Berkshire Hathaway Homestate Companies Employee Reviews

Showing all 31 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun, Demanding, But worth it
Claims Professional (Former Employee) –  San Francisco, CAMay 12, 2017
You have to work hard to make it but the opportunity to advance is what keeps you motivated. There is always opportunity to grow. Management constantly changes which is the con in it all.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good position while completing graduate school
Underwriting Support Specialist II (Former Employee) –  San Francisco, CAMay 10, 2017
I learned a considerable amount about collaborating with other departments. The culture felt a bit shallow; it felt there was more focus on the gossip than the work at times. Management was not always in agreement and it often showed in how necessary information was or was not relayed to different teams. However, there are many people in the company that have a great balance between displaying personality while still being productive.
Pros
Flexible schedules, free coffee/tea
Cons
Low compensation, lack of communication across underwriting department
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good resources but you work for yourself
Real Estate Assistant (Current Employee) –  East Lansing, MIApril 18, 2017
Its a completely independent work experience. You can get some help from HR and management. But you're pretty much on your own. Well branded company with high standards
Pros
Good resources
Cons
No job security
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast Paced Challenging work
Claims Professional (Current Employee) –  San Diego, CAApril 8, 2017
The case load can be a bit overwhelming but overall a very supportive and smart place to work. Parking is paid for at the downtown San Diego location and the office is in the heart of fun restaurants and clubs. The quality of work life is high.
Pros
Great people
Cons
Stress
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to hang my license
Realtor (Current Employee) –  Chandler, AZMarch 30, 2017
Self Employed,,, Great working environment and people. Enjoy working with many people and helping people buy or sell their home.
Very fulfilling and I have been doing it for 18 years.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A very good company to work for.
Bill Management Analyst (Former Employee) –  San Francisco, CAMarch 2, 2017
Berkshire Hathaway was a very good company to work for and I would highly recommend the company to someone looking for employment.
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place
Medical Billing Specialist (Former Employee) –  Omaha, NEFebruary 23, 2017
The typical day in my position involved little interaction with other people. Productivity was a high concern and there was very little diversity of duties in the position.
Pros
Great pay
Cons
Poor management, little
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive place to work
Clerical Assistant, Payer (Former Employee) –  San Diego, CAFebruary 13, 2017
I enjoyed working there, and would recommend this company to anyone. They were caring and very supportive. I enjoyed the environment and everyone was a pleasure to work with.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor leadership
Claims Adjuster (Former Employee) –  Omaha, NEFebruary 2, 2017
While not a horrible place to work, their communication is extremely poor. There are also very strong company silos with management that seem arrogant.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to work
Executive Assistant & Claims processor (Former Employee) –  Alpharetta, GAJanuary 26, 2017
I would recommend anyone to work here at Zeus Development Corporation! They were an en excellent company to work for and the team was amazing. They treated you like family!
Was this review helpful?YesNo3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Company.
Real Estate Agent (Current Employee) –  Clarks Summit, PAJanuary 24, 2017
The company pays the commission checks very quickly. Material is supplied for home listings. The broker is fun and will work with you. You do have to do all the work yourself ( part of being a real estate agent).
Pros
Pays quickly
Cons
None. This job is about your self motivation.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best Job I've worked for in 10 years
Receptionist Front Desk (Former Employee) –  Wallingford, CTJanuary 22, 2017
I started as a temp for the front desk receptionist. Never in my wildest dream did ever think it would've been such a great place to work. Best job.!
Pros
Plenty of free lunches and friendly co workers
Cons
breaks was a bit short.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Large Company - Large Management... Be aware of the ups and downs of both.
Claims Professional II (Former Employee) –  San Diego, CADecember 12, 2016
Once I progressed from the initial training unit (Medical Only), everything sort of went downhill from there. Training at BHHC left something to be desired, and due to the high velocity of work, I was unable to keep up with the work. That set the stage for the remainder of my time there before resigning.
Pros
Hour Lunches, Benefits, Company Get-Togethers
Cons
Poor Management, Lackluster Training
Was this review helpful?Yes4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun atmosphere
Real Estate Assistant and Marketing Manager (Former Employee) –  Calabasas, CADecember 12, 2016
I loved walking through all the crazy houses with the real estate agent. Helping her communicate with clients and connecting her with the world through the media was truly an honor, as she is such a successful and hard working agent!
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy Work Environment
Claims Professional III (Former Employee) –  San Francisco, CANovember 15, 2016
The work is very busy and plentiful but the deadlines are intense. The benefits are good but there are not a lot of perks in the office. Coworkers are nice and supervisors are supportive.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My Underwriting Internship at BHHC
Underwriting Intern (Current Employee) –  Omaha, NEOctober 12, 2016
This internship has been a wonderful opportunity for me, as it has allowed me to learn the basics of the property and casualty insurance industry. It has also taught me get interpersonal skills and the like. The company is great in general. It treats its employees well, even its interns.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Berkshire Hathaway Homestate Coompanies
Sr. .Net Programmer (Current Employee) –  San Francisco, CASeptember 30, 2016
Typical work day: Easy going
What you learned: New technologies
Management: Alright
Co-workers: Fun
Hardest part of the job: Location
Most enjoyable part of the job: Team
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A very traditional company
Project Lead/Business Analyst (Current Employee) –  San Francisco, CAMay 4, 2016
The company operates in a traditional way, don't expect flexible working hour or special company benefits. If you are expecting a standard job, this is the way to go.
Was this review helpful?Yes4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people in an Industry with little integrity
Lien Resolution Specialist (Former Employee) –  San Diego, CAApril 26, 2016
I enjoyed meeting many great new people. But the work comp industry, applicant attorneys, dishonest doctors and illegal aliens made me very frustrated.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not so great
Analyst (Former Employee) –  Omaha, NEMarch 16, 2016
Well never work for this company. If you have any complaints or suggestions, know they won't make a difference. The pay is terrible. And management isn't that great to work for either
Was this review helpful?Yes11No4Report

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Berkshire Hathaway Homestate Companies. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 31 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.9
Compensation/Benefits
3.8
Job Security/Advancement
3.6
Management
3.6
Culture
3.7

CEO Approval

100%
16 ratings
Add your rating

Berkshire Hathaway Homestate Companies Reviews by Location