, MAMay 16, 2017
-Processed deposits, withdrawals, bank checks, loan payments
-Developed customer service skills through interactions with customers.
-Saw how/what bank tellers do on a daily basis
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Branch Manager (Current Employee) –  Dalton, MAMay 9, 2017
We have fun at the same time as getting the job done.The atmosphere is friendly as well as exciting. The hardest part of the job is getting all parts of the job to work in tandem, while trying to reach sales targets.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
its okay just very boring and poor training
TELLER (Current Employee) –  utica nyApril 26, 2017
The training i recived before starting was fast and no one reall seemed to care once i was in a breanch to TRAIN, its also very slow and boring. during the training alot of stuff contacdidctd it self and i had to re learn alot of things once i got to my actually branch
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company
Financial Sales Representative (Current Employee) –  NYApril 17, 2017
I have been happy for the last three years. They have been great to me and promoted me twice. There are many great people at this bank. They culture is about having fun.
Pros
great people
Cons
pay is moderate
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I liked the casual atmosphere, we could wear jeans on friday's and saturday's.
Bank Teller (Former Employee) –  Haydenville, MAMarch 31, 2017
Berkshire Bank was a great atmosphere to work in. The pay was not great and the benefits were about average. There was I felt not a lot of opportunity for advancement.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Berkshire Bank. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.5
Based on 61 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.5
Compensation/Benefits
3.2
Job Security/Advancement
3.0
Management
3.2
Culture
3.3