Find companies:
Berry Plastics Corporation
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
39 reviews

Berry Plastics Corporation Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
PRODUCTIVE
Injection Blow Mold Technician Trainee (Current Employee), Phoenix, AZAugust 20, 2014
TWELVE HOUR SHIFTS,GOOD CO WORKERS,GOOD MANAGMENT WAS A GOOD COMPANY TO WORK AT.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Would not recommend company
Facility/Maintenance Manager (Former Employee), Middlesex, NJAugust 10, 2014
This company has been down sizing and shutting down equipment. It is constantly being flooded due to location.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Hot and Smelly Workplace
Thermoforming Machine Operator (Former Employee), Evansville, INAugust 6, 2014
Berry is HOT and Hard Work. It pays well, but people do not respect each other, nor do they appreciate their jobs. Not many perks for the family. Due to the Heat and Fast Pace, You loose weight!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Used to be a fun workplace but in recent years, it became less and less about the people, and more about hitting the numbers,
Pricing Manager (Former Employee), Monroe, LAJuly 31, 2014
Pros: benefits
Cons: human resources and lack of motivation
While the benefits are great, the pay is below standard in Monroe, LA. and motivation is lacking. The HR Department is the worst. The HR Manager of the Monroe facility is controlling, and very unprofessional. She yelled and cursed at me on numerous occasions & was witnessed by others. She also discussed confidential information with just about anyone – more... - my entire department. Although I was part of a lay-off, I developed lasting relationships with many of my colleagues, and am grateful for the experience I gained there. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Constant change in direction, goals are 90 day intervals
National Account Sales Manager (Former Employee), NationalJuly 16, 2014
Pros: lately none
Cons: lack of advancement
Since going public, Berry main focus is to hit the market target numbers without failure. Be it growth or reduction in personal.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical Day
Print Press Operator/Set-Up Operator (Current Employee), Monroeville, OHJuly 14, 2014
We have to be clocked in and at our machines by 7:00 pm. The machine may still be running when we arrive and we relieve the previous shift from operating. Run the order through the machine taking special attention to detail of the printed product. Depending on who the supervisor gives you to operate the machine with, which most machines in the facility – more... are two person machines, the machine may run smooth throughout the run or shut down every so often due to the operator. When the order is finished we take the plates off the machine and clean out the ink wells to set up the next order. Overall its a good job and great place to work, not everyday is the same. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive place to work
Quality Supervisor (Current Employee), Morrow, GAJune 15, 2014
Berry manufactures plastic products. We have approximately 150 EE's at the Morrow Georgia Plant.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ggood place to work if you don't have a life
former packer (Former Employee), aurora ilJune 12, 2014
Pros: great pay, great benefits
Cons: surprise shift change
Its a good job. Great pay, great benefits, nicest co workers in the world to work with. But the bad thing For me is they surprise you with shift change. I went from first shift to working 3rd.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Unorganized
Safety Manager (Former Employee), Aurora, ILMay 27, 2014
Left foot doesn't know what the right one is doing. Priorities concerning workplace safety are out of line
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst place to work ever since new production manager
Mold technician (Former Employee), Hot springs,arMay 11, 2014
Pros: they will hire anyone
Cons: poor supervisors
Was a great place to work until new production manager came in and cut 100+ jobs only to put those responsibilities on already over worked employees but berry doesn't care about its workers only how much the company profits and any chance to move up in the company is a joke and supervisors and leads spend more time on break than supervising keep looking – more... this place is not worth it – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Safety is the number priority of the company during and after operation, second is the quality of products.
Color Mechanic (Former Employee), Baltimore, MDMay 9, 2014
Pros: have enough time for snack and lunch break with free cold water or juice drink.
Cons: machine noise is number one issues for verbal communications.
The companies are all productive but there no recreational facilities, safety are number one priority concerned for everyone in the workplace.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not good
worker (Current Employee), woodtock, ilApril 26, 2014
Pros: if you like overtime
Cons: treatment is bad
Managers are sub par and dont care, work way too many hours 60+ hours a week is not uncommon, work every holiday and every weekend, no 401k match, no room for advancement opportunity.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
factory
Thermo Printing Machine Operator (Current Employee), Evansville, INMarch 21, 2014
Pros: good benefits.
Cons: a lot of heavy lifting.
Running a line of product. Loading pallets with completed product. Cleaning printing machine.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work, all the other workers are fun to work with.
Model Maker (Current Employee), Evansville, INMarch 12, 2014
A typical day at work involved working with FDM and SLA printers. I learned a lot about thermoforming and working with 3D printers. All of the co-workers are cool and fun to work with. The hardest part of the job was sometimes there would be so many requests it would be hard to keep up with everything. The most enjoyable part of the job was figuring – more... things out on my own because finding out something new with 3D printers can get really cool. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting place to work at.
Lead Pack Coordinator (Former Employee), Sioux Falls, SDJanuary 28, 2014
Pros: 3 breaks, pto and bonuses
Cons: long hours, no ac on the plant floor
This work is repetitive, but every now and then something will happen that defies all logic. The co-workers are nice and friendly.
The hardest part of the job is the long hours, it is a 12hr shift.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good job / bad work enviorment
Thermoforming Maintenance Journeyman (Current Employee), Evansville, INJanuary 20, 2014
Pros: can work at my own pace, light pressure from manangment
Cons: co-workers
Like the job and the challenges of the job, but don't feel secure in the work place ,Don't feel I can trust co-worker with my safety and job security
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun and work with a lot of friends and I learn new stuff every day
Thermoforming Technician Group Leader Assistance (Former Employee), Alsip, ILJanuary 19, 2014
I learned everyday on a new product,and get involved with other co-workers.Trying to improve my job and getting the machines running.Making sure co-workers working in a safe place. I also get to meet new people and make friends.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great culture and great people to work with
Sales (Current Employee), Evansville, INDecember 5, 2013
Berry has a lot of great employees and a good work environment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great group of people, clean work environment
Molding Maintenance Supervisor (Current Employee), Alsip, IllinoisDecember 2, 2013
Pros: the whole production area is air conditioned.
Cons: we are required to work in some extremely hot areas of the building
A typical day is usually very hectic. Start the morning with a production revue meeting from the last 24 hours. At this time we discuss the problems with the equipment. After this meeting we have a maintenance meeting to talk about the equipment problems and how to solve them. I will then delegate the work load and assign the preventive maintenance – more... assignments. From here all the work starts. everyone goes to there assigned tasks. I try to keep myself available to help my crew out Meanwhile I am ordering parts that we may need, going over there punches, checking vacations and going threw e-mails. By the end of the day I am usually helping the crew to finish and making sure all of the work is complete before leaving for the day. This job has taught me to be patient. The hardest part is managing people. The most enjoyable part of the job is working alongside a great group of people and seeing something we worked on performing flawless. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Boring Place To Work
Setup Operator (Current Employee), Chippewa Falls, WINovember 17, 2013
Pros: extra breaks, double time on sundays
Cons: poor health care plans/premiums
If you like to do the same thing over and over this is the place to be. Berry's benefit package is rather poor,(Cost of Insurance) a starting employee starts out at 14.03 per hr. And the company's probationary period is rather long before you can join the Union! The work schedule is rather nice it's a 2-2-3 schedule. Every other weekend off and double – more... time on Sunday. Company tries to go against the Union Contract all the time, and some of the employees are back stabbing jerks. – less