Berkshire Communities Employee Reviews

Found 34 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
Community Manager (Former Employee) –  Charlotte, NCJanuary 31, 2017
Wonderful company very well organized and gives employees realistic goals. No 2 days were ever the same. The benefits were above average.The support from upper management was excellent. As a whole this was one of the best companies I ever worked for.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Environment
Marketing & Sales Consultant (Former Employee) –  Laurel, MDJanuary 2, 2017
Good working environment, great training, along with online educational classes. Reasonable pay. Lots of staffing available. National company. Organized
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It has been absolutely my pleasure working for Berkshire. Great Company.
MAINTENANCE COORDINATOR (Current Employee) –  Laurel, MDDecember 28, 2016
Berkshire is a class A company to work for. They take care of their residents and their employees. I have yet to see a Berkshire employee that does not feel the same way. A lot of Berkshire Employees have been with the company for several years. Very low turn over.
Pros
Health care, pays well, is honest with employees, quarterly bonuses
Cons
Have sold a lot of properties minimizing chances for local growth
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work
Maintenance Technician (Current Employee) –  Franklin, MAOctober 19, 2016
good place to work with a very friendly staff, workday is 8-5 on call every other week. the friendly environment was the best part and being close to work was a plus
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly, Fun, Energetic, Fast Paced
Marketing & Sales Agent (Former Employee) –  Philadelphia, PAJuly 16, 2016
Great work environment, providing excellent customer service. Very team oriented. The office staff had a familiar family feel. The hardest part was transitioning for a company take over. I really enjoyed my time before the company sold.
Pros
Commission
Cons
No Advancement in my current State
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing Training and fun work place
Sr. Leasing Consultant/Assistant Property Manager (Former Employee) –  Dallas, TXJuly 8, 2016
Bershire was the company that gave me all the professional skills I have to provided to my jobs. Bershire is a great company. Everyone at Berkshire is nice and are always there to help you out with anything you need job or personal.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poorly managed
Service and Maintenance Technician (Former Employee) –  Thornton, COJune 6, 2016
I wouldn't go back. Property manager was backstabbing! Maintenance super was inexperienced on how to reestablish a good working crew from the bottom. Was a micro manager.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
Sr. Leasing Consultant (Current Employee) –  Garland, TXMay 26, 2016
Berkshire is a GREAT company, They have really good benefits and take care of their employees.I would recommend this company.
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing Company
Property Manager (Former Employee) –  Hampton, VASeptember 8, 2015
This company is incredible. Only reason I am no longer with them is our property sold and I was unable to relocate due to being a military spouse. Everyone from corporate was always so welcoming and available to help if you needed it. They are also always trying to promote from within.
Was this review helpful?Yes16No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company
Maintenance Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Dallas, TX 75248July 29, 2015
My property is selling 8/28/15 and I am looking at opportunities due to Berkshire does not have anywhere for me to transfer to.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Oversee all aspect of the Managment Process
Property Manager (Current Employee) –  Millersville, MDJuly 2, 2015
A typical day at work involves ensuring that the grounds and exterior of the community are in superb condition.

Meeting with the Assistant Property Manager to review collections on a daily basis and the status of all delinquent and collection accounts.

Meeting with the Maintenance Supervisor to review the status of work orders and make ready units.

I approve all purchases and payments of invoices.

I wrote realistic budgets and followed the guidelines to stay within them.

The hardest part of my job is dealing with uncontrollable circumstances that may lead to the discomfort of a resident like a flood or fire.

The most enjoyable part of my job is working with people of all personality types.
Pros
The freedom to create employee motivational programs.
Was this review helpful?Yes16No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great culture and fun environment
Anonymous (Current Employee) –  AnonymousJune 3, 2015
Not the highest paying employer, but an employer that listens to everyone on the team from the groundskeeper to the Property Manager. Berkshire has a great culture of hard working, fun and collaborative teammates.
Pros
25% apartment discount, 401k match and insurance coverage. Great upper management and genuine caring leaders.
Cons
Commissions and bonus levels below competitors.
Was this review helpful?Yes18No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Management that really cares
Leasing Consultant (Current Employee) –  Atlanta, GAMay 8, 2015
Great management company. From entry level to upper CEO everyone cares about their employees and rewards them for their efforts. Room for advancement.
Was this review helpful?Yes18No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
work day
MARKETING AND SALES CONSAULTANT (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXApril 22, 2015
A typical work day includes filing paper work, touring guest area, and completing applications. I mostly tour all day because we are so busy.
Was this review helpful?Yes9NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall loved my job.
Maintenance Supervisor (Former Employee) –  15030 SE. 179TH Street Renton, WA 98058September 30, 2014
Started with me in the office getting my staff started. I enjoyed the challenge of the day was at the property for 6 1/2 years all the way through the sale of the property.
Was this review helpful?Yes15No8Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
awesome company
Maintenance supervisor (Former Employee) –  MarylandSeptember 7, 2014
This is a awesome company to work for, great culture, benefits and salary
Pros
great atmosphere, team work
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes15No5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company that gives employees tools for success!
Assistant Property Manager (Former Employee) –  Charlotte,NCMarch 11, 2014
Posting monies to resident accounts and collect on debt that is due. Daily market analysis required to properly price apartment concessions and market rent. Finalize resident dispositions upon move-out, negotiating and securing contracts. Answering phones and provide detailed information regarding apartment homes. Respond and execute resident requests if there is an issue.
Was this review helpful?Yes18No11Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing Company
Marketing & Sales Consultant (Current Employee) –  Philadelphia, PAFebruary 28, 2014
I really love working here, relocating to LA. Amazing company!
Was this review helpful?Yes9No9Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good to place to work
Analyst (Current Employee) –  Boston OfficeJanuary 23, 2014
Work life balance
have some flexibility
people are nice to work with
Pros
Flexibility
Cons
No specific direction
Was this review helpful?Yes19No7Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love working for Berkshire
Property Management (Current Employee) –  Philadelphia, PANovember 7, 2013
BPA is a great company that focuses on individual success and advancement. Flexible compensation with extra bonuses for performance. Great company!
Was this review helpful?Yes19No6Report

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Berkshire Communities. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 35 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.7
Compensation/Benefits
3.7
Job Security/Advancement
3.5
Management
3.6
Culture
3.9

Berkshire Communities Reviews by Location