Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center Employee Reviews

Showing all 414 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Organized efficient hospital with friendly staff
Social Worker (Current Employee) –  Boston, MAJune 2, 2017
Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center has a highly experienced and professional interdisciplinary team. They are dedicated to providing extraordinary care, where the patient comes first. BIDMC is supported by world-class education and research.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great student internship
Summer Intern (Former Employee) –  Boston, MAMay 26, 2017
a fantastic work opportunity for highschoolers. A typical day at work could entail many things. Primarily, I restocked patient rooms and worked at the front desk and took calls. I learned a lot about how hospitals use the technology at their disposal.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Institution
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Boston, MAMay 25, 2017
I loved my employment with Beth Israel. Unfortunately, I had to leave for medical reasons. There is nothing I would change about BIDMC. Great benefits, pay and excellent team of employees
Pros
Benefits were exceptional
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Competitive & Exciting Hospital to Work For
Research Assistant I (Current Employee) –  Boston, MAMay 22, 2017
Longwood Medical Area is highly competitive in terms of research which can be stressful at times, but keeps most people motivated. Research community here is very large and pretty collaborative. However, the pay and benefits could absolutely be much better, but this is an academic research epidemic, not necessarily the hospital.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Job security and job growth
Administrative Assistant III (Current Employee) –  Boston, MAMay 19, 2017
Beth Israel is a wonderful place to work for as job growth is encouraged and many people will go out of their way to help you. The culture here is very positive and the high level administrators make you feel like your opinion matters.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Intern (part-time) (Former Employee) –  Boston, MAMay 17, 2017
Transfer calls, file vendor paperwork, data entry
I learned that equipment in the hospitals are very expensive. The employees there are great to work with.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to work
CLINICAL DATA ABSTRACTOR (Current Employee) –  Boston, MAMay 15, 2017
Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center values the clinical and professional workforce. There is availability for ongoing professional development within the organization.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive place to work
Environmental Services Associate (Current Employee) –  Boston, MAMay 13, 2017
productive and a good place to work ,a fun place to work, good workers we work like families we have some good places for rest and good restaurants ,place to rest after work
Pros
none
Cons
short break
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fantastic culture with amazing coworkers
Registered Nurse (Current Employee) –  Boston, MAMay 11, 2017
The emergency room can be chaotic place. Throughout all the chaos, we as nurse and doctors are able to work well under pressure. No matter what is happening on shift, we are able to work towards a common goal of saving people's lives. The hardest part of the job by far is when we've done all we can and the the patient expires. On the flip side, when we have an opportunity to bring someone back from literal death.
Pros
Amazing coworkers
Cons
disconnect between staff RNs and management, high patient load
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good people in HR
Human Resources (Current Employee) –  Boston, MAMay 5, 2017
A lot of young people work in HR so the dynamic is pretty awesome. Management gives plenty of autonomy so you're trusted to do the job you were hired to do. Everyone is very nice and welcoming.

Downside - Everyone typically stays within their cubes or office, so if you're looking for a loud, dynamic, and interactive environment you won't find it here.
Pros
Work autonomy, volunteering opportunities, diverse employees
Cons
Not enough engagement or collaboration with leadership, slow career growth, pay is on the lower end
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Research Associate (Former Employee) –  Boston, MAMay 2, 2017
I have 8 year experience of working in research in special laboratory.
The people are great. Professional management - perfect.
BIDMC administration reasonably friendly, obeying the rules.
Benefits are good enough.
Pros
Good place to work for professionals.
Cons
Every day commute is not easy.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fantastic Institution
Physician Assistant (Former Employee) –  Boston, MAApril 26, 2017
One of nation's top hospitals, Harvard Medical School teaching hospital.
BIDMC strives to put patient first, honors privacy.
All employees valued, employee BBQs, sense of community
Pros
Excellent staff, top-notch medical care
Cons
Commute, shortage of parking
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy medical center that cares about its employees.
Registered Nurse (Current Employee) –  Boston, MAApril 22, 2017
Great company to work for. Room to grown. Good benefits at affordable costs. Management seems to care about employees happiness at the company and always listening to employees on how to make improvements.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dedicated, hard-working, compassionate staff
Senior Quality Management Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Brookline, MAApril 22, 2017
o Performed internal and external audits to ensure data integrity.
o Maintained training documentation for all study personnel and managed training database.
o Collaborated with principal investigators to educate clinical research staff in institutional and protocol standard operating procedures and good clinical practice.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bidmc
Lab Control Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Brookline, MAApril 20, 2017
Beth Israel, is a very busy medical center where 3/ to 4,000 samples crossed the laboratory. The main hospital in Boston, is considered the prime-depot where mass samples are received from inlet and all-outreach facilities. The hospital runs smooth in keeping up with patient care and laboratory work.
Pros
non
Cons
non
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Team oriented environment
Administrative Assistant II (Former Employee) –  Boston, MAApril 19, 2017
Great place to be! Everyone in my department was super friendly and helpful. Trainings were offered to help with career moves. Salary increases were the very minimum and my position title didn't change until I left (after almost 9 years).
Pros
Flexibility
Cons
Salary was low
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced busy medical office
Course Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Boston, MAApril 10, 2017
I work for director of endoscopy typical day make sure his calendar is up to date, check emails and phone messages. Make sure clinicals are prepared and ready for endoscopic procedures. My doctor is an educational doctor so we have a fellowship program and we run educational course that I coordinate.
Pros
The staff
Cons
demanding office
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
excellent palce to work
Registered Nurse in CVICU (Former Employee) –  Boston, MAApril 8, 2017
excellent work culture, good life /job balance, good job security, excellent management. Good compensation and benefits. Excellent overall job rating.
Pros
job culture
Cons
parking
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice
Maintenance Mechanic (Former Employee) –  Boston, MAApril 7, 2017
good place to retire
good benefits
excellent management
great learning experience on a wide range of systems
poor parking situation for day and evening shifts
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good benefits
Bone Density Technologist (Current Employee) –  Boston, MAApril 6, 2017
I like my job. The benefits are what keeps me there. great health insurance plus dental and 401k. Paid time off, once you have enough earned time. Management is not great. But it is a minor downfall to the benefits which you receive.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 414 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.9
Compensation/Benefits
3.8
Job Security/Advancement
3.7
Management
3.6
Culture
3.9

CEO Approval

87%
90 ratings
Add your rating

Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center Reviews by Location