Find companies:
Bethpage Federal Credit Union
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
23 reviews

Bethpage Federal Credit Union Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Senior Closing Coordinator (Former Employee), Bethpage, NYJuly 16, 2014
I would always be busy at my job. I got along with everyone. I would learn other things from different departments.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional Company
Mortgage Loan Consultant (Former Employee), Bethpage New YorkJuly 13, 2014
Pros: management
Bethpage Federal Credit Union was an exciting place to work where I learned all aspects of the banking industry
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Tax work
Volunteer Tax Preparer (Former Employee), Bay Shore, NYMay 17, 2014
I was a volunteer tax preparer for VITA. From what I saw the Credit Union is ran very well.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place
Commercial Underwriter (Former Employee), Bethpage, NYApril 22, 2014
Fun to work with.
Great group of people.
Generous.
xxxxxxxxxxx
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Disciplined and efficient work environment
Accountant (Former Employee), Bethpage, NYApril 8, 2014
Bethpage Federal Credit Union had a disciplined and efficient work environment and its employees strive to make it a better service experience for the memebers of the credit union.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great environment
FINANCIAL CONSULTANT (Current Employee), Bethpage, NYApril 2, 2014
not challenging but calm

see a lot of members each day.

good place for bankers
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Liked it in the beginning...
Teller (Former Employee), Bethpage, NYFebruary 20, 2014
I really liked the company when I first started working there. But it got to the point where my coworkers and I were always being told what we were doing wrong, never that we did a good job. They expected a lot from us, but we were never given the time to do it. The manager and regional manager in my branch seemed to not care much about us at all.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great if you know the right people
Head Teller (Former Employee), Bethpage, NYFebruary 13, 2014
Unless you become close with management, job advancement is difficult. Management, especially the regional managers, will make sure the person they want will get an open position.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hardworking place, always busy , I like staying busy when i work
Loss Mitigation Processor (Former Employee), Bethpage, NYFebruary 11, 2014
Pros: working independetly, meeting all deadlines
Cons: people were not so nice there
Checking emails to get my day started & then take it from there, working on things that are a priority first. Worked very well with co-workers, clients & other organizations.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work environment
Teller (Former Employee), Smithtown, NYNovember 13, 2013
Pros: customer service
Cons: weekend hours
I would come in count my draw make sure everything is matching take out more money if needed. Learned to deal with customer both spanish and english. I became the teller for all spanish speaking clients. my co-workers was always supportive always willing to help. my hardest part of my job was to be the advancing procedures. the most enjoyable aspect – more... of my job was always to help and attend to each and every customer especially the spanish speaking clients which couldn't even write at times but still i managed to guide them in the right direction – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A very interesting and enjoyable new employment experience.
Temporary Administrative Assistant (Former Employee), Bethpage, NYNovember 11, 2013
Pros: excellent office environment, free lunches.
Cons: no health benefits.
I had never had any financial industry experience prior to taking on this temporary job assignment. At the end, I found it to be a very interesting new employment experience and would love to capitalize on the time spent at BFCU.

A typical day was spent assisting in the processing of documents necessary to determine the qualification of individual – more... member loan applications.

I learned a great deal in this assignment particularly in the formation of mortgage and home equity loans, what documents are necessary, and the various software programs used.

The hardest part of the job was the initial learning curve needed to understand the overall process.

The most enjoyable part of the job was in working with my co-workers and the phone interaction with our members (customers). – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hiring requirement
Qualified applicant (Former Employee), Long IslandOctober 25, 2013
Bethpage will not consider an applicant with a bankruptcy in their credit history as per their recruiting firm.

Section 525 of the Bankruptcy Code prohibits private employers from discriminating in hiring based on a bankruptcy.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good credit union with enjoyable co-workers
SR. UNDERWRITER (Current Employee), Bethpage, NYSeptember 8, 2013
Pros: .
Cons: good credit union with enjoyable co-workers.
Good credit union with enjoyable co-workers.
Overall a nice place to work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great company
Sr. Mortgage Underwriter (Current Employee), Bethpage, NYJuly 28, 2013
Pros: knowledgable underwriters
Cons: understaffed
underwriting portfolio, conventional and jumbo mortgages. Some investor as well. main office in Bethpage nice to work in.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Personal Banker (Current Employee), Huntington, NYJuly 19, 2013
It is a stimulating place to work, especially if you enjoy customer service. Management is knowledgeable and friendly.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great experience.
VOLUNTEER INCOME TAX ASSISTANCE PROGRAM (VITA) (Former Employee), Hempstead, NYMay 17, 2013
This was a volunteer position. I had the opportunity to help low income families with their income tax preparations.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Customer Driven based company.
Teller, Head Teller (Former Employee), Bethpage, NYMarch 24, 2013
Pros: excellent work hours and benefits.
Cons: not always being able to meet everyone's needs to their liking.
A typical day of work consisted of preparing myself and my tellers for the upcoming day of financial transactions and monitoring the cash flow of the branch. I learned how to make better financial decisions. Management was helpful in answering questions I was unable to find answers for myself. My coworkers made for a enjoyable and fun filled day yet – more... were very productive in day to day tasks. The hardest part of the job was assuring every customers needs were met to their standards. The most enjoyable part of the job was satisfying the needs of all of my customers. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work, can be boring at times
Teller (Former Employee), Glen CoveJanuary 27, 2013
Pros: participation in 5k runs, lots of company functions, very active on long island
Cons: mismanagement of personnel at times.
Excellent place to work to learn more about the financial industry. Everyone is friendly, no complaints.

Can be short staffed at times.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was good place to work. Management allows you to work without hovering
Condition Specialist (Former Employee), Bethpage, NYJanuary 9, 2013
It was good place to work. Management allows you to work without hovering
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A growing company with good core values
Personal Banker (Current Employee), Bethpage, NYNovember 27, 2012
Pros: business casual dress, excellent 401k match
Cons: rotating schedule, mediocre wages
I started part-time and am now full time. I am over qualified for my position and after two years have not received a promotion. If they like you, you can move rather quickly. I think there is more internal competition than ever before, but they will be opening many new branches in the coming years. The satellite branches provide a more relaxed atmosphere – more... then the branch at the regional facility. I really enjoy helping less financially savvy people help there financial position. The hardest part of the job is time management. – less