Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center Employee Reviews

Showing all 370 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a nice company to work for
Certified Nursing Assistant (Former Employee) –  Boston, MAMarch 21, 2017
I work there a short . Staff was pleasant but my unit was a little disorganized. I did enjoy working there but had to leave on a family leave of absence. I was told I could return anytime but when it came to return it was hard do to the fact staffing changed.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overworked
Lead Histotechnologist Nights (Current Employee) –  Boston, MAMarch 19, 2017
Going lean and mean has created a very hostile and overworked environment.
Very difficult to complete workload with outdated and tired equipment.
The immediate supervisor is doing all he can to hold the department together and still maintain a professional and dedicated workplace.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great teaching hosptial
Patient Care Assistant (Current Employee) –  Boston, MAMarch 15, 2017
I was thrilled with the opportunities provided to me at BIDMC. I felt welcomed by the staff, and that the overall management of the hospital was happy to care for its staff.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Beth Israel Deaconess
Surgical Technologist (Former Employee) –  Boston, MAMarch 10, 2017
I was hired specifically for orthopedic surgery such as total joint replacements (revisions) along with arthroscopies and ACL's.

I worked 7-3 (40hr week)

Staff and management was very accommodating as far as paid time off and vacations,

Hardest obstacle for BIDMC was the commute.

Enjoyable to be in orthopedics as i am very surgically inclined to that field.
Pros
Day shifts
Cons
Commute
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Research Assistant (Current Employee) –  Boston, MAMarch 5, 2017
My job at Beth Isreal Medical Center was rewarding and productive. There are abundant resources to enhance the work environment and an emphasis on maintaining suitable work life balance.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working at BIDMC
Senior Digital Strategist (Former Employee) –  Boston, MAFebruary 14, 2017
They typical day a BIDMC is what you would expect from a typical day. External and Internal advertisng, content updates, meetings with stakeholders, etc.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overworked and Under Paid
Administrative Assistant II (Former Employee) –  Boston, MAFebruary 8, 2017
No departmental policies and procedures in some departments.
Guidelines are relative even within the same department.
Discipline is given based on non-existent guidelines.
Documentation is everything.
Opportunity for advancement seems to be selective.
On the surface job descriptions and pay grades appear to be based on the internal equity method. However, an Administrative Assistant II could make the same pay as an Administrative Assistant III or Administrative Associate.
Salary is calculated based on experience, competition, and the experience level of others in the same position within that particular department. Not organization wide.
Don't bother asking the dollar value of a pay range they won't tell you.
Benefits are okay, not fantastic.
Must be comfortable dealing with antiquity.
Pros
Earned Time and Matching Retirement Benefit
Cons
Management non supportive
Was this review helpful?Yes5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Summary
SOCIAL WORK AID (Former Employee) –  Boston, MAFebruary 5, 2017
I have learned to have empathy for those in need. I work in a well diverse . The most enjoy able part is assisting the women and newborns who are in need.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Nurses to work with
Medical/Surgical Staff Nurse (Current Employee) –  Boston, MAFebruary 3, 2017
I work on a very busy medical floor and many times you turn to your fellow nurses for help and support which make it the job very enjoyable. The hardest part of the job is keeping up with the constant patient turnover and the hospital merging with other facilities leaving us busting at the seams.
Pros
great nurses to work along
Cons
constant merging of other facilities leaving us overworked
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very busy placed to work at and very good working team
Practice Assistant (Current Employee) –  Boston, MAJanuary 31, 2017
we had over 100 pts a day. For being there as my first medical job i learned a lot. Putting pts first a head of any one else is always my first thing to i do.
Pros
one hour lunch
Cons
no fifteen minutes breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place To Work
QI Project Manager (Current Employee) –  Boston, MAJanuary 26, 2017
BIDMC is a fantastic organization to work for. I worked at BIDMC for about 12 years in various roles. I've never had a negative experience with management and there is very much a culture of inclusion throughout the organization. I recently moved which is why I'm searching for a new job, else I'd probably never leave!

I highly recommend BIDMC to be at the top of your list for employers in the Greater Boston Area!
Pros
Excellent, inclusive culture
Cons
Pay is historically noncompetitive
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable environment
Director of Security and Safety (Current Employee) –  Needham, MAJanuary 25, 2017
The environment is cordial and welcoming. The staff are caring and considerate overall. Great teamwork in the support services departments.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nursing Student
Nursing Student (Current Employee) –  Boston, MAJanuary 22, 2017
I only started working here since the beginning of this year, so I cannot say much; however, I will be working as a nursing student to fulfill my Adult Health II clinical.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
work day
Unit Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Boston, MAJanuary 20, 2017
a typical work day
- assign pagers
- board assign
- schedule assign
-answer phone calls
The hardest part of my job is finding enough hours
The most enjoyable part is helping people
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent hospital with lots of learning opportunities
Social Work Intern (Former Employee) –  Boston, MAJanuary 19, 2017
This is a great teaching hospital. Social workers given opportunity to attend Grand Rounds and other educational activities. Supervision is excellent. The department of Social Work at BI is top notch.
Pros
educational opportunities
Cons
not many employment opportunities
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
If you're not a member of a protected class, they don't care if you're bullied
Medical Interpreter (Former Employee) –  Boston, MAJanuary 18, 2017
If you're not a member of a protected class, they don't care if you're bullied. HR, Compliance, Employee Relations will take the word of a director, even if she is lying, over any front line employee. Basically, they can do what they want, unless you can prove beyond a doubt that you were discriminated on the basis of a protected class ie. origin, orientation, disability, etc.
Cons
parking
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stimulating and Enjoying Job
Chiropractic Physician (Current Employee) –  Plymouth, MSJanuary 18, 2017
Unfortunately will be relocating to Manhattan secondary to marriage or I would of most likely enjoyed a long employment. The structure of the office is atypical for a Chiropractor, and really stimulates multidisciplinary practice.
Was this review helpful?YesNo2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
As an intern it was great
Pharmacy Intern (Former Employee) –  Needham, MAJanuary 15, 2017
As an intern it was great. I learned a lot from all the staff pharmacists there. A lot of patients were geriatric but the cases were interesting. Job security seemed to be nice.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Respectable and great place to work
Practice Representative (Former Employee) –  Brookline, MAJanuary 14, 2017
Beth isreal is a very nice and organized invironment to work in, it have alot of great people to learn from and have a great structure about it. It is known for being right next to the Red Sox stadium
Pros
1 hour lunch
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst place I ever worked.
Workers Compensation Specialist (Former Employee) –  Boston, MAJanuary 5, 2017
Worked there for 8 1/2 years and received extensive patient compliments that are documented. Absolutley no room to grow unless you are tied to its politics.
Pros
None
Cons
All
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 370 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.9
Compensation/Benefits
3.7
Job Security/Advancement
3.7
Management
3.6
Culture
3.9

Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center Reviews by Location