Berkshire Medical Center Employee Reviews in United States

Showing all 21 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to learn and work
Phlebotomist (Former Employee) –  Pittsfield, MANovember 7, 2015
Great place to work, very professional staff. Management is outstanding. The most enjoyable part of the job is working with a diversity of people.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good place to work
Registered Nurse (Current Employee) –  Pittsfield, MAMay 29, 2015
A very rewarding job, most days good patients and coworkers teamwork. Some days understaffed and very draining and stressful. Free parking, good cafeteria.
Pros
Good hourly rate
Cons
understaffing
Was this review helpful?Yes4No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I will miss all my coworkers. It's been a great place to work.
Renal Home Training Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Pittsfield, MAApril 15, 2015
A small town community hospital with big city ideals, high standards for quality healthcare for patients and staff, financially responsible with an eye on the future for potential improvement. Great place to work for almost 30 years.
Was this review helpful?Yes5No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This is a good hospital that takes care of their patients and is friendly.
Certified Nursing Assistant (Former Employee) –  Pittsfield, MAFebruary 5, 2015
At the beginning of the shift I go into each room and introduce myself and see if the patients need anything. Then I coordinate with fellow co-workers for any last minute updates. The hardest thing about the job is when you're under staffed. Almost everyone that I have worked with are very helpful.
Pros
friendly co-workers, good pay/benefits.
Cons
short staffed
Was this review helpful?Yes4No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoy working for BMC
ER Nurse (Current Employee) –  Pittsfield, MAAugust 17, 2014
I always look forward to my work days, I enjoy the patients I encounter, although not all are positive. I enjoy the new learning experience I receive with every new work day, knowing that I will learn something new each day, but not knowing what that new experienve will be. The doctors, fellow nurses, CNAs and supervisor are all very knowledgeable and are very willing to educate you in anyway they can. The hardest part of my job is caring for very young children who present in the ER very ill or critical. The most enjoyable part is being a member of a big team where we all have the same goal in mind…to care for the acute/critically ill patient to the best of our ability.
Pros
new learning experience with every work day
Cons
more often then not, not being able to take a break
Was this review helpful?Yes7No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to grow
Registered Nurse (Current Employee) –  Pittsfield, MAAugust 12, 2014
This facility has helped my grown from a nursing assistant, to a professional Registered Nurse working in the Emergency Room. My co-workers, including physicians, constantly are spreading experience and knowledge to myself as well as other staff.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly people who really care and are here to help.
Ultrasound Technician Radiology (Former Employee) –  Pittsfield, MAJuly 26, 2014
The people are so welcoming and have made my experience in Ultrasound memorable. I have gained so much knowledge here and they have definitely set the bar high.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee) –  Pittsfield, MAMarch 6, 2014
Berkshire Medical Center is a wonderful place to work. They are extremely fair and treat their employees very well.
Pros
health insurance is great
Cons
no cons for us
Was this review helpful?Yes7No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Part time summer job that required me to do data entry.
Data Entry Clerk (Seasonal Position) (Former Employee) –  Pittsfield, MAJanuary 6, 2014
Responsible for entering budget data generated by the Budget Manager.
Proficiency in Microsoft Office Software and Meditech Budget Program.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No4
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great overall place to work
Perioperative Nurse (Current Employee) –  Pittsfield, MAOctober 16, 2013
Everyone works together as a team especially through stressful times.
Pros
teamwork
Was this review helpful?Yes5No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
n/a
Sales Representative (Former Employee) –  Pittsfield, MASeptember 10, 2013
assembly line
each station had its own unique food
I learned how to manage time and work together as a team
management was great
co workers were great
the hardest part of the job was trying to please the patients with great food and diet
most enjoyable part of the job was it was a fast pace enviorment
Was this review helpful?Yes3No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great team environment!
Staff nurse for area hospitals (Current Employee) –  Albany, NYMay 31, 2013
The nursing staff are the best I have ever worked with! The support from management especially 5 West is amazing. They work with you and what ever schedule.
Pros
great staff, compensation, and benefits
Cons
administration can be challenging at times
Was this review helpful?Yes5No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
If management mediocrity is your thing...
Sterilization Tech (Former Employee) –  pittsfield, maMay 13, 2013
The benefits of working at BMC were phenomenal. Compensation was much higher than average and all kinds of insurance packages are offered. However, management and employee relations were less than sub-par. Managers would listen to concerns but disregard them after meetings, fellow employees acted in a vindictive and spiteful manner, employees from different departments would carry an elitist attitude, and my department particularly rarely received any acknowledgement for it's work or accomplishments. I think the problem is people forget that the main goal of the hospital is to take care of the patient and not gossip about other employees outside of a patients room. Working for BMC can be a rewarding experience if one is able to separate oneself from the consistent middle school-esque drama.
Pros
great compensation and benefits package
Cons
(read review)
Was this review helpful?Yes8No4
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Small Community Hospital
Registered Nurse-BSN (Current Employee) –  Pittsfield, MAMarch 26, 2013
Good place to work with Union reps to report staffing shortage too.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome Nursing staff
Staff/Charge Nurse-FT (Current Employee) –  Pittsfield, MAMarch 19, 2013
This is a great place to work! The nursing staff on every floor is welcoming to new comers. The charge nurse and clinical leaders are amazing with their support on a typical day. Approachable staff, great nursing assistance, and supportive ancillary staff.
Pros
great pay, benefits, time off, and the best health insurance.
Cons
administration and nursing at times can be at odds.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Teaching hospital with caring staff
Receptionist (Former Employee) –  Union, NJJanuary 31, 2013
I learned something new everyday,it was a very busy and fast paced environment.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Atmosphere and Wonderful People
Certified Nursing Assistant (Current Employee) –  Pittsfield, MADecember 10, 2012
Berkshire Medical Center is a place filled with love and the nurses and nursing assistants due whatever is needed to make sure the lives of their patients are in the best hands. Work days were sometimes stressful because there weren't enough hands on a floor, but everyone helps one another. I learned how to deal with all different kinds of people and how to cater to needs. The hardest part of the job was seeing people in such distress and not being able to do anything for them other than make them comfortable. The most enjoyable part was meeting all different kinds of people.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Teaching hospital with caring staff
SENIOR CHARGE CRSCT (Former Employee) –  Pittsfield, MAJuly 23, 2012
Glad to have been apart of such a caring and teaching hospital for 10 years.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No4
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Top rated company
LPN (Former Employee) –  Pittsfield, MAJuly 8, 2012
Medication administration. Poor work conditions. Poor management
Was this review helpful?Yes7No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I learned something new everyday
Certified Nursing Assistant (Former Employee) –  Pittsfield, MAJuly 1, 2012
It felt like my calling to work there, I loved every minute of it from 7am until 3:30pm.
Pros
meet lots of people
Cons
getting attached to patients
Was this review helpful?YesNo5

Overall rating

4.2
Based on 21 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.1
Compensation/Benefits
4.3
Job Security/Advancement
3.9
Management
3.9
Culture
4.1

Berkshire Medical Center Reviews by Location