Find companies:
Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
170 reviews

Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Patient Service Rep
Patient Service Rep (Current Employee), Boston, MAAugust 5, 2014
Establish par levels for all supplies
Keep track of inventory weekly and place orders as needed
Identify and contact sources for supplies, meet with vendor, coordinate meetings with key personnel and consults with purchasing for pricing.
Communicate back order concerns and provide new sources of substitutes to satisfy departmental requirements.
Perform – more... all necessary follow-up and expediting activities to ensure delivery requirements including reconciliation of order receiving. Collaborate with distribution personnel to ensure availability of hospital inventory.
Also responsible for room turnover in procedural area, scope tech coverage, motility tech coverage, practice assistant coverage – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very nice place to work depending on your manager
Referral Billing Coordinator (Current Employee), Boston, MAJuly 17, 2014
I have worked at BIDMC for 17 years and my work experience here has been great
looking to advance in job description as well as pay
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lovely Environment
Medical Assistant Intern (Current Employee), Boston, MAJuly 10, 2014
Training, vital signs, phlebotomy, ekg's, point of care testing
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work, but commute was not practical for myself
Arrhythmia Technician (Former Employee), Boston, MAJuly 10, 2014
A typical day at work was to answer phone calls from daily and symptomatic patients with event monitors, to analyze data, and to send a summary to the ordering physician. My coworkers were great, i really miss them a lot! The hardest part of the job for me was the commute everyday from Worcester to Boston.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and flexible place to work.
Lab Support Assistant (Current Employee), Boston, MAJuly 9, 2014
• Implement and monitor tracking system for slide file room to track all movement in and out of Pathology Department
• Fill all biopsy slides in numerical order for doctors in slide file room
• Responsible for sending biopsy blocks for further diagnostic testing for department doctors
• Supervised requisitions for doctors in regards to health insurance – more... and ICD9 codes
• Fulfill slide and block requests for doctors, residents, and other staff for patient care
• Retrieve and transport lab specimens from operating room to pathology cutting room
• Unwrap cytology pap smears for patient visit creation in SOFT operating system – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place to work
Senior Service Desk Analyst (Current Employee), Boston, MAJuly 7, 2014
Most advanced IT Healthcare organization in the world -highly reccomend it.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fast paced work environment
Medical Assistant (Hematology/Oncology) (Former Employee), Boston, MAJuly 2, 2014
Pros: free treats and snacks for patients and staff
Cons: phlebotomy schedule did not make sense
I enjoyed working at BIDMC hematology/oncology it gave me a great experience in the lesson of life. On a daily basis I was able to interact with patients on a deep level of understanding and appreciation of day to day health and life. I was able to watch and assist nurses in changing or placing ports into patient's. I would say the hardest part of finishing – more... up my externship was having to have connected with people daily or weekly and then having to leave them. I would say that in the hematology/oncology department we were all more like family employees and patients alike. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable place to work
Vulnerability Tech (Former Employee), Boston, MAJune 30, 2014
Pros: lots to learn
Cons: i was a contractor who was wrapping up
overwhelming great place to work. I was in charge of Vulnerability on the network. If a user had outdate software. I would call or email that user and arrange time to coordinate a mutual time where we could swap out the software. I also imaged machines and gave out another hardware.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and educational
Pharmacy Intern (Former Employee), Boston, MAJune 24, 2014
Completing my clinical rotation at BIDMC definitely helped me grow as a professional. Attended patient rounds every morning and was able to provide input on medication recommendations. Also, put together powerpoint presentations for the pharmacy staff and other students.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Volunteering there was fun
Volunteer (Former Employee), Brookline, MAJune 18, 2014
Everyone is very nice. I was only there as a Volunteer but, I did not feel like a Volunteer because the worker did not treat me like one
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A very friendly and courteous atmosphere. I am learning a lot about the admin portion of the hospital.
Intern (Former Employee), Boston, MAJune 17, 2014
I really enjoy working with my co-workers. It is like I am a part of the family and I am just an intern. I am learning a lot about administration and clerical work in this hospital. I assist the Medical Office Assistants here in the Breast care department.

The women I work for work for different surgeons/doctors.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
positive environment
Secretary (Former Employee), Boston, MAJune 9, 2014
-the doctors are professional and polite, along with the other staff
-the job wasn't hard at all
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company
Senior Data Analyst (Current Employee), Boston, MAJune 6, 2014
I love working here! This is a great company - Boston is a touch cold!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work. Learned a lot
Medical Assistant/Externship (Former Employee), Boston, MAJune 6, 2014
Great learning hospital. Very welcoming and informative staff. I did my externship here and left a much more competent medical assistant as well as grew as a person
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A very busy and challanging place to work that requires skill
Senior Help Desk / On-Site Support Specialist (Current Employee), Brookline, MAJune 1, 2014
Pros: challenging work place
Cons: no cons
•A typical day at work
Replacing or setting up a complete workstation(S) for new hires
setting up scanners for HIM, (Health Information Management)
Reconfigure workstations that start to print information into
another department when the IP of the workstation changes.

•What you learned
To resolve an incident in a timely manner to keep the Client
up – more... and running to be able to provide care for patients coming
in for healthcare.

•Management
Management is always aware of processes going on to assure that all
work performed is in compliance to hospital policies.

•Your co-workers
All of the co-workers are very friendly, have knowledge of system
setup and all share information as a team when new resolutions to new issues arise.

•The hardest part of the job
Providing the fastest help to all in a timely manner. The Tech
staff is very under staffed so sometimes there is a long waiting
period before a Client can get the help that is needed.

•The most enjoyable part of the job
Working with the Directors, Managers, Doctors and the employed staff at Beth Israel. Everyone is so friendly and easy to work with.
It's nice to see a smile on their face after I've resolved their issue
with their workstation. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good workplace but hard to access.
Room Service Assistant (Current Employee), Boston, MAMay 28, 2014
A nice workplace, employees are not the friendliest though. Management is great.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great network in heart of Longwood Medical area
Administrative Assistant II (Current Employee), Boston, MAMay 16, 2014
Large hospital in the heart of Boston's medical hub, it's a great place to meet a lot of like-minded people and advance your career in the medical field. Some really great people, but most are purely focused on their own careers. A LOT of really driven individuals!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
First clinical internship
Intern for Clinical Research in Neurology Lab (Former Employee), Boston, MAMay 13, 2014
Pros: different work schedule, and it can be acess by the train
Cons: better communication, and management would be nice.
A great learning experience for those who are seeking the path of being a medical student. Working with doctors, nurses, and PI to provide a comfortable and professional work environment. Meets lots of new and friendly people and having the task of taking care of patient and doing sleep study.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good work place but task was mandane
Research Assistant (Former Employee), Boston, MAMay 11, 2014
simple, repetitive tasks.
benefit package was good
coworker are friendly
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dietetic Internship
Dietetic Intern (Current Employee), Boston, MAMay 3, 2014
The dietetic internship provides 1200 supervised practice hours in clinical nutrition, food service management, and community nutrition. The internship encompasses 22 weeks of inpatient clinical nutrition with a strong emphasis in enteral and parenteral nutrition support for critical care.

1 2 3 4 5

About Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center

Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center (BIDMC) is a patient care, teaching and research affiliate of Harvard Medical School, and – Read more