Find companies:
Best Buy
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
4,738 reviews

Best Buy Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work
Cashier (Former Employee), Matteson, ILAugust 30, 2014
Pros: discount
Cons: not enough hours
help customers , ring out products, stock shelf, locate products
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Job
sales specialist (Current Employee), Spartanburg, SCAugust 30, 2014
Pros: learning about all the newest technology
Cons: pay
Co-workers are great and the management is as well. There really is no hard part to this job just stay busy. typically the customers are great.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work if you are passionate about technology and sales
Computing & Tablets Sales Supervisor (Current Employee), FloridaAugust 30, 2014
Pros: good benefits
Cons: typical retail work life balance
Can be stressful but worth it, make sure you are giving it your all or you wont move anywhere. great opportunity to move from store to store getting promotions
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard Work
Computer Sales (Former Employee), Aventura FLAugust 29, 2014
Pros: great environment
Cons: closing
a day at best buy was nothing typical it was a very high pace busy enviorment with non-stop work. what i learned from Best Buy & Best Buy Mobile was my ability to sell to customers at a high level. the Management was a great part of work very helpful and gava me a peace of mind on how to complete my day to day task.co-works was ok and the hardest part – more... of the job where the closing duties and the most enjoyable part was making BIG sales every day – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work if you are passionate about technology and sales
Computing & Tablets Sales Supervisor (Current Employee), Fort Lauderdale, FLAugust 29, 2014
Pros: good benefits
Cons: typical retail work life balance
Avoid job if you are not driven to advance, as it can be very repetitive if you are not constantly learning. If you are genuinely trying to move forward and learn more, there is a good opportunity for advancement between stores and positions.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company,Going downhill
Advanced Repair Agent (Current Employee), Eatontown, NJAugust 29, 2014
Pros: flexible schedule, great managers
Cons: customers, holiday hours, cutting employee benefits
When I started at Best Buy, it was great! However, over the course of a year, the higherups have reorganized they managing positions and making huge policy changes very rapidly. It makes keeping up with company policy and new processes very challenging. This causes frustration for both clients and employees. The corporate managers need to get their – more... heads together.

However, the pay is better than most places, benefits are very good, but slowly being taken away. The management in the store and co-workers are all great. I have fun at work when we're not TOO busy.

Overall, 4/5 stars, would recommend to others for place of work. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working with great people in an enjoyable work environment.
Sales Consultant (Current Employee), Phoenix, AZAugust 29, 2014
Pros: leisure, friendly co-workers, benefits.
Cons: inconvenient scheduling.
Work day would start out by completing usual daily tasks, down stocking, making sure all product is functional and presentable for customers. I spent hours doing training on new and upcoming products that would help benefit the average person in their day to day lives. Management was enjoyable, upper management acted personable with other employees – more... and built strong relationships with one another. Co-Workers were also a big plus of Best Buy. Not only did we work efficiently as a team but also had fun together as friends. The hardest part of the job was keeping up with all the growing technology day in and day out; however this was also one of the most fun parts as well. Most enjoyable part was being able to be tested every day; having customers some to me with a problem and having to brainstorm in order to find them a proper solution. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not much to say
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Mount Laurel, NJAugust 28, 2014
Pros: the employee discount
Cons: management, no room for growth, too much hypocrisy
Wouldn't recommend working there, poor management and underwhelming pay. It's just a typical retail job, no different from any other retail job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
na
Operations Agent (Current Employee), va beachAugust 28, 2014
Pros: nice people
Cons: na
Its a nice place for people that are in high school to work. I have learned a lot working at this store. Its not a place to make a career.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun to work at, but retail takes a toll
Mobile Sales Associate (Current Employee), Dublin, CAAugust 28, 2014
I enjoy working there, but I received my degree in Networking and Communications Management. I do not want to work retail the rest of my life.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great training to keep employees up to date
Tablet Specialist (Former Employee), Rockford, ILAugust 27, 2014
Pros: friendly and fun staff
Cons: my job requirements were far to broad
Started each day by making the lunch break schedule and checking sales goals for the day. After that I would assign the other employees to their designated zones, and handle my zone and the customers in it. Periodically I would go through other zones and make sure that the other employees were doing okay. If there was an issue I would coach them on – more... the correct way to handle the part of the sale that went askew. When it would hit the time for the an employee to take lunch I would notify them and then verify with a manager that it was okay for them to go. When it would get to the end of the day I would start stocking the floor and going through and lining the shelves (pulling the product forward). Then if I felt it necessary I would select people to send home and confirm it with the managers. Managers were great and fun to work with. They defiantly got to know you and form good work relationships. Even when I put in my two weeks I was pulled aside and offered a managers position to stay. I think that they were very good at their job and respected them a lot. My coworkers were very nice and listened well they never gave push back. Hardest part of the job was making sure that all sales were going well on account of I was always pulled to mobile or other areas to help for coverage, and since I was not able to be in my area I wasn't able to handle my over all duties. Most enjoyable was the morning meetings and other store meetings. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Co-Workers, with struggling Management
BACK OFFICE LEAD (Current Employee), Syracuse, NYAugust 27, 2014
Pros: job duties, co-workers
Cons: hours, pay, benefits, management
Best Buy has definitely changed a lot since I started back in 2010. The overall employee experience has definitely deteriorated, and the management team has almost gave up on the employee and is only worried about numbers.

