Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center Employee Reviews

Showing all 382 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
first job as a phlebotomist
Phlebotomist (Former Employee) –  MassachusettsApril 18, 2016
I draw blood for scheduled patients. I learned to be more detailed-oriented and different tests. The management wants me to do my best. I get along great with my co-workers. Currently my job is not hard. I like working talking to patients and the freedom to work independently.
Pros
close to my home
Cons
short lunch
Was this review helpful?Yes6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great teaching hospital with lots of opportunity for growth.
Administrative Assistant III (Former Employee) –  Boston, MAApril 12, 2016
My job required me to run a high volume patient care clinic, calendar management between chairmen. Learned alot about surgical procedures from medical to elective procedures. Management could have been critiqued. I worked independently but when my positioned required that I worked with others I found that everyone was useful and helpful.
The hardest part of the job was working almost 12hrs unplanned shifts; learning to not take things personal ex: (pt's that come in sick to the pt's that were abusive to the fustrations from the executives.). What I enjoyed most of my experience at the medical center was the rapor I gained with the pt's, the acknowledgement I received for my services and just the feeling I got from knowing my work was affective enough to make an impact on some lives.
Pros
Free lunch on Fridays and gifts of acknowledgement
Cons
Barely took an outdoor lunch
Was this review helpful?Yes5No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
"I don't want to achieve immortality through my work. I want to achieve it through not dying"
Research Fellow (Former Employee) –  Boston, MAApril 12, 2016
"I don't want to achieve immortality through my work; I want to achieve immortality through not dying. I don't want to live on in the hearts of my countrymen; I want to live on in my apartment.”
Was this review helpful?Yes1No5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to learn
Patient Observer (Current Employee) –  Boston, MAApril 11, 2016
Busy, large, city hospital. Has many departments that provide excellent care to patients and to their families. Very enjoyable job.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good work enviorment
Medical Assistant (Former Employee) –  Brookline, MAApril 11, 2016
great co-workers
good learning experience
flexible
understanding managers
good compensations
great benefits
place for growth
up to date technologies
Was this review helpful?Yes5No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great location with laid back atmosphere
Authorization Specialist (Former Employee) –  Milton, MAApril 8, 2016
This is simply a great place to work with very professional yet nurturing management. Everyone from the CEO down to Waste Management team are very friendly and helpful.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Student Intern
Student Intern (Former Employee) –  Boston, MAApril 5, 2016
A great place to learn hands on experience in the medical field in all areas of medicine. As a student that is all the info I can give
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent starting position
Psychiatric Patient Care Technician (Former Employee) –  Boston, MAMarch 30, 2016
Enjoyed the exposure to behavior health. Hours were not the best but manageable due to commute. Cohorts were not helpful when needed.
Pros
Exposure to medical care and behavioral health
Cons
Hours, work distribution, commute
Was this review helpful?Yes5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work environment.
Lab Assistant (Current Employee) –  Boston, MAMarch 29, 2016
Great work environment, everyone is considerate and working together towards a common goal. Co-workers are nothing but pleasant people.
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great and friendly space
Customer Service Rep (Current Employee) –  Boston, MAMarch 24, 2016
Love the staff and the management everyone is friendly and very helpful nothing bad to say about the people or the place would love to make a career out of working for bidmc
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and a fun place to work
Medical Billing Representative (Current Employee) –  Needham, MAMarch 23, 2016
Working at Beth Israel is a very loving place the management here is very understanding and great people.. The worker here are great I've here for 15yrs and I love it ..
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
admin.
Administrative Assistant (Current Employee) –  Boston, MAMarch 22, 2016
enjoyable place to meet friends and formulate good friendship
high quality patient care
can be difficult dealing with multiple issues at the same time
management needs to be more flexible
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to work!
Social Work Intern (Former Employee) –  Boston, MAMarch 17, 2016
Great Staff, collaborative environment, patient centered care. Staff are eager share their knowledge. As an intern I consulted with inpatients, evaluated kidney transplant candidates in an outpatient setting and co facilitated a weekly support group.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Level II OT Fieldwork
Level II Occupational Therapy Student (Former Employee) –  Boston, MAMarch 15, 2016
Excellent placement for a level II fieldwork student. The staff was welcoming and willing to help guide students to provide the best clinical experience possible.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great facility
Senior Research Technician/Assistant Lab Manager (Former Employee) –  Boston, MAMarch 4, 2016
BIDMC is Harvard Medical associated and a very competitive atmosphere. However, the group I worked in was highly collaborative, friendly and supportive. I left only because the institute where I was working was disbanded.
Pros
In the heart of Longwood medical center
Cons
In the heart of Longwood medical center
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Diet Technician (Current Employee) –  Boston, MAMarch 1, 2016
Nice place to work, everyone is always willing to help if you have any questions. Great schedule and good benefits. Longwood area is great for commuting but not driving around, parking is pretty expensive.
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An excellent Community Hospital
Director, Safety/Security, Transport & Valet (Current Employee) –  Milton, MAFebruary 28, 2016
BID-Milton was the fastest growing hospital in the Commonwealth in 2015. Our Leapfrog, HCAPS and PG scores are well earned. It is a great atmosphere for employees, patients and visitors.
Pros
Free Valet Parking & the friendliest atmosphere in New England!
Cons
None.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very serious goal oriented environment
Research Assistant (Current Employee) –  Boston, MAFebruary 11, 2016
Fun place to work, however, they get the job done without complaints. The management is good depending on the department. A great place to make connections and friends.
Was this review helpful?Yes4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Registered Nurse (Current Employee) –  Boston, MAFebruary 6, 2016
Level 1 Trauma Center
Career oriented
Opportunity to move up and change job within the company
Updated technology
Great work place
Good organizational culture
Fast paced
Salary is fair
Location is center to several Boston hospital's
Parking is expensive
High traffic
Was this review helpful?Yes12NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very much a family work environment
Medical Education Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Boston, MAFebruary 3, 2016
Felt firmly rooted to coworkers as well as upper management during my time. Exceptionally inclusive environmentry - never felt nervous reaching out to other departments.
They also do a lot to promote company bonding, having things like hospital wide lunch outside etc.
Decent health benefits - especially if plan picked within the hospital - far exceeded my personal plan through the state prior.
Pros
Decent benefits, easy to accrue time off (28days paid vaca per year)
Cons
Not an easy direct commute to longwood
Was this review helpful?Yes5No2Report

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 382 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.9
Compensation/Benefits
3.7
Job Security/Advancement
3.7
Management
3.6
Culture
3.9

Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center Reviews by Location