Find companies:
BHP Billiton
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
108 reviews

BHP Billiton Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worldwide company with terrific benefits
Environmental Specialist (Current Employee), Farmington, NMNovember 16, 2014
Pros: pay and benefits, opportunities for international postings
Worldwide company with terrific benefits and opportunities for international postings for highly qualified personnel. Focus on safety always top priority, and is built into the company culture from top to bottom. Somewhat cumbersome 'one-size-fits-all' corporate structural organization. (Will probably be more appropriate once 'NewCo' is de-merged.)
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Benefits are great so you put up with HR and the management.
Engineer (Current Employee), Houston, TXOctober 21, 2014
Pros: $2 lunches, benefits
Cons: hr
The hardest part is dealing with a disorganized HR.
Perhaps management would be easier to deal with if HR gave any kind of guidance or clear direction.
The people outside of HR are great to work with and equally frustrated.
The benefits are great so you just endure and try to deal with HR as little as possible.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical and routine role processing invoices
SES Analysts (Former Employee), Houston, TXOctober 12, 2014
Pros: great diversitiy and career opportunity locations
Cons: sap not supported and aligned within structural hierachy
Processed daily invoices for payments
I learned about various Wells, Pads, and service maintenance in fields
Management participated on processes
Coworkers shared systems, field and internal information and strategies.
The hardest part of the job was 1-SAP downtime (system crashed daily)
I enjoyed looking up the coding and defining the general ledger, – more... WBS, and Oracle Tool coding translations – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Company Closed
Field Landman (Current Employee), Houston, TXAugust 5, 2014
Company went out of business after I left and i am not sure as to what happened to the company
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful compensation
Financial Systems Analyst (Former Employee), Houston, TXJuly 5, 2014
Pros: 9/80 work schedule
Cons: lack of job security
Team work with a great group of people and an option working the 9/80 work schedule.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I loved working here
Communications Engineer (Former Employee), Houston TX.June 25, 2014
Pros: opportunity to work internationally. great culture!
Cons: position was outsourced.
While I was based in Houston, I did a fair amount of travel. UK, Australia, Chile and Peru. Every office I visited was professional and staffed with great people. I worked in the mining and petroleum groups. Both had talented and professional employees at all levels.
My only complaint was that they outsourced my position after I was there 3 years. I – more... miss working there. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work as intern
Environmental Intern (Former Employee), Farmington, NMMay 29, 2014
Great pay and good people to work with. Getting the assigned job done is secondary to learning the process for which to complete the job and to do it correctly.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging culture
Technical Role (Current Employee), Houston, TexasMay 21, 2014
Pros: salary, benefits, vacation and $2 lunches
Cons: hours, management, lack of standardization
BHP Billiton is a large company without structure and in constant state of flux, therefore creating an unecessary environment of disorder.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Have acquired a lot of experience from working here
Supply Specialist (Current Employee), San Juan Underground MineMay 20, 2014
I deal with a lot of fire calls through out the day, spend my day looking for part, negotiating pricing and resolving system issues.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
so-so
Lease Analyst (Current Employee), Houston, TXApril 21, 2014
Decent company, no growth. $2 lunches, and ok work/life balance.

Onshore and Offshore are very different experiences.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive & fun place to work with covered parking
Accounts Payable Administrator (Current Employee), Houston, TXApril 7, 2014
Pros: variety of food, etc.
Cons: n/a
Great atmosphere! Managers are easy to work with. The company has a diverse group of people.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Frac consultant
Independent Consultant (Current Employee), San Antonio, TexasFebruary 26, 2014
Work a rotating shift, 14 on 7 off change from days to nights every time. Frac & wire line each day. superintendents were good to work for. Like anywhere some coworkers were good to work with & some were not. There was no hard part to my job, I have been doing this for so many years. I enjoy working in the oilfield so everyday was a joy to get up and – more... go to work – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, result oriented workplac that is seeking for the best
IM Operations Supervisor (Current Employee), Houston, TXFebruary 16, 2014
In my job I oversee global operations for the Petroleum business. A typical day at work is one with about 6 hours of meetings, which could be with my own staff, service providers, stakeholders or other people in the Information Management (IM) organization.
The great this about working at BHP Billiton Petroleum is that you work with well educated and – more... experienced people. This enables us in a fast growing industry and with many changes to be effective in challenging times due to work load, the global nature or other complexities. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Did not like the Galleria Location or new combined company
Subsurface Engineering Technical Analyst (Former Employee), Houston, TXFebruary 10, 2014
By narrowing down job responsibilities, I felt like I was losing my core skills.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
humor productive person
mr (Current Employee), MIFebruary 10, 2014
Pros: lunch time
Cons: long hours
lears to work smater and not harder,because there is ways to work bete and smater,to make job easier.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Complex rapidly changing work place.
Accounting Specialist (Current Employee), Farmington, NMFebruary 5, 2014
BHP Billiton is a “Big 5” Corporation with current Mining interests in Northern New Mexico. Unfortunately, due largely to environmental concerns arising from aging area Power Plants and the exorbitant cost associated with Plant refurbishment required to meet EPA standards, both of BHP Billiton’s current Utility Customers have been forced to acknowledge – more... the necessity of reducing overall energy production by more than half over the next two years. BHP Billiton has responded with their intent to sell both area Mines. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its a great place to work. They are very safety oriented.
Field Operations Technician (Current Employee), Nordhiem, TexasJanuary 18, 2014
Pros: the benefits are awesome.
Cons: too much time away from home.
I have enjoyed my time with BHP Billiton but I am away from my family too much and that is important to me. I have no issues with the company. They are a great company to work for.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to learn new skills
Engineering Technician (Current Employee), Houston, TexasDecember 5, 2013
Pros: $2.00 lunches, flexible time, great benefits
My daily work day is demanding - reports, research, etc. I have learned how to juggle various projects. I find that team building is a major part of my group in order to completely get the job done. There is no hard part of my day. I enjoy my job and I like the task that are assigned to me.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Heavy workload
Administrative Associate (Former Employee), Houston, TXAugust 6, 2013
Pros: cafe within building
Cons: cubicle environment
Limited advancement opportunities.
Excellent benefits.
Application upgrades tested and confirmed before rolled out.
Excellent IT support.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Good place to work
Computer/Network Technician (Former Employee), Searcy, ARAugust 5, 2013
On a work day I would check and upkeep on all network syestems and also work with Drill site workers to keep up all on site syestems running

1 2 3 4 5

About BHP Billiton

BHP Billiton Limited is a diversified natural resources company. The Company has businesses producing alumina and aluminum, copper, – Read more