As far as my role in the company I love my position, the work is demanding and it keeps me on my toes. I love meeting all the new – more... candidates and getting them trained and ready to go. I have learned a lot at this company as far administrative duties go, and I have learned my way around quite a few systems which I feel will help me in the future. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not A good Place to work
Mobile Sales Consultant (Current Employee), Enfield, CTAugust 27, 2014
It wasnt the dream job..All in all management was terrible and there wasnt any rom for growth. i suppose it is sufficient for that of a college student but other than that..
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
can be a fun place to work
Mobile Sales Associate (Former Employee), melbourn flAugust 27, 2014
Pros: employee discount
Cons: short breaks, rude managment
typical day would consist of seeking out customers to help and closing sales, learned a lot about new and trending technology.
management was always constantly under pressure for performance, hardest part of the job would be maintaining your numbers and attachments in sales.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best Buy
Customer Service Specialist (Former Employee), Queens, NYAugust 27, 2014
Pros: great discount
Cons: limited discount
A typical day at Best Buy was to clock in and report to your department to meet your supervisor and get assign to your duties. I was responsible for customer service so I ring, exchanged and return products while handling the financing department. While Best Buy was my first job, I learned how to work with others as well as multitask.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun, productive way of communicating with customers
Customer Service Representative/ Sales/ Billing (Current Employee), Houston, TXAugust 26, 2014
Pros: multi-tasking, no headset, very hands-on
Cons: short lunch breaks, unorganized, unpromised position
The duties of resolving customer's issues or being of assistance to their inquiries about a particular item. Daily notate accounts and what I did to personally assist the customer.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A Normal Retail Job
Sales Support (Former Employee), Victor, NYAugust 26, 2014
Pros: some good people, can be fun at times
Cons: practically no work/life balance
Long days, long holiday seasons. Can be okay if you get into a good store.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Okay
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Sugar Land, TXAugust 25, 2014
The job was okay, but there idea for sales was silly, writing down what the customer wants on a piece of paper like some car salesman, when you can obviously see the customer was irritated, the management acted to much like teenagers and kind of lazy not really there for the customer. Co-worker where good, always did there part. The hardest part of – more... the job, the higher ups, most enjoyable, the customer. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical job
Parts Processor (Current Employee), Suwanee, GAAugust 25, 2014
Pros: points we receive for going beyond our core job responsibilities.
Cons: health care, and lack of good management.
A day is filled with constant work, and enjoyable coworkers. I learned team work is extremely important in the success of our every day responsibilities. Our management lacks the knowledge in utilizing their employees to there best abilities. My coworkers are a pleasure to work with we help each other in anyway we can always. The mass amount of work – more... we have to do everyday with a minimum amount of staff to get it done with. Being able to work with the people I work with an enjoying my team accomplishments. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place
customer service specialist (Former Employee), bufordAugust 25, 2014
a great place and company to work for. learned a lot of new things about the compaany

1 2 3 4 5

About Best Buy

Best Buy Co., Inc. (Best Buy) is a specialty retailer of consumer electronics, home office products, entertainment software, appliances – Read more